We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class”
Review of Ballyvolane House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballyvolane House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fermoy
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top Class”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

A great venue for a wedding and the perfect spot for a country break. We were fortunate enough to have our wedding reception at Balyvolane House and the extraordinarily high quality of the food, even when serving a large group, is matched by the friendliness and professionalism of the owners Justin and Jenny and their staff. The house has a creaky charm that is hard to describe and really needs to be seen and the gardens are beautiful yet mysterious. It isn't hard to see why the house has been featured in print and on tv quite a lot recently and I recommend that you visit if you can.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the room, you'll be we'll looked after.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gougherdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear gourherdg,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am delighted you enjoyed the wedding, the house, the gardens, the food and the friendly service and I will share your kind comments with all the team here at BH. We do work hard to preserve the integrity of the house and grounds and especially it's sense of mystery which is so appealing.

Thanks again for reviewing and please come and see us again soon.

Best wishes,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    14
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
51
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I recently attended a wedding here and have to say I was very impressed. I thought the whole reception was pure class from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. We were lucky in that we had fine weather which allowed us to loiter in the gardens while enjoying the drinks reception and also the cutting of the cake. There were activities on site (i.e. football nets and croquette) to keep the children and older children occupied too.

The food was tasty and the staff were mostly friendly. The dance hall was small and I suppose intimate.

My only criticism is that the venue is located close to three bigger towns (Fermoy, Lismore and Midleton) and as a result a lot of the guests were scattered around the place and there was the hassle of trying to get home at the end of the night although we did have a bus.

While I didnt take up the option of glamping I did check out the tents and felt that they were quite small especially for a couple attending a wedding who would be carrying formal attire.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kavo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justybusty, Manager at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Kavo85,

Thank you very much for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed the wedding here at Ballyvolane House. Thank you very much for your comments concerning the accommodation nearby. We always strongly emphasize to our wedding couples that they should have everyone staying in one hotel or one town nearby as it is much easier ferrying everyone home to one location as opposed to dropping people off to several towns and villages in the area. We also insist that two minibuses are available from 11.30pm onwards which would be running back-to-back throughout the night dropping guests back to their accommodation. This means the wedding guests don't have to wait for long for the next bus home. The transport home is usually a very slick operation and guests would usually have to wait no more than 30 minutes for the next bus home. The reason we insist on buses is because it is almost impossible to get taxis here late at night. We can accommodate almost 40 people on-site between the house, the cottage and in the glamping tents.

The glamping tents are comfortable and spacious (4 metres and 5 metres in diameter) and you can actually stand upright in them. Each tent is equipped with a hanging rail with hooks from the centre pole from which guests can hang their dresses or formal attire. There is also a heated wash house with showers and loos adjacent to the camping area which are equipped with full-length mirrors. good lighting and hair-dryers so guests can get ready before the wedding starts.

Thanks again for your comments and I hope you will come and try out our glamping tents or stay in the house sometime soon.

Best wishes,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA, USA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

While the bedroom pictures looked great (we later were given a tour and indeed they are-- surprisingly "plush"), we were curious about Ballyvolane's "glamping" (Glamorous Camping) option. Our family of four (parents and late teens kids) decided to give it a go and rent a tent for 2 nights midweek in June and draw on the house's assets, whatever they proved to be.

The verdict? The House: 5 stars. Dinner? Do it! Glamping? In its way, and if you are prepared to accept what it is, it works.

The House: It is old and genteel and creaky in the best of senses, authentic with books, art, large doors, high ceilings, fireplaces in use (even on summer evenings), spaciousness, a sense you're not at "lodging" but visiting an aristocratic relative. One afternoon, we helped ourselves to croquet equipment and had a match on the large croquet lawn, the friendly house dogs nearby, chasing sticks. We ordered afternoon tea, which staff was only too happy to promptly deliver wherever we chose (warning: tea is an extra charge).

The Dinner: If you stay here, have dinner at BVH at least once. You don't order from a menu, rather you take the daily offering (remember, your aristocratic relative is serving you) though they talk to you to make sure it will suit. The food is very fine if, shall we say, "conservatively" prepared (a good thing, if you think about it). The true dining treat is the setting and service. The traditional dining room, candles, seamless waitstaff moving efficiently from course to course, not hampering the conversation with other guests at your table, It is all very different and fun, with all the courses, including a cheese/ port course. How often does one do that?

Glamping? The good: Fine sheets, pillows, a good mattress on a frame off the tent floor, hot water bottles, creature comforts, candles.

The "bad": Do expect drips on the tent through the night. A little damp. Early summer sunrise with birds. You might sleep better on Night 2 than Night 1. But, hey. This is Ireland. It rains and is moist. One has to expect these things, right? Also, the facilities are a 50 meter walk or so, but in their defense they are new and warm and have hair dryers and are clean and otherwise terrific.

So I'll take BVH glamping for what it is. I doubt there are many who do it better. Also, Glampers are NOT treated like second class citizens, as they have full reign of, say, the house parlor and grounds and walled garden, etc. And while I wouldn't classify BVH as "value" lodging (I am almost bumped it to a 4 DOT rating for this reason), in its way, BVH is as different and memorable as anything we did on our 10 days in Ireland. As was once said, you'll remember the quality long after you've forgotten about the cost.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregorGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear GregorGourmand,

Thank you very much for glamping and dining with us. I would also like to thank you for the review and I am delighted you had a good time. We are very interested in receiving feedback about our glamping as it is a new venture for us and we are constantly striving to improve our offering. I will share your feedback with all the team here. We recently added more hair dryers to the glamping wash house in response to guests comments.

Thanks again and I hope you will visit us again soon.

Best wishes,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2013

i recently did a wedding in Ballyvolane and i was so impressed.The location for photos was perfect ,both inside and outside.The food,service and all the staff were so friendly and welcoming-they couldnt do enough.I loved how relaxed the whole place is and once again it would be difficult to find better anywhere in Ireland.Well done,God bless from Daithi Mac an Bhiocaire

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaithiBhiocaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you very much for the fantastic review. So glad you enjoyed the house, the grounds, the food and service. We have a great team working here and I am always really pleased when it shows.

Thanks again and please come see again soon.

Best wishes,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinsale
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We have stayed at Ballyvolane House on several occasions and would highly recommend it. Even though it is not a Spa retreat, you will come away feeling detoxed and relaxed, ready to face the world again.

We were shown the fabulous wedding venue on our last visit - if we were to have our wedding all over again, it would be here. The vision and taste if the owners is impeccable - just stunning.

If you could bottle quintessential hospitality, it would be labelled Ballyvolane House.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and for staying with us so often. We always enjoy having you all to stay. The weddings are going really well and the house always purrs when it is full of people having fun.

Thanks again and looking forward to catching up again soon.

Best wishes,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Impressive Georgian House with gardens and grounds big enough for a nice walk - a dog will keep you company. The house has ten guest rooms but retains a family feel and Justin and Jenny are charming hosts. Dinner with other guests in the dining room was delicious with excellent service. Our bedroom was fairly spacious and comfortable with a lovely view over the gardens from both the bedroom and the huge bathroom complete with clawfoot bath. The house is abundantly supplied with games, books and places to relax and the owners are generous with their time and suggestions for sightseeing and walks. Compared with some other Hidden Ireland properties the furnishing is not elegant but rather a mix of antiques and eclectic jumble. The potentially lovely drawing room is over-crowded with unattractive seating and uninspired ornaments - time for an edit perhaps? However, this is to quibble. Overal it's a lovely place and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I will share your kind comments with all the team here at BH. Thank you for your comments about the decoration in the drawing room and I'm afraid we are not planning on changing it anytime soon as we love the mix of antiques and eclectic jumble.

Thanks again and I hope you will come and stay with us the next time you are visiting Ireland.

Best wishes,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arklow, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The house is beautiful, service is very professional, food is delicious. Perfect place for any type of holidays. Wine list is impressive. Our 10 years old daughter had good time playing in the gardens and helping Justin to feed pigs and collect eggs. We would definitely return and will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murzikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for reviewing us. I am so pleased you had a good time here and we enjoyed having you all here. The animals are all thriving and please thank your daughter for her help at feeding time!

Thanks again and please come and see us again soon.

Best wishes,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fermoy
6.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel Fermoy
17.2 mi away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
13.5 mi away
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
704 reviews
11.6 mi away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,144 reviews
11.3 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyvolane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyvolane House

Property: Ballyvolane House
Address: Castlelyons | Co. Cork, Fermoy, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Fermoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fermoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballyvolane House is an authentic historic Georgian House built in 1728. Six luxurious bedrooms with huge comfy beds, crisp linen, fluffy towels and big baths you can stretch out in. Delicious home-cooked country house cuisine served in the grand dining room. Glamping during the summer months. Breakfast served till noon. Free wifi throughout the house. Vast gardens and woods on the estate. Salmon fishing on the river Blackwater. Fly fishing school. Stocked trout lakes on-site. Tennis court. 7-a-side soccer pitch. Croquet. Badminton. Woodland walks. Help feed the farm animals after breakfast - pigs, ducks, hens and pigeons. Dog friendly. Lots to do in the local area and we are always delighted to help plan day trips. Also, Ballyvolane House has a distillery in the farmyard where Bertha's Revenge Gin is distilled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ballyvolane House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyvolane House Hotel Fermoy
Ballyvolane Hotel Fermoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing