We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely few hours”

The Blue Pool and Tea House
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely few hours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We visited the blue pool recently and had a lovely few hours, the tea house offered a good range of goodies including gluten free cakes (homemade) which was a rare treat.If you want to visit to see the Wareham bears I think you would be very disappointed as just a small room with a few teddies We did find there were few signposts to locate the Blue pool, but other people found it and even though there were quite a few people there it didn't seem crowded, loads of wildlife to see if you keep your eyes open. We thought it was worth the entry fee
You do need a fair weather day to visit

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank annie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    103
    58
    24
    24
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“peaceful bit of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just got back from the latest of many visits to Blue Pool. This little slice of heaven is wonderful, we all had a fab time, dog included. The walks are clearly signed and the latest addition of fairy doors for the little ones to find kept the children interested. The tea room at the end of our walk was great with Gluten Free options for our Coeliac children. The shop was great for grown ups and children with pocket money toys. The toilets were clean and well maintained. The play park was great for my nine year olds and my 14 year old even got to play(smaller kids play area good too) Could have stayed in this peaceful place all day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndrewSarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty but pricy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Although the pool is very pretty, this is essentially only a 1 mile walk round a lake , with very little else to see and do. Would save yourself the money and do a free walk taking in the nearby coast and countryside instead! This attraction is saved by the lovely tearoom, however which offers a great selection of homemade cakes, sandwiches etc.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rachael511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ridiculous prices for very little.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

The blue pool was admittedly fairly pretty, however beyond this there was nothing that appealed to me. The £5 each to get in is extremely overpriced, as apart from the blue pool there is not a lot else to offer except for walking which I could do anywhere else in the country for free. You can see the Wareham Bears however they were also extremely disappointing and are definitely not worth seeing, they will be of little interest to anyone(adults+children) especially after paying £5 to see them. I WOULD NOT recommend this attraction(if that's what you want to call it to anyone) unless you want to feel like you have been robbed!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Connort123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My 25 year old daughter went with a friend and two you girls to see the well advertised Wareham Bears. Having visited them as a young girl she wanted to share the experience with the two young girls. However, following paying an extortionate entrance fee, they were all very disappointed by the lack of bears. There was no connection to whats seen and the website advertising the attraction. So off to follow the trail to the viewing point to see Corfe Castle as per the sign's, Oh hang on where's the castle gone ?? must be behind the trees somewhere !! On leaving be very careful as you are directed not back on the road you come in on, instead you follow a single track to a very busy main road, If your turning right towards Swanage be very careful indeed. Score out of 10 ...1 at best if your visiting to see Wareham Bears

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bb0sw0rth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Pool and Tea House also viewed

Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The Blue Pool and Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing