We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming old house in a beautiful country setting with a wonderful host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glen Valley Farmhouse B&B
Ranked #5 of 6 Leenane B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This house is full of character, history and country charm and sits in a beautiful rural setting. We loved it. It's off the beaten path, and it was worth the extra drive for us, and not that inconvenient. Josephine is a wonderful host - very welcoming, informative and helpful. She has lots of walks in the area to suggest and has a lot of detailed maps of the area and hike books for you to look at. Lively, spirited and delightful person, we thoroughly enjoyed her company and interesting conversations with her. To us it was true Ireland staying at her place. We were there in a blustery weather and every evening when we returned there was a warm fire going in the woodstove waiting for us - such a nice and welcoming touch, a true Irish hospitality. We had a fabulous time staying there and enjoyed visiting Killary Fjord, Leenaun, and Cong. Roundstone isn't that far away, and nor are Ballynahinch and Clifden. Thank you, Josephine, for the fabulous Connemara experience! We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Naoko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

If you like to get off the beaten path, this is the place for you. After a short drive through the woods, you come upon this lovely little home at the end of the road. Our hosts were very friendly. Had a nice chat with Joe in the evening in the living room. Beds were very comfortable. Woke up to a rooster's crow, which was delightful, and enjoyed a delicious breakfast. Great place for a get-away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I have been to Glen Valley twice ( 2008 and 2010) and will return again when I can. The innkeeper, Josephine, is as pleasant and sociable as you could want. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the Irish Breakfast is sensational. You are made to feel at home and you cannot help but relax in the serene setting of the farmhouse. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omal2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We spent one night at Glen Valley during our road trip of Ireland. Very warm hospitable family feel to the house and the two Joe's made us feel very welcome. Still laughing about Joe's story's. We turned up late in the afternoon and Jo left us a note on the door and the keys asking us to make ourselves at home (very nice touch) This B & B was the most remote of all the one's we stayed at, this too just added to the charm though. I would suggest using your GPS to locate, or call before you hit Leenane, as the property is a good 3 or 4 miles before you hit the town and quite easy to miss the road sign if driving Northbound.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robcastle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We spend two nights in Glen Valley Farmhouse. The location is wonderful, with a lot of possibilities for walks around . The house itself was probably once a nice place, but today it is not well kept. It is overpriced compared to other places we stayed. Definitively avoid it if you are allergic to dust!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The location of the house is its best attribute as it is so secluded. Aside from that, the house has great character and is decorated to a really high standard. It has a really cosy feel to it. Very comfortable bed. Very relaxing spot.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellieob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

My husband and I spent several nights at Glen Valley during our honeymoon in Ireland. Joe and Josephine were beyond hospitable and treated us like we were part of the family. The B&B is nestled in a beautiful, quaint and scenic part of Ireland (near the Connemara Mountains). We are looking forward to returning during our next venture to Ireland!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KT5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leenane hotels
27.3 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
888 reviews
24.6 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
607 reviews
27.3 mi away
Wild Atlantic Hostel
Wild Atlantic Hostel
#3 of 3 in Leenane
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Sleepzone @ The Connemara Hostel
26.4 mi away
No photo provided
Killary Lodge
#4 of 4 in Leenane
1 reviews
24.4 mi away
Portfinn Lodge
Portfinn Lodge
#2 of 6 in Leenane
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Valley Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Valley Farmhouse B&B

Address: Clifden Road, Leenane, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Leenane
Price Range: £64 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Valley Farmhouse B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Glen Valley Farmhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing