We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wheelchair view!!”

Ness Botanic Gardens
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Ness
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The superb gardens at Ness on the Wirral Peninsular, overlooking the Dee Estuary were founded in 1898 by Arthur Kilpin Bulley; a Liverpool cotton merchant with a passion for gardens and plant collecting. Today the stunning 64 acre gardens have won a succession of awards including Large Attraction of the Year for Cheshire and Liverpool City Region and coveted RHS Gold Medal display garden at the RHS Flower Show at Tatton Park. The Horsfall Rushby Visitor Centre provides a warm welcome to this Cheshire Garden of Distinction. Ness Botanische – display garden by TV presenter and garden designer Chris Beardshaw and Making Waves garden by award winning designer Pippa Probert. Our newly launched restaurant The Garden Kitchen serves quality locally sourced food along with the Garden Grub kiosk in the garden. An extensive events programme runs throughout the year.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
West Timperley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wheelchair view!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

What a wonderful day we both had - my husband pushing the chair and me enjoying the flowers!! Seriously the staff and members of the public were so very helpful in holding open doors, letting us pass by and apologising if we got some water spray in the garden shop etc. It has been a number of years since we last visited Ness and each year it seems to get better. Congratulations to everyone in making our 1hour trip from Timperley so worth while:)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive comments on your visit to Ness. Fulfilling the needs of all of our visitors is vital to us, and we seek to ensure that everyone can enjoy a day out at Ness. We have recently improved access to the Rock Garden and Terraces, and we have plans to develop newly surfaced paths within the Rock Garden for wheelchairs and children’s buggies. So we hope you will come regularly and enjoy even more access to help you enjoy all the Ness has to offer.

Kind regards,

Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Ness Botanic Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    108
    32
    13
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ormskirk
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Charity Conference”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Lovely venue for a conference with views over the gardens. Provided with tasty buffet meal provided by outside caterers. Only slight problem was the door to the kitchen opened into the middle of the room. A steady procession of waitresses in and out was rather distracting. The gardens however are quite exquisite and we intend to return soon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SkyOrmskirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent conference at Ness. The catering staff endeavour to work discretely in the back ground to ensure that our freshly prepared food is presented within the meeting room ready for the planned breaks. However, in light of your helpful comments we have introduced some further measures to improve this provision and limit any likelihood of unintended distraction. The Gardens offer a stunning back drop from the meeting room which feels like the meeting is taking place in the garden, while the free access to the gardens for the delegates is always well received.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the gardens.

Kind regards,

Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Ness Botanic Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Poppy heaven”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Visited these lovely gardens for the third time, but our first time in the summer. Great to see the gardens in bloom, love the 'meadows' with the wildflowers, they are stunning. Also the poppies commemorating the anniversary of the First World War, they are one of my favourite flowers - beautiful. Went to the café for ice cream, told it was closing but they served us with ice cream and drinks. Typical of the nice staff here!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank for taking the time to review your recent visit to Ness. We have to agree that the Poppies are simply stunning and provide a fitting botanical back drop to our exhibition in the Visitor Centre about the family and staff at Ness a century ago, and how The Great War impacted on Ness. I recently had the pleasure of taking a Normandy veteran around the garden and he, like so many others have marvelled at the array of poppies as a fitting tribute to those, including many who worked att Ness and sadly never returned.

Kind regards,

Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Ness Botanic Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“So beautiful and well thought out”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Visited this lovely garden today for the first time in years. It has been developed quite considerably since we last visited and oh what a beautiful place. To explore and discover the different parts of the garden or to pack a picnic and enjoy the outdoors, it is a little gem. We were so impressed that we joined as members and intend to visit again over the next year to see how the seasons change the face of the gardens. Thoroughly recommended and with a young grand daughter, you can relax as they run and explore, in the immaculately kept garden.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your sharing your experience of Ness. We are delighted to welcome you as a new member of the Friends of Ness. I am sure you have derive great pleasure from visiting the gardens free of charge throughout the seasons. Please do not forget that the gardens are closed to the public and members on Tuesdays for maintenance - but with your card you can enjoy the garden from 10 am to dusk from Wednesday to Monday!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Ness Botanic Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very dissapointed with visit today :(”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Really disappointed in our visit today. Reception staff are not trained in taking other Garden Societies Cards which have a reciprocal arrangement for free entry and staff make people feel like they are somehow thieves! For someone to repeatedly keep saying "I've never seen these card before" whilst the other reception lady was finding the correct bar-code was downright rude! Each time we visit the staff make us feel uncomfortable with their attitude. Also the café has a very limited menu and despite not being busy they got our order wrong. My husband ordered the Hearty Breakfast and it came without the eggs. We had to ask for them. I ordered Eggs Benedict which is very simple dish to make but it came without hollandaise sauce! The muffins were just smeared with melted butter! I sent the dish back and out came a fresh dish with a jug of what was described as hollandaise sauce. When I poured it over my eggs it was so thin and tasted nothing like hollandaise sauce - it was more like rancid butter! By this time I thought I was not worthwhile sending it back yet again. We wont be coming back again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank stormchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Ness. Clearly we are disappointed and concerned as to your comments. I shared your review with the staff and volunteers on duty as part of my investigation to ascertain details of the card presented. I would be grateful if you would contact me directly on 0845 030 4063 in order that I can gain further information in relation to referencing your society against current garden entry agreements. In addition, I have passed on your comments to the new operations manager of the Garden Kitchen who has asked that you make contract with her on 0151 353 1573 to discuss.

I am sorry that you experience was not a positive one and up to our expected customer service standards. However we strive to please and recognise the value of visitor comments, both good and bad, in building and maintaining a quality visitor experience. We ask you therefore to make contact with us to help inform any actions needed to improve our service provision.

Kind regards,

Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Ness Botanic Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ness Botanic Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Ness Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing