We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, quirky rooms”
Review of Craven Heifer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Craven Heifer Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Addingham B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, quirky rooms”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a great DB&B deal at The Craven Heifer last week.
We stayed in Chuffin' Eck,, a Fred Truman themed room (good fun apart from the quote) which had a good bed and bathroom but could have done with more hanging space.
The bar was perfect and the food excellent. Service was friendly an efficient and the pub quiz was a great way to get people chatting.
An excellent night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan131155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    85
    27
    19
    27
See reviews for
38
248
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had a midweek meal here and it was outstanding. Better than any of the local competition. Staff welcoming and professional. Food was delicious and Michelin star quality. This place is worth making a special journey to visit.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Nolly16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The Craven Heifer is an original take on the country inn, each room has a Yorkshire theme, we stayed in ‘The Big Splash’ a room dedicated to artist David Hockney. There was a free standing bath in the bedroom and an ipod dock with good quality speakers. The theme was not overdone so it could not be accused of being tacky.

We had the taster menu at dinner along with accompanying wine. The chef cooked to a good standard and presented an ambitious menu that we thoroughly enjoyed. The dining rooms are originally decorated, not too large and there’s even a log fire to keep the cold away.

The staff are attentive and friendly, they really make guests feel welcome. Addingham also makes a great base for trips out to Ilkley and Skipton and the Craven Heifer is such a relaxing place to stay that it would be difficult to find somewhere better to enjoy this area of Yorkshire from. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Both 'The Big Splash' and 'The Crow's Nest' are at the top of the pub, they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterCWhitaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed in 'De Havilland' room a month ago, all I can say is Hubby did good!

Spacious and nicely decorated room paying homage to Amy Johnson, clean bathroom and bath in the middle of the room - with White Company toiletries. Homemade shortbread and tea/coffee tray - with proper coffee and TeaPigs tea bags.

We enjoyed a three course evening meal, the food was delicious from the amuse bouche straight through to the pudding! Service was very professional and the young lady work her socks off all weekend!

Would definitely recommend this little gem, but shushhh don't tell everyone!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed in the 'Crows Nest' with the beautiful bath.It was a few months ago now but wonder if any hotel room will ever top that memory.Room and bathroom (with White Company toiletries) were gorgeously decorated and very clean.Homemade shortbread with the tea and coffee tray (including a cafatierre with Craven Heiffer branded ground coffee sachets and posh tea bags)

Evening meals and breakfast were amazing,even for fussy old me.Really rich and tasty and beautifully presented with fantastic quality ingredients.We loved our room and the feel of the whole place that we barely left our room and the bar and were thankful it rained for two days as it gave us an excuse to stay in! The only possible nitpicking we could do were that the tv was at a strange angle,better seen from the bath than the bed! And the lovely big comfy bed had a gap at the back where the pillows would fall to the floor behind the bed.
All in all a perfect choice for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Pick the Crows Nest if possible.Probably the best room in the hotel.Though I would have settled for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deenie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed for 1 night with Dinner,Bed and Breakfast with a deal from Travelzoo, the room we stayed in was the Crows Nest, very different and quirky, The taster menu for dinner was amazing they must be due a Michelin star or 2 very soon. The staff were all very helpful, polite and attentive. Breakfast was also wonderful homemade everything even the brown sauce, to top it all the Pub Quiz on a Sunday evening was fun too and we even won with the help of another couple also staying at the Craven Heifer Inn, will recommend to all.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a special room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beautydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed here as a birthday treat for the night & bought a package on Travelzoo which was £129 for a night with dinner and breakfast included. We upgraded to one of the special themed rooms - and chose the David Hockney one call The Big Splash. We were not disappointed. Everything was spectacular - a large roll-top free-standing bath, huge comfortable bed, large shower, and wooden floors. The staff in particular were brilliant - so helpful and conscientious about their job, even helping us with our baggage to and from the car (we had many presents in tow).

We had the 7 course taster menu for dinner which was fantastic, every single course was delicious, even ones we did not think we would like based on the ingredients and description. Everything was beautifully presented too - we could not fault the food one bit. The breakfast next day was an organic, locally-sourced cooked breakfast, and once again the flavours were delicious. The only possible quibble we could have had was that we would have liked a larger selection of real ales on in the pub, but this really is nitpicking as there were plenty of other drinks available, and at least 4 other pubs on the same road should we have wanted to explore, but to be honest, if you're staying here you would never want to leave.

We would recommend this to everyone we know, and would definitely go again. Massive thank you to the staff for making the birthday weekend extra special.

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of the boutique rooms on the top floor - such as the Big Splash
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank North_South_EAT_West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addingham
2.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
3.1 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,165 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
9.5 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craven Heifer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craven Heifer Inn

Property: Craven Heifer Inn
Address: Main Street, Addingham, Ilkley LS29 0PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley > Addingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Addingham
Hotel Class:4 star — Craven Heifer Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Closed until further notice." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your Craven Heifer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craven Heifer Hotel Addingham
Craven Heifer Inn Addingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing