We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burton Mere Wetlands

Burton Mere Wetlands
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Neston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Ideal for bird watchers or just taking the family, volunteer staff their to answer your questions even little bird hunt for the kids ... Well worth a visit ...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maxine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    27
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

Joined february 2012 as a dog owner we have seen plenty of birds on our walks until i came here. No matter what the weather this is a good place to go for children, adults birdwatchers or not the children have activities to do, the staff are friendly and approachable and the bird life and views are spectacular, the main reception hide is snuggly warm for those of u that r nesh you can get warm drinks and snacks and wander round the woods my aim this year has to be to spot the kibgfisher

Helpful?
Thank Tazzy2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A treat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

Welcoming, friendly staff. great environment, wonderful views of the marshes and wetlands - so many birds to see. Make yourself a coffee or tea for £1 - happy days.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mikey041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Burton Mere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Great place to visit. Went on a whim as never been to an RSPB reserve before and had a great time for the afternoon. Visitor centre is well equipped with bird identification books and you can hire binoculars. The staff and volunteers were really friendly and helpful (as mybird ID knowledge is sparrow and robin identification level) and I came away being able to identify far more than I could when I went in. Set in a lovely area as well. Liked it so much I've already been back again (first visit June, second July)!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Back To Nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Staff and volunteers make you feel welcome immediately. There is nearly always a children's activity to get children back to nature and the wonder of exploring and identifying wildlife.
For people without children there is enough space to be in complete silence ! A real gem.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank prendys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burton Mere Wetlands also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Lymm, Cheshire
 

Been to Burton Mere Wetlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing