We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best bedroom I ever had - in 16 years of experience with hotels and B&Bs”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Neston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old School House B&B Neston
Ranked #1 of 2 Neston B&B and Inns
Wuppertal, Germany
2 reviews
“The best bedroom I ever had - in 16 years of experience with hotels and B&Bs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I was on a business trip all over UK (and will be during the next 2 weeks) - and in 16 years of travelling and staying overnight for vacation or for business purposes this has been simply the best room I have ever been in.

I stayed in the double bedroom facing the garden. I don't want to repeat things said before (the selfmade cakes - delicious!, the beautiful garden, the comfortable bed, the overall interior decoration, the friendly hosts Alison and David). I really felt like a prince (at minimum).

As I was travelling by car and unfortunately had only 2 nights, David was helping me with a useful street map which was a very nice idea. Though I had a SatNav with me, the detailed map could guide me much better and gave me a good overview of what I wanted to see in the short time I had. So I went to West Kirby, Birkenhead and Chester, all close by. A walk to Parkgate (a recommendation by the hosts) and a dinner there presented me the beautiful sunset on my way back which I attached to this review.

I was so delighted to have seen that beautiful place and received such a heartly welcome, that I will definitely return - for a vacation. And if I will be doing business in the area - no doubt where I will be going to...

Thorsten from Germany

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThorstenStrauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldSchoolHouse10, Owner at The Old School House B&B Neston, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you Thorsten, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you might be able to visit us again in the not so distant future.Your review was fantastic and we really appreciate the fact that you took the time to write about your experience here at The Old School House B&B Ness in such a lovely way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
14
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Old School House in Neston. The accommodation was lovely, and to have our own walled garden, complete with friendly fish, was superb! Alison was a fantastic host, more than happy to recommend restaurants, and book us tables, and nothing was too much trouble. Home made cake awaited us in our room, and breakfast was delicious. We shall certainly stay here again, and would recommend here to anyone for a truly relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldSchoolHouse10, Owner at The Old School House B&B Neston, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Oona,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
The photo you have posted on Trip Advisor is stunning.
We thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay and hope that you will be able to return sometime in the future.
Best Regards
David and Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

My wife and I travelled up to the Wirral from Surrey for a wedding so it was just a one night stay - this time! We were so impressed with the experience of staying with Alison and David that we plan to come back in the future for a longer stay. The house, garden and bedroom were all top class and the breakfast was extensive and beautifully cooked and presented.

We have our own Bed and Breakfast in Guildford, Surrey (Little Gables Bed and Breakfast) and are quite demanding in what we expect when we have an 'away fixture' but could find nothing about our stay at the Old School House that was a disappointment.

Location is also very good and very close to Ness Gardens and the many other 'sights' in the Wirral.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldSchoolHouse10, Owner at The Old School House B&B Neston, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing response to your stay with us, we really do appreciate it.
As you are aware, as an owner of a similiar establishment, prospective visitors often rely on previous guests experiences of the B&B they are considering staying at, to confirm they are making a good choice, and your kind words will we're certain, help them to make a more informed decision.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

It has taken three weeks searching on Tripadvisor's site to find this B&B to write a review. The "Hidden Gem" would be more a title befitting this gem of a place. We were meeting up for our yearly get-to-gether of our expanding family and decided for us oldie grandparents to go B&B and leave the younger generations to fill the house!!!! What a sensible idea!! We were served the most wonderful breakfast ever tasted, with local produce, rolls, bread, preserves made by our hostess. The table was a delight of culinary exquisite!! Bed was sooooo comfortable. Our room looked out onto a beautiful water fountain surrounded by a walled garden. I said three weeks to find this site to write a review. It was well worth my effort to make my appraisal.


Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jenkelly69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

What a great hospitality! An excellent bed and breakfast. Very clean and still home like athmosphere. Location is very good if you are visiting the University of Liverpool, Leahurst campus. Lot to see in the area as Neston is very beautiful and also located quite close to Chester, Liverpool and Manchester. I have stayed in this lovely B&B already three times during my visits to Leahurst campus (with and without my family).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiittaSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldSchoolHouse10, Owner at The Old School House B&B Neston, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you for your review. We very much appreciate the time you have spent putting the review on our Tripadvisor site. We are sure that your review will be helpful to other travellers who may wish to visit the area and would like to be certain that their choice of B&B is a good one based on another travellers experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Alison was an amazing host. From the moment I arrived, to driving away the next day. I felt completely at ease and spoilt :0). The homemade cake awaiting me in my room was a lovely surprise with my afternoon tea. Everywhere was immaculate and clean. The service second to none.
Would go back again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t_bane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Really comfortable B and B. David and Alison very welcoming hosts. Great birdwatching at various locations within 15 minutes as recommended by the RSPB. Good Pub in the village for evening meals.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neston
2.8 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
2.7 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
2.7 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
5.7 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School House B&B Neston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School House B&B Neston

Property: The Old School House B&B Neston
Address: Old School House Neston Road, Neston CH64 4AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Neston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Neston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling on the edge of the Wirral Peninsular, this magnificent Old School House dating from 1840 has been sympathetically restored and decorated providing the finest luxury, coupled with discreet yet friendly service from the resident owners. The Old School House, in the heart of the Conservation Village of Ness, has a secluded walled garden for a chance to catch up on some peace and tranquility. The beautiful double bedroom offers an en-suite shower room and we also have available a single bedroom which has its own private bathroom. Both rooms have TV as well as Free WI-FI on request. Each of our bedrooms has a welcome tray which includes a selection of teas and coffee with home made cakes. Breakfast offers a wide variety of choice which is included in the price. Special dietary requirements are available on request. The Old School House B&B is just 200m from Ness Botanical Gardens, a mile and a half from Leahurst Veterinary College, 15 mins from the historic walled city of Chester, 30 mins from vibrant Liverpool, Capital of Culture 2008 and 20 mins from The Royal Liverpool Golf Course, host to The Men's Open Golf Championships in 2014. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old School House B&B Neston Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing