We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfection ....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Almost perfection ....”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

For a 4.5 star resort we were largely impressed with island and as it was our first visit to the Maldives we have nothing to compare it to. Highlights of our trip were the quality of accommodation, the food and the extremely friendly service.

The moment we arrived in Male we were taken to the seaplane terminal and was definitely one of the things we will remember for a very long time. It is not to be missed! Maldivian Air Taxi is one of two companies operating, but we were told MAT has the better safety record and we definitely saw them flying more frequently than the other one. Make sure you stick to the 20kgs weight limit per bag as the will always charge you excess baggage for every kilo over and there were some pretty hefty bills as people were unaware of this.

We had to wait a while for our air taxi which was a bit frustrating after a longhaul flight, but you don't get a choice you go when you are told.

On arrival at Centara we were taken the short boat ride to the resort reception to be greeted with a cold towel and a fruit drink. Very quickly we were taken by golf buggy to our Beach Villa, a two storey villa which was semi detached and would have been ideal but for the very noisy neighbours next door who liked to keep us awake with their music.

Our room though was large and roomy and the outside bath was truly awesome. The only aircon unit was in the upstairs bedroom and was very noisy and not really adequate as it didn't keep the downstairs very cool. There are 2 ceiling fans but the bathroom has nothing. Downstairs was a living area which we had as a second bedroom for our son. Off of the living area there were double sliding doors through to the bathroom and dressing area which was very impressive and led out to the outside bath and shower (there was also a good shower indoors as well). The downside of the open air access was the humidity and the mosquitos! Even though the resort is fumigated regularly our son received more than 60 bites in the first 3 days and we had to request a mosquito net for his bed. In fact we actually decided to upgrade our room to a water villa for the last couple of nights to try and escape them. We thought the beach villa was great but it was definitely worth the price of the upgrade as the water villa was awesome.

The marine life was spectacular and teaming with rays, turtles, large shoals of fish, Moray eels, sharks (harmless thankfully!) and the snorkelling is very safe and easy, although I did find it very annoying that we had to hire the snorkel, mask and fins which wasn't publicised anywhere before we went and, had I known I would have taken my own as $25 per person per week is very expensive and a bit of a rip off given how cheap they are to buy. The only watersports you get in the AI package are the kayaks and pedeloes. Everything else has to be hired and it's $55 per hour for a sail boat! It's a shame because they could make so much of their watersports and the guys looked very bored as there was little for them to do.

The dive center was very professionally run and compared to other places we have been in the world, we found it fairly expensive and EVERYTHING is charged as an extra. $70 per dive including the rental of tank, BCD and mask. But if you want a wetsuit it's another $5 and if you want to do a dive away from the resort it's another $22 on top to cover the cost of the boat.
It's not geared up for children and the Bubble Maker and the Try Dive is off the back of the dive center into deep water which was quite choppy. We had expected them to take our 10 year old from the beach to get him used to the water but they don't make it clear and don't realise teaching a child is about building confidence and Wolf the tall german may be a good diver but he certainly doesn't know what to do with children and we found the whole experience incredibly disappointing. Make sure if your child does want to try it out as you are charged $90 even if they get into the water and bob on the top. The hotel manager did take the charge off but the dive people didn't want to know.

I believe the exclusive "club" upgrade provides some of the above but from what we learnt the cost of the upgrade wasn't worth it and we didn't meet anybody who did. In fact the club pool was empty all the time we were there. It also gives priority restaurant bookings but we didn't have a problem booking when we wanted.

The food is simply fantastic for a 4* all inclusive resort. We really enjoyed our meals at the speciality Italian restaurant and Thai restaurant was nice but I would recommend the A La Carte as the set menu wasn't to our taste.
The Reef restaurant was extremely good and the quality and range of food - much of it freshly cooked in front of you - and by the personalised service offered by Ahmed who was always on hand to greet and seat us, and had our glasses topped up at very regular intervals!

Other reviewers have mentioned the Oriental guests and culturally they are more likely to push to the front of a queue and are oblivious to other guests. If you don't eat early enough we found that they did devour their way through everything, especially the desserts and there was little left by the time we got there. They do like to take photos of their piled high plates and their cocktails and we did find that they spoilt meal times as they were very noisy, so a quiet, leisurely dinner wasn't possible and we found we couldn't wait to get away.
It is amusing to spot the honeymooners in their striking matching shorts and beachwear ... and occasionally you will see the full wedding dress at breakfast. They also love their cameras which seem to be an extension of their personalities and their "staged" photo sessions.

This is a very quiet resort with no real organised activities. There is a very nice tennis court which we used a few times and rackets and balls are available from the kids club nearby. Be prepared for a very relaxing and chilled out experience, enjoy the food and drink and the fact you are in such a beautiful place.

If you do want contact with the outside world you can get reasonable wifi in your room for about $34 for 7 nights. We found that we couldn't get it anywhere else in the island.

Take light clothing and perhaps a couple of pairs of flip flops as you hardly wear shoes. Most of the island flooring is sand, including the restaurants so we hardly wore shoes. Go careful on the decking. Its very uneven and nails stick out in places. Some planks are loose and our son cut his foot open just walking from the Reef restaurant evening and had to be taken to the doctor. The hotel were very good and picked up the cost of the bill when asked.

Our exit from the resort was slightly unexpected. We went in Monsoon season and were very lucky to have hot sun every day. In the early morning of the day we were due to leave a violent storm blew in. The sea had a huge swell and the seaplanes, although still amazingly kept flying we did experience a big delay in them getting to us. The hotel's pontoon which the seaplanes tether too was too unstable so we were taken by boat to a more sheltered pontoon. After a couple of attempts the seaplane landed and we did finally get from the boat, onto the pontoon and onto the seaplane in the driving rain and very strong winds. Luckily the thunder and lightening had abated although there were distant rumbles. The staff at Centara were amazing and Hamish (The resort manager) accompanied us on the boat and helped allay our fears. He was instrumental in getting us onboard our aircraft. We made our BA flight with 2 mins to spare before the flight closed but amazingly the seaplane company had radioed ahead and we had a bus waiting for us with a personal porter assigned to get us through to the gate. A truly wonderful service and a massive relief as there was no BA flight for another 2 days!!!

I wouldn't go back to this resort any time soin, but not because we didn't like it, for all I have listed above we had a lovely relaxing holiday. There are so many islands to explore though so I would definitely visit the Maldives again, it was everything I expected and more.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    225
    54
    16
    13
See reviews for
418
603
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Centara Grand Island Maldives from the 3rd of July for 7 nights - We had previously stayed in the Centara Koh Samui which led us to make this decision as we found the ethos of the brand to be excellent.

We arrived via the Water plane and were picked up by the Centara boat immediately - it was just a short calm journey to the main reception where we were greeted with big smiles and a welcome cold flannel and fruit cocktail! - the orientation was swift and efficient. we were provided with a map although this is hardly needed as the island is small and super easy to navigate once youve done your first trip round it.

We were taken by Golf cart to our accomodation - we stayed in Beach villa #28. it was exactly what we had hoped for and we were more than happy with the space and privacy of the villas - i'm perhaps a bit biased but once we had looked at the other villas we were so pleased that we hadnt chosen a water villa as the boardwalks are a bit creaky so you can hear footfalls and the fact that the other guests (mainly the chinese) were continuously toting cameras and as the snorkelling and watersports are around there you dont get as much privacy as im sure you would like to have (that being said we didnt actually go into any other villas so i'm sure they had other features that make them a superb choice for others - just not us!)
we loved the outside bathtub and the space in the bathroom - there is also an inside shower too. Complimentary products like shampoo and conditioner etc were nice so dont panic if you forget anything (i forgot all of my hair products - doh!)

Beach was cleaned daily - there was a huge jellyfish invasion when we were there and the staff made us all aware of it and tried to keep the beach as clear as possible of the little bu99ers!
Watersports - the kayaks and padalos are free - you get 1hr per day to use these within the AI features - this was more than sufficient for us - we were able to get great views of the corals and fish from the pedalos so well worth doing.
Staff - all very friendly, English is the main spoken language here and as per others reviews I can genuinely say that the staff are amazing - so friendly and smiley and truly helpful when you need them.
A big special mention goes to Tim the Head Chef - we had occasion to talk to him twice and he is a lovely man with a real passion for his craft - under his direction all areas of the food provided by the Centara is excellent - especially the desserts!!! I put on 6lbs in the week that we were there!!!
Food - amazing - all cutures and predilictions catered for - the buffet is unlike any other buffet I have been to before and the word buffet doesnt do it justice to be honest - we ate like kings and queens! Every evening had a different theme to provide even more variety (eg japanese, french, chinese)
there are 2 separate restaurants: Lotus Thai is excellent and as you would expect from a Thai run company the food and ambiance were spot on. There is a veggie and normal AI menu or you get $40 each towards the A La Carte menu. We ate there twice and both times were really really pleased with the AI menu.
The Italian is REALLY special and makes you appreciate Italian food all over again - its not your average pizza and pasta joint! the food was superb and again there is the AI and the A La Carte menu options. What made it for us was sitting on the deck watching the flood lit seas below and seeing eagle rays and bat fish swimming below us. Really memorable!

Alcohol - was readily available all day and the cocktail list was adequate. We found the AI sparkling wine to be really good and stuck to this for most of the time.

Trips - we only did the Night fishing and Diving but the other trips looked good - It seemed that when we were there it had come to the end of whale and dolphin season so there didnt seem much point in doing it even if we would have been given a 50% reduction if no whales were spotted. Anyway back to the Night fishing - this was excellent and a really nice boat trip to boot. I caught 5 fish and was able to choose a fish to have for lunch the next day! (This cost an extra $11 but it was well worth it) The chef came out at the end of our trip to see what we had caught and we were re-assured that the caught fish would be used.

Entertainment - The Stingray feeding every night at 6pm at the main bar is definately a go see - we went every night and were rewarded with a minimum of 5 huge rays and a shoal of other beautiful fish ready and waiting for their dinner each night!
Crab racing - fun!
quiz - okay
underwater movie - more a promo for the dive centre but still a good opportunity to see what the marine life is like.

Diving - the house reef is excellent - My husband doesnt dive yet so we did a shallow 9 metre 'trial' dive and this was still very good with abundant sea life and great coral structures. I later did an afternoon dive to 24m over at another island and was really impressed with this too. The dive team were very helpful putting your gear together and giving really good quality equipment to boot.
I didnt get to see the sunken boat but heard that its worth a look - its down at 35m.

The Cenvaree Spa was again really good - quite pricey but they have a captive market and I would say that it was a great holistic experience. I had the 90 minute Hot (HOT HOT) Stone Massage which was Uber thorough and my husband had the Sports Massage which he said was excellent too. Nice setting, very quiet, nice pre and post experience too with everything thought of from slippers and robes through to herbal teas after. If you get there early enough too you can chill out in the single sex steam rooms and plunge pools too.

The negatives for us were only very small... The Chinese are the largest visitors to this island by far and they do have different customs to us brits so with this taken into consideration its just that they dont do queuing at all which is annoying as they will quite happily swoop in to try to nab your omlette etc thats being cooked! They are also surgically attached to their HUGE cameras all the time so you are never far from a staged photo shoot and flashes going off here and there all day and night - it gets a bit wearing when you dont want to get into their shot etc.
Please feel free to message me if you have any questions as i will happily re-live this holiday again and again - it was amazing!!

Room Tip: beach villas on the sunset side are best - more privacy and good sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Nicbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

My husband and I visited Centara with another couple. We stayed in a beach villa with our friends next door to us (29 and 30). We arrived to a lovely warm welcome and were quickly checked in and taken to our rooms with no hanging around - this was appreciated after such a long journey. The rooms were much bigger than expected and beautifully furnished. A lovely big bed with the best pillows I've ever slept on! The bathroom/dressing room was spacious and clean - we loved the outdoor bath and shower, but so did the mosquitos... (make sure you take spray or cream with you). Villa was cleaned and swept every morning and a turn-down service was done in the evening.
We spent most of our time relaxing on the beach and snorkelling - the reef is just amazing. Full of colourful fish, stunning corals, reef sharks and giant clams!
The food in the reef restaurant was fantastic - live cooking stations with a good variety of different things to choose from. Breakfast pancakes were so good! Each night had a different theme - my clear favorite was the Japanese night - melt in the mouth sashimi was to die for!! We also tried the Lotus Thai restaurant one night and were not dissapointed - definitely not to be missed.
Loved that we didn't have to bother with shoes - this was a truely bare-foot island experience. Sand floors in the reef restaurant and coral bar, and sandy walkways around the island. Baby soft feet after a couple of weeks of bare feet and sand!
I noticed someone complained about cocktails being watered down in a past review. I can tell you hand on heart that this is NOT the case! Measures were very generous and who needs more than a choice of 15 cocktails?? House white, rose and cava were all very nice and their spirit measures were also generous. The only niggle I would say was the fact that the mini-bar wasn't inclusive... The prices were ok, but it really should have been free - even just the soft drinks.

The staff were great - they couldn't do enough for you and were very friendly and attentive. We felt so welcome everywhere we went and were always greeted with a 'good morning', 'hello' or 'good evening' on our way around the island - even from the gardeners.

There was some building work going on a short distance from our villa, but to be honest they weren't noisy about it and it was mostly hidden from view. I appreciate that even paradise takes a little maintenance.

Top tips

- Try the Lotus restaurant
- The best place for snorkelling can be found round the back of the dive centre/gym - steps here will take you straight to the reef edge without having to swim out from the beach if you aren't staying in a water bungalow.
- There's a lovely air-conditioned room with a pool table just behind the DJ booth in the Coral bar.
- Grab the torch from your room at night and go looking for crabs on the beach - the place comes alive at night!!
- Take mosquito repellent and do a mozzie check or your room before bed time or they'll eat you!
- Don't bother to pack more than a single pair of flip-flops - you won't need them

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank cheekyminxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We stayed at the resort in June for our Honeymoon an it was fantastic. It was our first trip to the Maldives so we don't have anything to compare it to directly but we are very well travelled.
We had Beach Cabin/Room number 39 and we could not fault it. We looked out onto the beach with a few steps to a hammock or our sun loungers! The accommodation was of excellent standard and much bigger than expected. The outside bathroom was gorgeous but don't have any illusions of romantic baths under the stars - by the time it filled up it was cold!!! The housekeeper was fantastic and we had everything we wanted.
The food was of very good standard. We understand they had recently begun to let All Inclusive guests to have set menus in the Thai and Italian as part of the packages. The Thai was our favourite - the service and food were amazing. The Reef restaurant was good although we did find the service and the food quality a little hit and miss at times. It seemed to depend on the times we ate.
The bar service was very good and there was an extensive list of all inclusive cocktails - all contained lots of booze!
The resort itself is very well maintained and 'styled' to a very high standard. Every area seemed like a tardis! We loved the massive loungers and swinging boats in the bar area. Note to avid readers - there is a library in the 'E Zone' with a huge amount of books - I wish we had known this and luggage would have been lighter!
Some guests have commented on the concrete sea barriers. 99% of the time they are under water so cannot be seen. Embrace them as they had a huge range of sea life surrounding them when we went snorkeling. The best spot to go snorkeling is behind the dive centre - we couldnt believe the amount of fish!!
Our only issue was how expensive the extras were. We went on a Sunset Dolphin cruise which was nice but hugely over priced for what it was. We also used the spa twice. The manicure I had was very expensive and chipped after two hours although they did rectify this but re-doing it. We had a couples treatment which was very nice but we would not have done it it we had not recieved vouchers from the resort and Virgin as it was double the cost of a UK treatment. It was a very nice few hours though.
The weather was good, some showers as expected for the season. There are umbrellas everywhere for rain or shine. You can leave shoes at home and pack lightly. Bare feet are a necessity.
We did raise our concerns with the manager who responded straight away which was excellent. All in all it was a fantastic holiday at a fantastic resort. The staff were all brilliant and really made it special.We would return

Room Tip: Get a beach room for easy access to all facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nic2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We (myself, husband and 4 year old daughter) returned from a 12 night stay at the Centara at the end of May. To put this in perspective, this was our 7th trip to the Maldives, to various mid range islands, and this was our daughters 3rd trip. We picked Centara mainly for its location and for the fact there was a kids club and neither of these disappointed. So here we go:


Arrival : Brilliant, met swiftly by the centara staff and escorted to the sea plane terminal and was away within the hour, this is a fantastic service.

Island: This was one of the areas in which we were a little disappointed, this island is very built up, and there are alot of rooms for a small island. The sea wall, although we completely understand is absolutely necessary is just pure ugly, but a haven for fish, so also an upside. There is also some maintenance issues with the pool boards being rough with protruding nails, not ideal when people are walking around barefoot, however this is a minor problem but something we noticed as it was something we had not experienced on previous islands. The house reef however was undoubtedly the best we have ever seen, the wreck was great for easy quick diving with turtles, octopus, nurse shark, glass fish by the million, so it depends on whats more important to you, a paradise island or the sealife.

Restaurants: Reef restaurant was good, but just good, we have had much much better in the Maldives in lower hotel classes. I was a little shocked as the beef was so rare that I asked for it to be cooked a little more and was told that this was not possible, again although I completely realise this is a minor problem and there was plenty for me to eat, this again was something I had not experienced on other islands, as they usually have a hot plate when serving red meat and will always cook it a little more if you wish. However, again the up side was the childrens menu which was great, although my daughter will pretty much eat anything I felt it was a nice touch and the food was very good. The Lotus restaurant was amazing and was undoubtedly the best in our opinion, we ended up going there 3 times, Eka, Kamal and the staff were amazing, explaining the food, flowing drinks and highly professional, the food was also amazing both the set menu and al a cart. The Italian was not so good for us, but many people enjoyed it, we visited only once and enjoyed the vegetarian menu and the food was very good, but the service was less impressive and we ended up actually having to ask for drinks after 20 minutes, even when the restaurant wasnt busy.

Bars: The AI drinks options are very good and probably one of the best AI we have had, which was great, the service was a little hit or miss sometimes being served by a waiter and sometimes having to get your own, neither of which reallyy bothered us but again something that we had not noticed in other resorts where you never go to the bar yourself, particularly in the evening.

Rooms: Again undoubtely the best room we have had in the maldives, since having a child. 2 storey beach villa so much space and storage and very very comfortable, cleaned to a high standard every day, but no room decorations...

Kids Club: Fantastic, our daughter absolutely loved it there, and we often struggled to get her out of there despite her sometimes being the only child in there, Anusha was amazing and loves her job and this really does show in her affection towards the children. Highly recommend the kids club and it was great for us to take a break as few islands actually have a kids club.

Dive Centre: Again fantastic, lazy diving without a doubt, you just turn up and your rig is prepared and even lifted on to you, after your dive they take your gear and you just head back to the beach or pool, excellent service. Whale sharks are a must!!

Spa: I cant actually comment on the spa as I didnt go as it was the most expensive spa I have ever seen in the maldives and it wasnt even over the water or anything, so I chose not to go, although guests that did go said it was fantastic and enjoyed their treatments.

We had a fantastic time at the Centara, and would probably return based on the kids club, the rooms and the house reef alone, but if you do not have children there are many other resorts I would consider as an alternative if you want that paradise island feeling where you can walk around the entire island with sand between your toes. If however this is your first trip to the Maldives then I assure you it will be amazing for you, I guess its just us fussy regulars that start to get picky, but saying that there were many Maldives regulars there who felt this was their favourite island, so I guess its just down to personal preferences,.If you are going have a great time!

Room Tip: Rooms around 99
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank MrsWoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Just come back from Centara on our first trip to the maldives with two children aged 12 and 10.
I will keep it short and sweet FANTASTIC !! what a beautiful place,
food superb, stayed in a deluxe family water villa No16 perfect....
Staff would fall over themselves to smile and say hello nothing was too much trouble.
Kids club (Annie) was brilliant, my 10 year old could'nt wait to get there and bake cookies!!
Majorca will never cut it after this so says my 12 year old
What are you waiting for, i would go back in a flash .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank booboojay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

... and that is how to find anywhere else in the world in this price range where you can get this quality of scenery, accommodation, food and very friendly service

From the moment we arrived (by seaplane - don't miss it) and were greeted by the wonderful Ritu before being buggied to the Island Club for check in, to the moment we left, we were amazed at the level of service everywhere on this little island

Our room (Ocean Club Water Villa #88) was large, roomy, cold (trust me that's a bonus and I would like to praise the aircon for working so hard and tirelessly!), had a huge bed, and was very well equipped with a huge bathroom with toilet, shower and double jacuzzi, with a lovely balcony view over the ocean where we got unobstructed views of the sunset (and spent many evening hours lying on the balcony sunbeds looking up into the starlit skies ... my wife saw shooting stars for the first time!) and just five steps into the glittering lagoon, where we could see thousands of brightly coloured fish, including Puffer fish, squid, sharks and Moray eels ... the snorkling is very safe and easy with fantastic views

On to the Ocean Club itself, where we were pampered by the lovely ladies (Shelley, Sinta, Eka and Christine) with copious drinks, snacks, ice cold flannels, spray misting and - most importantly - a real feeling that they were genuinely happy to see us. If you go I promise you'll be hearing Sinta's quiet "You like more drinks please, thankyou?", or Shelley and Eka's infectious giggles days after you've left! A few benefits of Ocean Club that we weren't aware of is that you can get two items per day laundered, and goggles, snorkels and fins - free of charge

The food is simply fantastic for a 4* all inclusive resort - at all the restaurants. Although we enjoyed our meals at the speciality Italian and Thai restaurants - we found them a little too "structured" for this trip and were more impressed by the quality and range of food at Reef - much of it freshly cooked in front of you - and by the personalised service offered by Shiva who was always on hand to greet and seat us, and had our wine glasses topped up at very regular intervals!

Other reviewers have mentioned the Oriental guests and culturally they are more likely to push to the front of a queue but they mean no insult by it. My advice to Westerners going is to either chill out and accept it... or just go in front of them ... in the restaurants and bars most of the chefs and staff spot the order in which to serve you anyway. In addition, it is amusing to spot the honeymooners (striking matching shorts and beachwear ... although occasionally the full wedding dress is a bit of a giveaway!) and to carry out a daily "tripod" count! (Trust me - I got up at 6 one morning thinking I'd get a few empty beach photo's but found five oriental photographers already set up and photographing their wives in full evening wear leaping in and out of the ocean!)

This is a very quiet resort with no real organised activities (there is a very nice tennis court but very few people using it) so be prepared for a very relaxing and chilled out experience, get up late, enjoy th efood and drink, hold hands on the beach and try talking to each other ... although this was a trip for our 25th Wedding Anniversary - we felt like two yourg honeymooners again!

For the techies reading this - you can get reasonable wifi on the island for about $45 per fortnight (or free 30 minutes per day if you're a Clun member)

My only other advice is to unpack half of what you are planning to take - you won't need it ... and don't bother with shoes (occasionally sandals or flip flops to protect from the hot boardwalks) ... it's lovely to walk barefoot into the restaurants and feel the sand between your toes!

Ignore the negative comments you may find on TI ... you will find real paradise here at an affordable price ... go and enjoy it ...

Big thanks to Peter Jones at Destinology for organising this trip for us

Happy to answer any questions you may have ...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank LloydyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centara Grand Island
5.9 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
22.8 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,068 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
2,998 reviews
11.2 mi away
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
#1 of 1 in Rangali Island
2,167 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Huvahandhoo Island
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Property: Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Address: South Ari Atoll
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Centara Grand Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Centara Grand Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a stunning house reef that is a kaleidoscope of colour for snorkellers, and distinctive with its timbered walkways and colonial-style buildings, the five-star Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives is a barefoot paradise. With the Ultimate All-Inclusive concept, your stay is absolutely carefree meaning that all meals, spa treatments, activities and water sports, daily excursions, and even diving are all included. Weatherboard villas, thatched-roof buildings, a white-sand beach and sparkling lagoon are the setting for your honeymoon or fun-filled family holiday. Villas and beach suites are generously-sized (86-159 square metres); the over-water villas enjoy their own sundeck with steps down to the multihued coral reefs. Special villas for families have bunk beds in a children’s area, and you can also enjoy the option of an overwater villa with plunge pool. When it comes to dining, all your meals – and more – are included. Sumptuous champagne breakfasts are available at Reef Restaurant, lunches and dinners are to be enjoyed at the Azurri Mare Italian Restaurant, the Suan Bua Thai restaurant or Reef Restaurant. There are two bars on the island. Voted as Maldives’ most family-friendly resort two years in succession, the island has the ideal family itinerary: activities at the age-specific kids’ clubs, water activities like banana boat and tube rides, water sports, and pool games by thea children’s pool. Anyone in need of some deep relaxation can enjoy the daily spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, yoga sessions, or simply laze beachside. Beside water sports and one of the best PADI dive centres in the Maldives, the resort’s house reef and lagoon provide fascination for snorkellers, and just off the reef there is a dedicated shipwreck that offers easy diving and a close-up view of turtles and whale sharks, manta rays, and surgeonfish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Island Hotel Centara Grand Island
Centara Grand Island Resort And Spa
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing