We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place and costumer service at its finest!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Certificate of Excellence
Yokosuka-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place and costumer service at its finest!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at Centara from september 23 till september 28... It was marvellous!!
We arrived to Malé at night, so we decided to spend the night on a nearby hotel. The staff at Centara booked us the 6 am flight next day, so we arrived at the resort at 7 am...we were greeted by Sweety, who explained the ultimate all-inclusive package with great detail and answered all our questions about it, leaving no room for doubt!! After that, she gave us the key and personally escorted us to our Deluxe Water Villa (other guests had to wait until 2 pm, which is the "official" check-in time, but I don't know the reason why).
The room was nice and clean (the jacuzzi had a few rust marks, and one of the buttons didn't work, but it didn't affect the whole experience).
We were given a big red bag as a gift and also sparkling wine and a little fruit basket.
The house reef at Centara is truly amazing... The water is so clear, that we could see the fishes swimming from our villa and while walking through the beach.
Snorkelling was a fantastic experience... we saw a lot of colorful fishes, both big and small (including a variety of parrot fishes with beautiful colors!) all just by going down the stairs of our villa.
The food was very tasty, we tried all the venues and we specially loved the Thai food at Lotus restaurant (and the portions were really big!), the foood at Reef was fantastic too! We never got bored with the menu at Reef because they offer a lot of options (I was surprised to find bacon and pork in the menu, knowing that Maldives is an Islamic country!)
The trio that sings at Reef is nice and when the knew that I'm Mexican they quickly pulled out some mexican songs in perfect spanish!! Both waitress and hostess in all the restaurants are always kind and they always greet you with a smile. Azurri Mare is a nice restaurant too, although is difficult to get a reservation, so if you really want to eat there, make a reservation as as soon as posible.
We tried almost all the excursions, is really easy to book them at the front desk. We were lucky enough to spot a Whale Shark... It was one of the most beautiful experiences in my life!!
I want to thank all the guys at the Water Sports Centre, because they helped me and my husband a lot (and we enjoyed chatting with them as well) unfortunately I can't remember their names... but they were fantastic and really helpful!
The local island tour to is interesting and is a nice opportunity to buy souvenirs at good prices.
The Sunset cruise and the Snorkelling trips are very enjoyable and fun as well (and a good opportunity to see the beauty that Maldives has to offer)
The spa is heavenly! My husband and I enjoyed it a lot! The girls that work at the spa are nice and kind (they speak softly and that always gave me a calming sensation)... this definitely made our stay even more pleasant!! You gotta try the coffee scrub... it's very relaxing and it leaves your skin soft and fresh.
The Aqua bar and Coral bar have a nice atmosphere and with nice views to the Ocean. You cannot miss the fish feeding at Coral bar... it's fabulous to see stingrays and little blacktip reef sharks!, the crab race is also entertaining.
We went to the Sundowners cocktail and met the manager... he's (like all the staff in Centara) kind and polite.

Although overall experience was fantastic, I do believe that some things can improve:
For example, they should check the inside lock of the Water Villas... it is sharp and my husband cut his finger twice while trying to open the door.
And I believe it could be good to offer some beverages and snacks to the people waiting for the seaplane at check-out. We didn't wait too long and we had beverages and snacks of our own, but some others we're not that lucky... offering some cold beverage could make the wait way more comfortable.

Despite that, we definitely felt appreciated as costumers at Centara. All the staff (And I mean every single one, from room attendants to the personnel at the front desk) were always smilling, thoughtful and ready to help.

I would like to thank Swetty, Sathish (from the front desk), all the guys at the Water Sports Centre, Avon from Reef and Rana (sous-chef from Reef) and to everyone at Centara that made our stay simply unforgettable!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Sato1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    220
    53
    16
    12
See reviews for
407
592
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had a really wonderful holiday here in September for 2 weeks.

Being used to active holidays, I was concerned I might get bored or feel confined on such a small island. We were not bored once!

I admit on arrival we were a little worried by the 'group welcome' where ourselves and another couple were given details of the resort together by a member of staff in a very scripted way... This could just be me, but I would have preferred a more personal welcome at this type of resort so you can ask about things personal to your stay.

Arriving mid morning, we did ask for a room change as the area of beach behind our original room was being used for staff fire training and was a little noisy with lots of people coming and going. To the hotel's credit, this was partly because on news of the fire that had affected the resort, we asked to be away from the area being worked on. They have dealt with this difficult situation incredibly well and if we had not been informed prior to arrival, I honestly don't think we would have known anything had happened!

We did have a long wait for our new room to be ready, NOT the hotel fault, but because the previous guest refused to leave (they clearly liked it so much!). Dealt with very well by staff who gave us a room to shower, lunch and kept us informed.

From this point on it really was perfect!

The food is incredible, something very important to us!

There is an Italian style restaurant over the water with full table service where we ate frequently. Wonderful breads and incredible tuna and steak! The Thai restaurant is equally good but rarely very busy which is a real surprise! This works to a set menu of several small courses and was very authentic. I didn't think we would eat at the Buffet that often, but on arrival it was so good and the food of such high quality we went at least once daily. There is also a wonderful tepanyaki bar which must be booked at 9am on day of attendance. Staff are faultless and your really do not feel they are skimping on cost of food or ingredients at any stage.

There are lots of excursions on offer which are all to a high standard.again they are made by the staff who are wonderful - shown most notably on a boat trip where the sea became rough and virtually all 25 passengers were very ill with staff caring for everyone!

This is not somewhere to come if you want to take part in a lot of evening activities / make friends with other guests, most people eat early and spend evenings in their private balconies etc. this was perfect for us!

The spa was amazing, we booked all treatments on arrival. Staff incredible.

The wildlife on the island is amazing. We saw so many fish, rays etc when swimming. If you walk around island in late afternoon you can often see baby shark feeding in shallows (only about 2 foot long!) while we travelled we also had the experience of the phosphorescent glowing sea which was amazing. There are also several huge and very cute fruit bats that fly around the island. The downside to this is that there are some less welcome, but inevitable wildlife! We did see mice and large cockroaches in the villa, the staff were great at removing without making us feel like daft Brits on a desert island!

September was a great time for us to go, the staff said they were at full capacity but it never seemed busy. Weather pretty consistent blue sky's and sun!

Great holiday and very good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2012ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have given it 5 stars as we had a fabulous time, a few imperfections as is expected anywhere.
we booked through Angelfish who had been to the resort were excellent and competitive.
Positives- The staff in the hotel are great, nothing is too much trouble, mainly Maldivian. All very helpful.
Beach out of this world, white white sand.
Snorkeling impressive- turtles, sharks, lots of healthy coral abundance of fish, all from the shore. Equipment and life vests provided. Whale shark excursion bit choppy, lots of vomiting but amazing to swim with this massive fish!
Room- We had a 2 bed beachfront pool villa, very spacious for 2 adults 2 teenagers. 2 bedrooms & lounge & small upstairs loo. aircon excellent. good minibar, soft drinks & beer.
Gym nice views, better than I expected.
Food- good quality, slightly limited choice but on an island where all is imported not bad. My daughter nut allergic and very helpful staff, no problems. the Thai restaurant even recooked the entire set menu for her nut free!
Drinks- excellent choice and nice wine- sparking French white, Chilean sauv blanc, good NW reds , margaritas.
There was so much to do, I was expecting to lie around, no chance - excursions, snorkeling, gym, cocktails, fish feeding, pedalo, banana boat rides, spa. other families there too which was good. weather forecast looked grim but we had sun most of the time, some rain storms, quite hot & humid.
Negatives- main prob is booking dinner, only 2 al a carte choices- 1.Italian (queue to book at 11.30am, not quite what u want to do on holiday!) or 2.set meal Thai not sure could eat that more than once/ twice, al a carte choices would be good here. The buffet was excellent but again mainly Asian food.
The other main issue is the Sea Plane transfer- to took us 5 hours from landing at Male to get to the hotel. This was after demanding to see the Sea Plane manager as we were hanging around with no info re delays. Not ideal after a sleepless overnight flight. Centara need to sort this out quickly! maybe get their own plane service organised.
Overall a really amazing holiday though.

Room Tip: 2 bed beach front pool villa- they are numbered 1-8. 2-6 have best beach in front of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marieOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The hotel was great. Although there was only 2 of us - we had a family deluxe water front villa which was great. We were on holiday to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary and the hotel kindly gave us a bottle of champagne and fruit to mark our celebration.

Snorkels and masks are easy to obtain for free and lifejackets are included in the villa. The staff were great - they could not have been more helpful. We only tried 2 of the 3 restaurants - Reef is the buffet restaurant and overall the food was fine - there was plenty of choice so there was always something that was good to eat. We also liked the Italian/Seafood restaurant but the booking system - ie having to queue up at 12 noon each day to book your table - is not what I would expect for this class of hotel. However the food was really good. Our package inlcuded the daily spa treatments and we upgraded them a few times. Again as per previous reviews - guest should be really organised to book times for the week etc as soon as they arrive at the hotel. However, all the treatments and the staff were brilliant. We tried a couple of the organised trips that were included as part of our package - the 2 hour Snorkelling Tour which was ok but you do not swim too far if there are loads of guests on the trip. We also did the Whale Shark Trip which resulted in a boat trip of 1.5 hours and then ten minutes maximum of seeing the massive Whale Shark Trip with lots of other people in the ocean too and then you have 1.5 hours on the boat back to the hotel - but the Whale Shark is awesome. We also snorkelled at various points round the island - and the sealife and coral are amazing. We had rain on a couple of days towards the end of the week and spent time in the Coral Bar playing pool, table tennis, cards, watching the fish feeding at 6 pm and having some lovely cocktails. Afternoon tea is also served at the Coral Bar. The pool at the hotel is good to keep you cool. Towels are supplied at the pool. Wifi is good at the Coral Bar/Reef restaurant and at the hotel reception however we were never able to get WifI in our room which was disappointing as this was one of the key requirements why we booked the hotel however the hotel has been recovering from a fire in its admin block and think the Wifi challenges relate to this. We booked through Thomsons and there is no rep based on the island but we were given a phone number if the rep (Guy) was needed. We utilised the gym which has really good equipment in it and was not ever busy. Overall we had a really relaxing, enjoyable holiday. The majority of guests are Japanese/Chinese who have a huge focus on taking photos and wearing matching outfits which was interesting to experience.

The Maldives are amazing and would love to come back if we get the chance. The holiday was not cheap but the inclusion of food, drinks, seaplane, excursions and Spa was great. The staff made this holiday - -they do try to put the customer first at all times and try and think of things that will make the holiday easy and enjoyable for the customer - eg providing towels for the excursions so that customers do not have to take towels out of their rooms etc. This may be a small item but when you add up all the small items - it makes this a great customer experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scotswaehae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We were (un)fortunate to catch the 6am seaplane to Centara Grand. Having flown in2 Male almost midnight the night b4, we literally had no sleep, and no breakfast. Arrived at the resort before 7am & we had to wait for our room to be ready. Off we went to hunt for breakfast, which we had to pay as this was not included in our AIbpackage (supposedly only starts noon) At $18++ per pax, we were too hungry & tired to complain as only wanted to fill our stomach and check into our rooms... Which we did... After lunch! At 2pm! 7 hours wait for a room is way too ridiculous.

Checking out was another traumatic experience for us. Lunch was not included & the price for lunch is unreasonably high. Our seaplane which was suppose to depart at 2pm was faulty & had to wait till almost 5pm before we could board another. Had to wait again at the lobby. And after having paid so much for "lunch", the bartender at Aqua bar refused to serve us even one bloody cocktail, cause we have already "checked out" of the resort. Apparently we are only entitled for coffee (only hot ones. If u want ice. U gotta pay. Wtf!) or soft drinks.

The experiences above appalled my husband and I, as we were expecting an above average Maldivian/Thai service here. This has left a very sour note on the start & end of our honeymoon.

However the days in between were enjoyable. The food was good. The Reef has a wide selection with various daily themes and teppanyaki was awesome. Reservations required. Lotus (thai) restaurant serves tasty dishes. And Azzuri Mare Italian restaurant was incredible (also requires reservation) with plenty of dishes to choose from.

Daily spa treatment was heavenly. Pls book early to avoid disappointments. Whale shark excursion is worthwhile, if you get to see one which we did. Enough activities to keep you entertained. A great resort for family, we see the kids around the island really enjoying themselves. We stayed at the family water deluxe which was quiet & spacious. We loved our rooms very much.

On the downside, this resort felt like a mini China. Go figure. However, we noticed a differential in treatments given to the resort guests by some employees. This did not affect us directly but based on our observation, we felt all guest should be to treated equal. After all, every one of them are "paying" guest.

But let's not allow one bad apple (or two) to spoil the whole bunch. We would like to thank Ravi, Mode, Amir, (just to name a few) for serving us well and making our stay here enjoyable.

Although we had a memorable time here, but I guess our next Maldivian resort will be another one. Well, perhaps for the kid's sake, we may consider this resort again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AliciaCLPhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Nice place for vacation with family. The price is a little bit expensive, but all inclusive is a good idea, include spa, water sport and like that. You don't need think too much. We enjoyed one week at there.
There are three restaurants, I think the Italian is the best choise. The others were too hot and without any wind.
We have half time in sand room and half in water room. If you want more water sport, water room is better. But for normal, the sand is much more suitable.
非常好的家庭度假场所。一价全包真是一个好主意,而且包括了SPA,水上运动以及餐饮。可以放心享用酒店的各种服务。一个完美的假期。
岛上有3个餐厅,自助餐厅,泰餐厅与意大利餐厅。其中意大利餐厅需要预订,泰餐厅晚饭需要预订。意大利餐厅环境很好,餐饮不错。其它两个餐厅太热了。
如果喜欢水上运动,浮潜,水屋是不错的选择。但是如果为了舒服,还是沙滩屋比较好,水屋太热了。虽然我们去的是全年比较凉爽的季节。

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuangxinRong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

From being met at the airport to feeling very James Bond as we skirted across the water in the pitch black of night (our flight got in to late for a seaplane) everything from beginning to end was fantastic!

Deciding on the Maldives for our honeymoon all we wanted to do is relax and the all-inclusive package ensured that we didn't have to worry about a thing.
I don't think i've ever smiled so much in my life!

The water was amazing, the beach was combed every morning before we got up. The waitstaff were so friendly and happy and remembered who we were and what we liked with our breakfast and we could just swim in the pool or around the coral in the sea water all day. The fish were huge and friendly. Take them a tiny bit of bread and you'll have friends for like.

One of our favourite things was at dinner they feed the small reef sharks and we could sit by the edge of the water and watch these amazing creatures swim and feed.
Snorkelling and scuba diving or just enjoying the view was great. We will return as soon as we can. It truly makes you feel like you're a millionarie and treated like royality.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OutandaboutAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centara Grand Island
22.8 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,016 reviews
5.9 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
2,880 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Huvahandhoo Island
1,955 reviews
11.2 mi away
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
#1 of 1 in Rangali Island
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Property: Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Address: South Ari Atoll
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Centara Grand Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Centara Grand Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a stunning house reef that is a kaleidoscope of colour for snorkellers, and distinctive with its timbered walkways and colonial-style buildings, the five-star Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives is a barefoot paradise. With the Ultimate All-Inclusive concept, your stay is absolutely carefree meaning that all meals, spa treatments, activities and water sports, daily excursions, and even diving are all included. Weatherboard villas, thatched-roof buildings, a white-sand beach and sparkling lagoon are the setting for your honeymoon or fun-filled family holiday. Villas and beach suites are generously-sized (86-159 square metres); the over-water villas enjoy their own sundeck with steps down to the multihued coral reefs. Special villas for families have bunk beds in a children’s area, and you can also enjoy the option of an overwater villa with plunge pool. When it comes to dining, all your meals – and more – are included. Sumptuous champagne breakfasts are available at Reef Restaurant, lunches and dinners are to be enjoyed at the Azurri Mare Italian Restaurant, the Suan Bua Thai restaurant or Reef Restaurant. There are two bars on the island. Voted as Maldives’ most family-friendly resort two years in succession, the island has the ideal family itinerary: activities at the age-specific kids’ clubs, water activities like banana boat and tube rides, water sports, and pool games by thea children’s pool. Anyone in need of some deep relaxation can enjoy the daily spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, yoga sessions, or simply laze beachside. Beside water sports and one of the best PADI dive centres in the Maldives, the resort’s house reef and lagoon provide fascination for snorkellers, and just off the reef there is a dedicated shipwreck that offers easy diving and a close-up view of turtles and whale sharks, manta rays, and surgeonfish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Holiday Gems, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Destinology, Fastbooking, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Island Hotel Centara Grand Island
Centara Grand Island Resort And Spa
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing