We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens”

Ness Botanic Gardens
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Ness
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The superb gardens at Ness on the Wirral Peninsular, overlooking the Dee Estuary were founded in 1898 by Arthur Kilpin Bulley; a Liverpool cotton merchant with a passion for gardens and plant collecting. Today the stunning 64 acre gardens have won a succession of awards including Large Attraction of the Year for Cheshire and Liverpool City Region and coveted RHS Gold Medal display garden at the RHS Flower Show at Tatton Park. The Horsfall Rushby Visitor Centre provides a warm welcome to this Cheshire Garden of Distinction. Ness Botanische – display garden by TV presenter and garden designer Chris Beardshaw and Making Waves garden by award winning designer Pippa Probert. Our newly launched restaurant The Garden Kitchen serves quality locally sourced food along with the Garden Grub kiosk in the garden. An extensive events programme runs throughout the year.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We attended a wedding reception at Ness Botanic Gardens - a truly beautiful setting. The gardens are very colourful and well-maintained with a mixture of formal planting, woodland, ponds, rock gardens and wilder areas. The Visitor Centre is well equipped and spacious with toilet facilities, a shop and cafe. This was an excellent venue for a wedding reception - fantastic catering. The high spot was having a 'conversation' with a local Tawny Owl when leaving the main car park after dark.

1  Thank wallyfrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience in posting your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding and the rather different 'night life' we enjoy on the natural and formal garden setting of Ness!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Ness Botanic Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 211 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

While on holiday at Chirk near Llangollen my wife and I decided to visit Ness Botanic Gardens, being a retired horticulturist I like to see how others grow there plants and learn new methods . We were dismayed to find the gardens closed, There is in my opinion no reason to close a garden for maintenance,staff training,or any other reason.This is bad management and will loose vital revenue. I have never heard of a Botanic garden closing for maintenance, parts or paths being partitioned off yes. I believe this garden is worth a visit but how many people have been disappointed.
George Smith

3  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

I am sorry that you called to see us on our Tuesday garden maintenance day. Historically Ness is unusual as one of the few gardens anywhere which opened 363 days of the year. We have had to review our operation in light of reduced resources in order to ensure the long term future of the garden.

I believe you were staying at a National Trust holiday cottage on the Chrik estate and therefore may not have had access to pre-arrival planning information regarding opening times. We have posted copies of our current garden leaflet to the NT team with a request for insertion into the cottage folders which contain information on local attractions. In addition, we are adding Chrik to our leaflet mailing list for 2015 to ensure their guests have the most up to date information for accessing the gardens between Wednesday and Monday.

Please accept my apologies for any disappointment caused.

Kind regards,

Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Ness Botanic Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was a lovely day out to a stunning garden which although is compact has something special around every corner. We visited on family fun day and even with lots of excited kids running around it was still possible to find quiet spots. If you had children at the fun day you would not have been disappointed there was so much for them to do and so well organised. Shop and cafe were good and the outside plant area had a good selection of excellent fair priced plants and very helpful staff
Very impressed and will visit again when in the area

Thank Jec205911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed you visit to Ness and are grateful for posting your positive review. As the garden is extensive covering 64 acres it has many stunning views across the Dee estuary to Wales and can absorb two thousand people for the Fun Day event without impacting on those who wish for quiet contemplation away from the excitement and energy of our youngest visitors enjoying Ness.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kindest regards,
Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Ness Botanic Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Excellent visitor centre / cafe surpassed by the garden itself.
A gardeners delight with well labelled plants / trees and several ponds.
University of Liverpool facility.

Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Ness. We are delighted that you enjoyed all that Ness has to offer and we hope you will visit again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Ness Botanic Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Ness Botanic Gardens, part of Liverpool University is set in a lovely location on the Wirral peninsular. On our visit it was a hot and sunny day in late July. Being Caravan Club members we got 2 for 1 entry which was a nice bonus!
The gardens aren't as big or as lavish at Bodnant in North Wales but nevertheless they have a charm all of their own. As well as some semi formal areas there is also an abundance of wild flowers which we particularly liked. There are several elevated look out points which provide for some lovely views. The staff are friendly and very helpful particularly when plants, trees or shrubs are not labelled. They have a mine of information. You will also find chickens, herbs, unusual vegetables and on our visit the sweetest smelling sweet peas. We navigated our way round with the help of a map - shady areas were much appreciated in the heat - and we ended up at the gate next to the car park. The café looked nice but we didn't have any food as we were staying on a nearby caravan site. We would go back again and see it in another season.

Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Ness. I am pleased that you choose to take up our new offer with the Caravan Club which was instigated by my meeting with caravan and motorhome owners, many of whom visit the shoulder months from September onwards. I do hope that if you find yourself touring in this area that you will visit us again as you will always find a welcome on the mat.

Kindest regards,

Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Ness Botanic Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ness Botanic Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Ness Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing