We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience!!!”

Maru Koala and Animal Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$23.48*
and up
Maru Koala and Animal Park General Entry Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get in touch with wildlife at Maru where you can pat and hand feed many of the animals. Pat a koala and feed the albino kangaroos, see wombats, Tasmanian devils, dingoes, snakes and more native animals. Then set sail on an adventure at Pirate Pete’s Mini-golf as you putt your way around the Pirate Ship, encounter life-size Pirate figures, the Great White Shark and brave the gold mine under the waterfall. Enjoy something to eat and drink in the licensed Homestead Bistro with views out into the animal park. Come and enjoy the award winning friendly service and atmosphere from this family owned and operated business. Grantville Pirate Festival and other events held at Maru each year, see our website for more details. Finalist in the Victorian Tourism Awards 2011 and 2012.
Reviewed 12 October 2013

it has been the first attraction we've been visiting coming out of the city of Melourne. I've never been so enthusiastic looking at some animals! Kangaroos, koalas, wallabys, tazmania devil and many others I don't remember... It has been a very funny and interesting visit. And I've got no children, I can't immagine how they would be happy after an experience like that... Really recommended!

Thank italiansinchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"animal park"
in 54 reviews
"phillip island"
in 54 reviews
"australian animals"
in 19 reviews
"mini golf"
in 51 reviews
"close encounter"
in 13 reviews
"feed the animals"
in 13 reviews
"take photos"
in 11 reviews
"gift shop is"
in 4 reviews
"extra fee"
in 4 reviews
"well taken care"
in 4 reviews
"clean toilets"
in 4 reviews
"young kids"
in 5 reviews
"included in the price"
in 4 reviews
"penguin parade"
in 7 reviews
"tour buses"
in 4 reviews
"sheep shearing"
in 4 reviews
"tasmanian devils"
in 11 reviews
Filter

280 - 284 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We stopped off here on way to penguin parade on a pre purchased trip so can't comment on cost of entry as this was included in our day trip.
On arrival we purchased group package to have a picture with a koala for two people this cost $27. Animal food purchased for $2. Charge of 1.5% for using credit card but this appears to be standard practice at most places.
Animal encounter was definitely worth the money and would recommend to any visitors. We were not rushed and spoke to the staff who were able to answer all questions and took pictures for us using our cameras. A picture taken by animal park is included in the package.
Other animals included wallabys and kangaroos and you got to get up close to them and feed them. There are other animals at the park but most of the focus is on the koalas, wallabys and kangaroos. Would recommend this for adults and children alike and we (age 31 + 25) had a great two hours here.
Eating facilities at the park.
Negative would be that no hot water or soap in the outside toilets and no hot water in inside toilets. This is a must as we needed to wash our hands after feeding the animals and before having snacks at the cafe.

Thank Anu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Although small, this animal park lets you get up close with lots of Australian animals and most were very awake and alert (unlike many zoos/parks where animals seem to sleep/ hide during the day) Lots of kangaroos and joeys to feed and the koala encounter was a highlight for our 8 year old. Unfortunately our lunch took AGES to arrive. But after it finally did the staff were very apologetic and remunerated us appropriately. Mini golf was fun but not a highlight of the park for us. I would highly recommend this park for anyone with overseas guests.

Thank tessa1320132016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaruKoalaPark, Manager at Maru Koala and Animal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Hello Tessa
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that despite the delay in your lunch arriving you still enjoyed your visit and we were adequately able to compensate you for the unusual delay. On the day of your visit we had an influx of visitors and also several coach groups for lunch and one of our cooks went home ill that did cause some delay which we apologize for. We look forward to seeing your family back again in the future to enjoy the new sheep shearing daily shows in the animal park that will start as of next year in a new undercover auditorium. Neroli Heffer- Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I was disapointed by this visit. The weather was not good and so there were nothing to do, only buy gifts and food... Moreover the animals didn't look especially happy, and I find sad to keep so much kangaroos in such a small place, I prefer see them in big space. So if you are going to phillip island don't stop there or only if you want pictures of you feeding a kangaroos.

Thank Karine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaruKoalaPark, Manager at Maru Koala and Animal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Hello Karine
Maru is mainly an outdoors activity with the animal park and Pirate Pete's Mini-golf, although we have already started construction of an indoor children's playroom adjacent to our bistro. I am disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your visit. Our main koala enclosure also has a large sheltered area and all group tours and individual guests are invited into this area for regular koala talks and presentations throughout the day. During the holidays that have just finished our keepers gave talks and presentations on different animals throughout the day that were very well received and enjoyed by most guests. We have over 25 kangaroos in a large walk-through open range double paddock that covers a third of our total land area here at Maru. We also have a large range of other animals including wombats, Tasmanian Devils, dingoes, possum, emu, snake and more that I am unsure if you got to walk around and see in the wet weather. I would encourage you to visit again in better weather to really enjoy all that Maru has to offer. We were recently announced as the Business of the Year for both our local Shire and the Gippsland region and most visitors enjoy the activities we have to offer at Maru as you can see from the other reviews on TripAdvisor.
Neroli Heffer - Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Lots of animals to see and feed. The mini golf is a really interesting place, full of pirates theme. but staff memebers didn't advise on the photo encounter and theres no snakes like they said so.... a bit disappointed in that...

Thank Priscilla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaruKoalaPark, Manager at Maru Koala and Animal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Hello Priscilla
Glad to hear you enjoyed the animals and mini-golf but disappointed to hear that you did not get all of the relevant information from our staff. We have two snakes, a big three meter olive python and a smaller black-headed python. The snakes won't be on permanent display until we build our new reptile house in 2015, but they do come out every day for the 1:30pm keeper presentation during these school holidays. Guests can also pay to have encounters with the snakes and hold them!
I'm not quite sure what 'staff did not advise' about the photo encounters, but we offer special encounters where you can pat and feed the animal with a koala, snake, golden possum, dingo and also at present an albino joey kangaroo. As part of this experience you also receive a professional photo of you with the animal but can also take unlimited photos on your own camera.
Thanks for your feedback and management will improve our staff training to ensure that all of our guests are given accurate information upon arrival and thus don't miss out on any of the great opportunities to get in touch with wildlife at Maru. We hope to see you again soon.
Neroli Heffer - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maru Koala and Animal Park also viewed

 

Been to Maru Koala and Animal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing