We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Locanda da Crispino - CLOSED

La Locanda da Crispino
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We visited this restaurant with our friends (who have a holiday home close to Montecchio) on a Monday evening on a recommendation by friends. As was to be expected it was very quiet (Monday being a day on which a lot of shops and other places are closed in the region), only one other party apart from ourselves visited the restaurant on that evening.
We were greeted with a complimentary glass of Prosecco and one of our friends (who does not drink wines) was presented with a small glass of beer. The waiter was very attentive (which we would have expected as the place was not busy) without 'hovering' or being pushy.
The starters came and they were all very good - the 'deconstructed' Lasagna and the Wild boar with Juniper berries were excellent.
The next courses (main if you will) were excellent as well - the mixed grill with (among other kinds of meats) Kobe Beef was the most tasteful meat we had eaten on our entire trip to Italy.
When it came to the deserts the waiter suggested that the chef would 'surprise' us. We accepted and it was a perfect end to a great dinner : one dish was put together right at our table (coffee-soaked biscuits covered with Creme Chantilly and chocolate sauce), the others were prepared in the kitchen and served. All of them were utterly delicious.
As all courses were served simultaneously (oddly enough this is something other restaurants don't do) the entire experience.
Having read other reviews here we cannot understand the negative comments regarding the staff - they are, hands-down, among the best we have ever had in Italy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Borgking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Locanda M, l'oste at La Locanda da Crispino, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Google Translation
Salve ricordo di voi co piacere , persone deliziose , co u bel gusto nel mangiare , grazie di cuore della vostra visita , spero di rivedervi presto.
Co Simpatia e affetto Luciano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    27
    7
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“A storybook restaurant in a beautiful Umbrian village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is the kind of place you dream of finding at lunchtime when you're driving and want to pull off for a "local" meal at a small family-run restaurant, featuring food and wine from the region. Much of the food here—meat and vegetables alike—is cooked "alla brace," meaning on an open wood-fired grill that filed this cozy space with mouth-watering aromas. Everything from the fireplace, whether roasted onions and potatoes or slices of beef, was delicious. The fried artichokes were the only disappointment: heavily battered and greasy, not at all like the alla Giudea artichokes in Rome, but the homemade bread, both the focaccia and peasant loaf were incredibly, especially when dipped in the local olive oil. Luciano, the owner/host, couldn't have been more gracious and accommodating, and even poured us all complimentary kirs since he could tell we were weary and hungry from our drive. La Locanda felt like a prayer answered, and I can't wait to go back and be delighted again. The price was quite reasonable considering what we ate and drank and the quality.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Locanda M, l'oste at La Locanda da Crispino, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for you visit i the ower restaurant, and i'll be stay hear if you want retorn.
Luciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Un sogno”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We were absolutely delighted by the dinner we had at La Locanda.
The owner and tehe personal were charming and the meal was fantastic.
The best meal we had in Italy this year.
On top of that the prices were very reasonable.
Congratulations to Luciano(the owner) and Maria (the cook)
Claude Hildenbrand

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C-A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speyer
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Na, certainly not”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

TA ratings usually work for me, but not on this one.

The usual fanfare you get these days as in huge plates with fancy sauce paintings. I dont mind, although it is getting a bit lame, as long as the taste is good, too. Not in this case. Pasta bland, overcooked, oily. Portions a lot too little. Prices a lot too high.

I am amazed about the many good rating the place is scoring, even among Italians. Maybe they just had a bad day when I showed up, but a bit adventurous theory. There is plenty to pick from in the vicinity, so I recommend to give this place a clear miss.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mc02282014a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a Wonderful and Special Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We were touring in our car one day, exploring the back country roads and little hill hamlets of the Umbria region near our villa. By the time we came upon Montecchio (super charming little rock-walled village in the hills), we were starving. We started walking through the town, looking for anything that was open and would serve us.

We came upon what looked like a little deli and bar, walked in and were greeted by the hostess. She asked us, "Restaurante?... You want eat???" We quickly nodded and were ushered into a lovely little restaurant next to the bar, with old wooden beams and plaster walls. Soon after we sat, our waitiress, Elena, brought out a complimentary glass of Prosecco and an appetizer that the chef wanted us to try. The plating of this little ball of crusty dough filled with pureed vegetables, with a drizzle of balsamico, let us know we were in for a treat.

Elena, in her halting English, and us, in our limited Italian, worked our way through the menu, and she made a number of recommendations from the chef. She made sure to get across that both the pastas and the breads were fresh and hand-made, and after the tasteless salt-free breads of Umbria, the whole grain crusty warm bread she brought to our table was a revelation!

The two pastas she brought out to us, one like little stars in a light tomato sauce, the other a saffron number topped with bacon slices, were to die for! We were in ecstacy. Elena then returned to suggest two dessert possibilities, that she said the chef had specifically suggested for us. These were both star-quality, as might be expected in any multi-star restaurant. But in little Montecchio??? What a delight!

Before we left Umbria, we returned for one more wonderful meal and amazingly, Elena remembered exactly what we had ordered from the last time we were there and, again, led us through the menu, choosing some new numbers for us. Once again, wonderful.

The ambience was a charming delight. The food was fantastic. The entire staff was wonderful to us. And Elena, with her 100-watt personality, put a bow on the entire experience. La Locanda - we will miss you!

- Ciao ciao

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Locanda da Crispino also viewed

Montecchio, Province of Terni
Montecchio, Province of Terni
 
Montecchio, Province of Terni
Montecchio, Province of Terni
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing