We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting”

Ness Botanic Gardens
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Ness
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The superb gardens at Ness on the Wirral Peninsular, overlooking the Dee Estuary were founded in 1898 by Arthur Kilpin Bulley; a Liverpool cotton merchant with a passion for gardens and plant collecting. Today the stunning 64 acre gardens have won a succession of awards including Large Attraction of the Year for Cheshire and Liverpool City Region and coveted RHS Gold Medal display garden at the RHS Flower Show at Tatton Park. The Horsfall Rushby Visitor Centre provides a warm welcome to this Cheshire Garden of Distinction. Ness Botanische – display garden by TV presenter and garden designer Chris Beardshaw and Making Waves garden by award winning designer Pippa Probert. Our newly launched restaurant The Garden Kitchen serves quality locally sourced food along with the Garden Grub kiosk in the garden. An extensive events programme runs throughout the year.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Overlooking the Dee Estuary these gardens are wonderful. Waterfalls and pools as well as marvellous trees and plants. Sweeping banks of wild flowers - poppies, sunflowers and daisies. Good eating facility both inside or under an umbrella outside. Well worth a visit.

1  Thank snOwing8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments regarding your recent visit to Ness. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to you returning again soon.

Kind regards,

Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Ness Botanic Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 225 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our 1st visit ever on Thurs 12.6.14 which was on a lovely hot day!!
The gardens were in good shape!!
I was inerested to visit a business enterprise that relys so heavily on voluneers, which I think is telling in the various reviews - but credit to you all - for doing such a lovely job!!!
Well worth a return visit.

1  Thank Mend0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to visit Ness. We are indeed fortunate here to have a small army of volunteers ranging from just 16 to our oldest volunteer who is 96 years old. All provide invaluable assistance to the operation of this wonderful garden. Here in the UK we are the envy of many other countries for having such a strong 3rd sector, many of our European garden partners have little or no volunteer support from within their culture, while here we are like many likely to become increasingly reliant on volunteers in this challenging financial climate.
If you are interested in finding out more about the role of our 211 volunteers at Ness then please do get in touch on 0845 030 4063.

Kind regards,

Kevin F. H. Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

What a wonderful day we both had - my husband pushing the chair and me enjoying the flowers!! Seriously the staff and members of the public were so very helpful in holding open doors, letting us pass by and apologising if we got some water spray in the garden shop etc. It has been a number of years since we last visited Ness and each year it seems to get better. Congratulations to everyone in making our 1hour trip from Timperley so worth while:)

2  Thank Chrissie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your positive comments on your visit to Ness. Fulfilling the needs of all of our visitors is vital to us, and we seek to ensure that everyone can enjoy a day out at Ness. We have recently improved access to the Rock Garden and Terraces, and we have plans to develop newly surfaced paths within the Rock Garden for wheelchairs and children’s buggies. So we hope you will come regularly and enjoy even more access to help you enjoy all the Ness has to offer.

Kind regards,

Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Ness Botanic Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Lovely venue for a conference with views over the gardens. Provided with tasty buffet meal provided by outside caterers. Only slight problem was the door to the kitchen opened into the middle of the room. A steady procession of waitresses in and out was rather distracting. The gardens however are quite exquisite and we intend to return soon.

Thank SkyOrmskirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent conference at Ness. The catering staff endeavour to work discretely in the back ground to ensure that our freshly prepared food is presented within the meeting room ready for the planned breaks. However, in light of your helpful comments we have introduced some further measures to improve this provision and limit any likelihood of unintended distraction. The Gardens offer a stunning back drop from the meeting room which feels like the meeting is taking place in the garden, while the free access to the gardens for the delegates is always well received.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the gardens.

Kind regards,

Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Ness Botanic Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Visited these lovely gardens for the third time, but our first time in the summer. Great to see the gardens in bloom, love the 'meadows' with the wildflowers, they are stunning. Also the poppies commemorating the anniversary of the First World War, they are one of my favourite flowers - beautiful. Went to the café for ice cream, told it was closing but they served us with ice cream and drinks. Typical of the nice staff here!

Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank for taking the time to review your recent visit to Ness. We have to agree that the Poppies are simply stunning and provide a fitting botanical back drop to our exhibition in the Visitor Centre about the family and staff at Ness a century ago, and how The Great War impacted on Ness. I recently had the pleasure of taking a Normandy veteran around the garden and he, like so many others have marvelled at the array of poppies as a fitting tribute to those, including many who worked att Ness and sadly never returned.

Kind regards,

Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Ness Botanic Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ness Botanic Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Ness Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing