We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, damp and disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sleepzone @ The Connemara Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2012

12 of us unfortunately stayed here on a cycling trip the length of ireland. The place was damp and smelly, washing was hanging in the "sauna" and generally the place was dirty. We decided not to chance the breakfast and instead decided to cycle the 40km to westport. Do not go there!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

Best pricing, Best views, Fantastic location. Nice atmosphere. Great hot showers. Hidden away. Beds were awesome

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Really nice, even though it rained throughout our stay. The view is fantastic particularly from the cosy bar and large dining room. Very nice staff, extremely helpful and considerate, all French though with v. poor English so don't expect a lot of local knowledge and no deep conversations if you're not Francophone.

Room Tip: The plumbing is noisy (as thorughout Ireland) so get a private room if you want a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spaette73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Nice place to stay, don't forget your food. However the place was a bit cold on the night we stayed. But the hotel is a very remote location, no mobile connection, poor wifi connection too. Another problem the continuous beep of the alarm...
No walking paths nearby.
Despite these remarks this is a place to go to remember how life was before all our modern communication device.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pimp_39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Hard to say which is the biggest selling point here: 1.The most spectacular location of any lodging we stayed in--Killary Fjord and surrounding mountains are right out the window. Or 2. the hands-down greatest bargain of our trip--60 euros a night for 5 of us (!) in a comfortable, clean and cheery room and charming building. The hostel felt more family-oriented, and our family room--mango-color walls with comfortable cobalt-blue bunks--more spacious and bright than some other hostels, while downstairs were nicely furnished common areas and a many-windowed dining room with lovely views. The overall feel was spiffy, lively, modern but gracious and easy-going, too--in fact that‘s not a bad description of Farida, the wonderful hostess. There was a large, pleasant student group there, who did tend to dominate one of the sitting rooms, but there were always plenty of other comfortable places to go. Kitchen and storage spaces and equipment were more than adequate for everyone to cook, and Farida kindly provided towels (supposed to be rented) for free. The hostel feels peaceful and remote (in a good way) yet it’s an easy, pretty hike into the village of Leenane, and just a short drive to Kylemore Abbey, and Connemara National Park with a nice hike up Diamond Hill. If there had been a room available, we would have been happy to stay for another night, and another….

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank no_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Crossing the Connemara on foot, this busy place was a shock!
Fully booked, so we had to use their camping place. Expensive, very wet, with nice view on their sewage water installation and flood light all night long. The showers and toilets for campers were very dirty and did not have warm water. Th only positive point: there is no midges there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gummibaerli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed at this hostel in August and although the location is quite remote it was EXTREMELY busy with a lot of groups. However, the hostel was exceptionally well-run and there was no problem with noise at all, it was simply difficult at times to get into the kitchen as there was a lot of simultaneous activity going on in terms of cooking and washing up etc. Freda who is in charge of the place is an incredible person, friendly, helpful, efficient, simply amazing and she is constantly busy cleaning up so the place is astonishingly clean and tidy considering the numbers of people passing through. We had a very comfortable stay here - recommend it 100%

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yoavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leenane hotels
0.5 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
606 reviews
3.1 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
885 reviews
3.1 mi away
No photo provided
Killary Lodge
#4 of 4 in Leenane
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Wild Atlantic Hostel
Wild Atlantic Hostel
#3 of 3 in Leenane
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portfinn Lodge
Portfinn Lodge
#2 of 6 in Leenane
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Convent
The Convent
#1 of 6 in Leenane
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepzone @ The Connemara Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepzone @ The Connemara Hostel

Address: Leenane, Ireland (Formerly Sleepzone )
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Leenane
Price Range: £14 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Connemara Hostel which opened in March 2005 is spectacularly situated in the heart of Connemara overlooking the Killary - Ireland's only fjord. It is part of Galway's award-winning Sleepzone hostel group, which has just won an award for 10th best group hostel in the world. It has 95 beds in 21 en-suite rooms - both private and dormitory. The Connemara Hostel has some fantastic facilities; residents' bar with wine license, free internet and wifi access, Big screen TV and DVDs, large self-catering kitchen and dining room, barbeque terrace, outdoor camping facility, tennis court, bicycle hire and access to range of organised outdoor adventure pursuits on its doorstep. The Connemara Hostel is the perfect Connemara base for outdoors enthusiasts, backpackers, families looking for a value for money base from which to explore Connemara, or anyone just looking to relax in this breathtaking landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sleepzone @ The Connemara Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing