We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Not sure what else I can say that everyone reviewing here hasn't already said. But I will say this.... This resort, this island has ruined me on every other destination. No place will ever compare to the virgin beauty, the breathtaking beaches, the crystal blue water, the food, the sfaff, the spa... it was all perfection. I can not wait to return to Centara. I could have stayed forever.

Room Tip: The Beach Villas were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCIRM, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our resort. It's a great pleasure to read that you fully enjoyed your stay and that you choose the right place for your vacation in the Maldives .

We are happy to share your review with the whole team and we are all looking forward to be able to welcome you back soon again.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

We are currently on our 2nd overseas assignment (both times in Asia) and have vacationed and stayed at many places. From the moment we arrived at Centara however, I finally knew what paradise was! The island alone was a slice of heaven, but the accommodating staff, the spacious villas, the delicious food at every restaurant (including the buffet), the coral reef, the water activities, the gym and scheduled classes, the daily massages, and family activities in the evenings made this resort top notch! Aside from the friendly staff and pristine water, the coral reef within swimming distance was our favorite. The visibility even in Aug. (end of rainy season) was the clearest we've ever seen and thus we had an unbelievable encounter with a sea turtle, several reef sharks (not aggressive), stingrays, and a variety of fish. We spent 4 nights there, and it wasn't long enough!!! We shared a beach villa with our 9 year old son, and he enjoyed having his own space on a separate floor. We loved Centara Resort and Spa so much we are already planning our return in December of the same year. After sharing our pictures with friends, several of them are planning their trip to paradise too. What are you waiting for? Thank you to everyone at Centara for making our trip and adventure one we will talk about forever!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GizmoTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCIRM, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your wonderful experience at Centara Grand Island Resort and Spa Maldives.
We are very pleased and proud to read that you have such an enjoyable stay and are looking forward to welcome you back again to Maldives.

Until next time!

With best regards and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I have recently come back from my paradise of a holiday and I must say that this has been the best holiday I have ever been on. This is due from the overall friendliness and efficacy of the staff and the fun activities available. This holiday is perfect for families with teenagers 12 and over with the teen zone including air hockey, ping pong, pool, snooker, play stations with games and computers. The island also comes with surprises such as the royalty greeting, free half an hour spa treatment, five free excursions and a free banana boat ride or tube. The food is delicious with the different food themes available such as French, oriental , Chinese ,Japanese, Maldivian and Italian. And if however you don’t fancy the theme that night you can chose to go to the Thai restaurant, Italian or the grill. The cleanliness of the resort was immaculate and on the last night you get flowers on the bed.
If you want a holiday of relaxation and excitement, this is the resort for you.

Room Tip: south side has the sun set view and the north side has the sun rise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank victoria g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCIRM, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear German Family

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and taking the time to review your stay. We are very pleased that this was one of your best holidays and that we could assist in helping you have such a wonderful time.

Victoria we are looking forward to welcome you back again next October.

Warm regards from sunny Maldives!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

From the moment we stepped off the plane in Male, we knew this was going to be special: We were greeted at the airport by hotel staff (a nice start) who were courteous and helpful and made sure we made our sea-plane transfer. The island itself is beautifully maintained and the facilities, rooms and equipment are clean and well cared for. The food was varied and tasty, although could have been a little warmer on occasion (or maybe I shouldn't have spent so long wandering around the buffet making my choices). But the thing that really makes this a special place is the people: every member of staff from the grounds people to the reception staff says hello as they go about their business and go out of their way to cater to your needs. As a particularly nervous student, I was highly impressed with the staff in the watersports centre, who had me snorkelling within an hour. Will we go back? Absolutely! Would we recommend it? Definitely!

Room Tip: The deluxe water bungalows give you direct access to best part of the reef for snorkelling, and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCIRM, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Wendy and Alan
Please allow me to thank you for reviewing Centara Grand on Tripadvisor. Thank you for your heartwarming comments and positive feedback from your stay.
Yes indeed, we are a Paradise Island surrounded by beautiful waters and fantastic reef featuring many species of playful fish, turtles and other curious sea-creatures that are residing in our house reef.
I am honestly touched by your comments about our people. Thank you for recognising their services , I shall pass your comments to all our staff.
Lastly, we all look very much forward to welcome you back and please let me know if I can be of any assistance in the future.
Warm regards from Centara.
 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We arrived in Male at 8.05am from Sri Lanka, very easy and fast customs, and Baggage claim was a breeze. We were met by the Centara Representative as we came out of the Airport and were then taken the Sea Plane check in desk to weigh our suitcases. After a short bus ride we arrived at the Sea Plane Terminal. The Sea Planes have set departure times and ours was leaving at 9.45am, via one other island to drop a few others off.

Once we arrived in Centara, it looked like paradise. A Dragon Boat met us at the Plane Pontoon, and took us to the Reception. The Boat Ride was only 5 minutes, if that. Once on the Island, we were met with a welcome drink and a cool towel. The reception staff were excellent, including Sathish the Front Desk Manager who said we could go to our Villa straight away, as it was ready. We choose a two bedroom pool villa as we had our 13 & 16 Yr old Children, and we were not disappointed, it was very spacious, well laid out and had its own pool, we even had the beach in front to ourselves. The best Villa’s are 1-4 as these have a larger area of beach.

We stayed for 7 Days and I’m sure we had 7 days of Spa Treatment; this is something we must recommend, as soon as you arrive take a walk to the Spa to book your Treatments, and if you don’t know what you want, request to leave the option open.

For evening meals we ate in both the Reef and the Azzuri, if you want to book a table at the Azzuri, take another short walk to the Restaurant at 12 noon to ensure you get a table. Please remember that you can walk around the island in 5 minutes, so it won’t take long to walk anywhere.

The food was lovely in both, and in particular the Beef Tenderloin in the Azzuri. Lunch time meals are recommended by our Daughter, she said it was her best meal of the day!!. For Breakfast you can help yourself to a glass or two of Moet Champagne to have with your Bacon, Sausage & Eggs.

Everyone in the resort were so polite, the Gardeners, Barmen, Waiters and Waitresses and the Staff at the Reception, nothing was too much trouble. It even seemed like they knew us all, by name and how many was in our Party.

There was nothing we could fault with the resort, we all had a wonderful, relaxing time and would recommend the Centara Resort to anyone, we were only sad to leave and say goodbye.

Room Tip: Villas 1-4 are the best Two Bedroom Pool Villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrostytheCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCIRM, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with other travellers.

Keeping up our Centara Service Etiquette is very important to us and thank you for noticing the efforts put in to make it possible. At the same time thank you for noticing the genuine and personalised service of our team - your remarks will only reinforce team motivation and dedication to their daily duties. Our team members and managers are always available and willing to help any guests with any issues.

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are extremely happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us so much. I am glad that your overall experience at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives met your expectations and we all look very much forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have been home a while and can't stop thinking about our visit to Centara Grand. Everything was wonderful, the island, sea life, staff, everything. We loved the choice of restaurants and ate in all three. The service was excellent, and staff very friendly and made us feel very welcome. We stayed in a beach villa. We had sun set views every evening, it was very quiet away from the water villas, we hardly heard a soul. Booking the Ultimate All Inclusive definitely made our trip, unlimited excursions, choice of where to eat and great bar menu choice. Our memories are: Snorkelling with the whale sharks, a Japanese tourist hypnotising a huge barracuda into the lights shining in the sea as we ate our Italian meal (!) feeding the rays, watching the Surgeon fish and finding an Angel fish on the reef right outside our door! The spa was amazing, one of the best I have been in, and it was worth paying extra for longer treatments. We would definitely visit again and choose Centara reports elsewhere in the world.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCIRM, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Dear Elizabeth and Darren

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of your visit to Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives in March this year.

We are so glad to know, that your stay was enjoyable one with lasting memories for years to come.

I have passed your comments to our team . At Centara we aim to provide the highest guest satisfaction and I am pleased that we have delivered prompt services.
Thank you for sharing your positive comments about dining experience in our Italian, Thai and All Day Dining Restaurants. We value your feedback.

Centara Grand is well known for outstanding natural location with crystal clear waters, great snorkelling and diving facilities. We will do out outmost to preserve this pristine environment and unique eco-system.

It was our pleasure of having you with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is our second time at Centara, and as expected it was just an amazing vacation. We travelled as a family and stayed there for 7 days (which was too short) at the Luxury Sunset villas. We have been at Centara last year too (stayed at the deluxe water villa), we really admired the hospitality and the overall stay and enjoyment at Centara hence we opted to travel again this year. As expected Centara lived up to its standards again.
The sunset villa was really amazing it had a great view, where you could snorkel and see all the different kind of reef fishes swim right next to you, and watch the sun set. They had also left a bottle of sparkling wine, fresh fruits and amazing chocolates in our room.
Everyone on the island made us feel at home, and it was surprising how even the waiters remembered us and welcomed us saying " welcome back". The front desk manager ( Mr Satish) was very very helpful, even before our visit promptly answered all our questions immediately and was very hospitable once we landed at Centara, he made sure we felt at home and was very friendly. We felt at home being at Centara.
When at Centara you feel you are in paradise, it's a perfect vacation. We ate mainly at the Reef restaurant, the food was really good and the menu was never repeated. Right from salads, to main course and desserts, everything was perfect. Our waited ( Amir) was very friendly and made sure he took care of us whenever we ate there. Even both the hostess Anushika and Janet were very friendly and sweet and never hesitated to strike a conversation with us. And we also had dinner one night at the Italian restaurant Azzuri, and we enjoyed it, the ambience and over all set up was really good. Loved it. Even a 30 min spa treatment was included everyday, we enjoyed it really well. Lakshmi was very good and professional.
There's a pool by the Coral bar which was really nice to have a dip once after sunset.
Coral bar is the perfect place to relax and unwind having a drink, the staff there (Hassan and Vinod) was always available to make sure we didn't have to wait for another drink, they always gave personal attention to make sure we were comfortable and enjoyed our vacation.
We also went for couple of excursions which were included in the package, one was the whale shark snorkeling, unfortunately we didn't spot any that day. We also enjoyed the sunset cruise with a glass of wine, and sunset fishing, where were managed to catch 4 fish. We had a great time and yet again Centara managed to make our vacations memorable.
This is our 4th time at Maldives and 2nd time at Centara, and Centara is the best resort, I wouldn't mind going there again. :)
Centara managed to live up to our expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCIRM, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Dear Centara Guests

Wow - such a great feedback!

Thank you for posting your review of your return stay with us, as your satisfaction is our greatest reward. We love being part of your fondest memories and are so pleased you will be returning. It makes us very happy that our staff provided you with such prompt service. Your feedback very accurately describe our staff's commitment to excellence and thank you for acknowledging their service. I will definitely share your comments with Satish, Amir, Anushika, Janet, Lakshmi, Hassan and Vinod.

It’s great to know that you enjoyed the spa, drinks at the bars, sunset cruise, sunset fishing and food selection at our main restaurant, The Reef.

Once again thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience and we welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centara Grand Island
5.9 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
22.8 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,166 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
3,241 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Huvahandhoo Island
2,117 reviews
11.2 mi away
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
#1 of 1 in Rangali Island
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Address: South Ari Atoll
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Centara Grand Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Centara Grand Island
Price Range: £566 - £1,276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a stunning house reef that is a kaleidoscope of colour for snorkellers, and distinctive with its timbered walkways and colonial-style buildings, the five-star Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives is a barefoot paradise. With the Ultimate All-Inclusive concept, your stay is absolutely carefree meaning that all meals, spa treatments, activities and water sports, daily excursions, and even diving are all included. Weatherboard villas, thatched-roof buildings, a white-sand beach and sparkling lagoon are the setting for your honeymoon or fun-filled family holiday. Villas and beach suites are generously-sized (86-159 square metres); the over-water villas enjoy their own sundeck with steps down to the multihued coral reefs. Special villas for families have bunk beds in a children’s area, and you can also enjoy the option of an overwater villa with plunge pool. When it comes to dining, all your meals – and more – are included. Sumptuous champagne breakfasts are available at Reef Restaurant, lunches and dinners are to be enjoyed at the Azurri Mare Italian Restaurant, the Suan Bua Thai restaurant or Reef Restaurant. There are two bars on the island. Voted as Maldives’ most family-friendly resort two years in succession, the island has the ideal family itinerary: activities at the age-specific kids’ clubs, water activities like banana boat and tube rides, water sports, and pool games by thea children’s pool. Anyone in need of some deep relaxation can enjoy the daily spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, yoga sessions, or simply laze beachside. Beside water sports and one of the best PADI dive centres in the Maldives, the resort’s house reef and lagoon provide fascination for snorkellers, and just off the reef there is a dedicated shipwreck that offers easy diving and a close-up view of turtles and whale sharks, manta rays, and surgeonfish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Island Hotel Centara Grand Island
Centara Grand Island Resort And Spa
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing