We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing paradise!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Certificate of Excellence
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing paradise!!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

From start to beginning, every part of our (my wife and I) experience was simply bliss. Our wonderful experience started from receiving cold towels and iced tea when we arrived in the heat. We were quickly shown to our room where we had fresh orange juice waiting for us along with a wonderfully decorated bed. The restaurants are simply wonderful as they cater to any dining type you can crave. The buffet at the main restaurant was always a delight to wander into and the italian and thai restaurants were very amazing. The courteousness of the staff is most definitely one of the most attractive features of the resort. Always smiling and greeting and never shy to enter into conversations with any of the guests, they were so friendly and knowledgeable. The diving, snorkelling and sunset excursions were well timed and available whenever we needed it. We also had a romantic beach dinner under the starlight which was so well prepared that we did not feel like leaving. It has been two weeks since we arrived back to our residence and not a day goes by where we dont reminisce about Maldives and Centara. An amazing resort and an amazing experience. Would most definitely recommend it to anyone who might be thinking about a trip to Maldives! Great job Centara on making my honeymoon so perfect!!

Room Tip: If looking for a very private deluxe water villa, select either Villa number 89 or 90. They were at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Umar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    225
    54
    16
    13
See reviews for
418
603
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Everything of this resort is wonderful. All the staff is so helpful and kind. We stayed in a beach villa and that was perfect, big living room, big bathroom, very nice bath and shower outdoor and upstairs a big bedroom with toilet.
All 4 restaurants prepare very good meals (breakfast` lunch, high tea and dinner) with a great choice of good wines.
Excursions are including and very professional.
Wifi en snorkeling sets are for free during your stay.
Bars are very good and inclusive cocktails are tasteful.
We loved the Spa treatments, the staff is very professional.
Overall a place where we always dreamed of and our dream came out!!!

Room Tip: Not necessary everything is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank weenjoy2620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We arrived with two of our friends who were celebrating their 25th wedding anniversary early April to be greeted by Voytek the GM and all his heads of departments, a cold towel, and cocktail. A royal start to possibly the best holiday we have ever experienced. We stayed in the deluxe water villas 93 & 94 which were perfect for us as the sunrise woke us to a magical setting of a sea alive with all we had hoped for as we are keen snorkelers (Troy Tempest & Marina). Four kinds of shark,rays,eels,turtles,octopus you name it ,it swam at the bottom of our steps. The rooms were huge, light, clean & cool,with well equipped mini fridge, and a good turn down service twice a day. The Reef restaurant was great for breakfast,lunch and dinner a different theme each evening with plenty of choice ,plus great staff especially the young breakfast chef. Azzu mare restaurant was also great for table service and good seafood and steaks,but it was a pain to reserve a table, this is one of the only negative things I have to comment on, maybe review a new system for reservations. Lotus Thai, wow the best Thai food I have eaten outside of Thailand ,great setting and staff . We up graded to The club for a day to see if it was worth it. Was it? Well yes but we were as equally happy with the rest of the resort so we just had The anniversary dinner there which was outstanding. Whilst at the club we met new friends who added to our great holiday experience ,thanks! The coral bar is fine if you want to join in and have a good time with super service from all the staff, and the aqua bar for just chilling after a lazy day. The staff here were amazing ,look after them and you will be justly rewarded, a special thanks to Shimol and his brother,you both made our time there so special. Do the trips they are fun, night fishing is a good laugh ,we were so blessed to swim with the whale sharks 4 times wow! All this in week one, week two and two more friends arrive from the UK. The six of us chartered the deep sea fishing boat for the morning a fun morning at speed to the fishing grounds where I caught a 12 kg Wahoo! On the way back we saw dolphins and snorkelled with the mighty Manta another wow! The dive centre is great but I only did one dive on the house wreck which was great plenty of life down there. Behind the dive centre is the best entry and exit for snorkelling. The gym is also situated in this block which we all looked at every day! The spa is fantastic get your bookings in as soon as you arrive. On the day of departure we were again royally received from Voytek and his super team with fond farewells and goody bags for the ladies. This is where the other negative comes in we were so sad to leave,but there is always until the next time ,as we will be back. Thanks for the holiday of a life time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank trafalgarfleetwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Had such a good time the first time we came to this hotel we decided to rebook. This time we had a baby with us. Traveling with a baby can be tough especially if the hotel isn't well equipped for the little one. The centara however didn't let us down.
The staff were fantastic, always happy to help and nothing seemed trouble. The restaurants had decent high chairs, all with tables attached. The cot seemed comfortable. Easy to get around the island with a push chair. Kettle in the room for sterilizing water. Children's menus were offered even though he's only 7 months.
It was just a lovely experience. Beach villa with pool is a winner, water is kept at the perfect temperature.
Can't recommend this place enough.
The spa offers free treatments we booked before we arrived and that seemed a good idea as it was so busy. Unfortunately they don't do ANY treatments on pregnant women though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Just got back from centara where we stayed for our honeymoon! Was really great we stayed in a deluxe water villa (number 87) which is sunset facing which at least 10 of the luxury sunset water villas aren't! We had great access to the reef saw so many baby fish and sharks! We had access to island club and in our opinion as was stated previously by others this made our holiday and if we didn't have it it wouldn't have been half as good. A big shout out to Babita, Ravi, Kuramadi and Fazu who work in island club they really helped make our holiday. There was one member of staff who worked there who ignored us occasionally and was really slow but she didn't ruin it for us.

The trips were really good we did the sunset cruise (saw dolphins!) sunset fishing (caught a fish!) and the local island tour.

The food was great and being island club meant we could advance book for italian and the lotus thai. We ate at azzurri mare 4 times it was that good! Great staff there too. If you're not island club there was a queue from 12 daily. Reef restaurant was good with the rotating buffet options and we dined at island club a few times for the luxury!

Best snorkelling is off the back of the dive centre where there are some steps down, the fish feeding at coral was great and the spa treatments were fab. The flower scrub made my skin feel amazing. Book before you get there by email for the times you want!

Not many negatives aside from feeling you had to tip when they made you sign receipts that already had your room number on just to fish for tips. The worst one was when a guy cleaned the wooden steps of the villa with a scourer then showed us a bag of money then asked for money. But a call to reception informed them of his behaviour. The island club manager wasn't too bothered about talking to you unless you were happy to upgrade to the really expensive (in my opinion) seafood platter or dine on the beach dinner. Also our Sri lankan airlines flights left a lot to be desired (avoid if poss!) but the hospitality at the seaplane and at the island made us feel better! But none of these things hindered our great stay.

Lovely rooms, lovely beaches, lovely drinks and pool well worthy of a fantastic honeymoon.

Glad we left when we did as building work to enhance the reception and the aqua bar is being undertaken now for 2 months!

Thanks centara for a great time.

Room tip. Room 87 was really great for reef access isn't overlooked by anyone and has a fantastic sunset view. However the jacuzzi bath was unusable as so dirty even after a clean by maintenance but apparently a lot of them were like that!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank LauraP1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The most amazing place on Earth. I've been to Centara with my wife twice (one of the trips was our honeymoon) and we wept both times when we had to leave.

Fantastic service, amazing food and incredibly friendly and outgoing staff that will always go the extra mile to make sure your stay is excellent. Also, the all-inclusive package is really great with lots of varieties and not at all like the usual "partial-inclusive" that all-inclusive foten are.

Unbelievable snorkling opportunities right outside the bungalow and for those looking for that special adventure, whalesharks and manta rays can be found close by (30 min with boat). We had the amazing experience of swimming with a whaleshark on both our stays even though it was off season, much thanks to the great guides from Centara.

The Cenvare SPA is also superb and I would highly recommend making reservations for a massage on the first day of your stay to get into the right mood as soon as possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tobias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Our stay at Centara Grand was wonderful. We had an over water family villa and the kids just loved it (7 and 9 years old). Snorkeling, as it is at most resorts in Maldives, was unbelievable and very safe for the kids. The all inclusive package really allows you to focus on enjoying you vacation rather than worrying about where or what you are going to eat for dinner.

Despite an administrative error with our reservation they were quick to resolve it and made sure our room was ready ahead of typical check in time. Communication of booking was smooth and coordination with air transfer (sea plane) was handled completely by the resort with no problems.

Would definitely recommend this resort for travelers with children (any age) as they have plenty of activities to keep kids busy. As for food...we have stayed at resorts all over the world, some of which were all inclusive and this resort had some of the best food of the all inclusive resorts we have stayed at. If the kids do not like what is being served, they would easily accommodate by preparing a separate meal specifically for the kids.

Room Tip: Family villas over water were great and located in a great spot on the island! The beach villas we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centara Grand Island
5.9 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
22.8 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,069 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
2,999 reviews
11.2 mi away
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
#1 of 1 in Rangali Island
2,167 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Huvahandhoo Island
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Property: Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Address: South Ari Atoll
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Centara Grand Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Centara Grand Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a stunning house reef that is a kaleidoscope of colour for snorkellers, and distinctive with its timbered walkways and colonial-style buildings, the five-star Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives is a barefoot paradise. With the Ultimate All-Inclusive concept, your stay is absolutely carefree meaning that all meals, spa treatments, activities and water sports, daily excursions, and even diving are all included. Weatherboard villas, thatched-roof buildings, a white-sand beach and sparkling lagoon are the setting for your honeymoon or fun-filled family holiday. Villas and beach suites are generously-sized (86-159 square metres); the over-water villas enjoy their own sundeck with steps down to the multihued coral reefs. Special villas for families have bunk beds in a children’s area, and you can also enjoy the option of an overwater villa with plunge pool. When it comes to dining, all your meals – and more – are included. Sumptuous champagne breakfasts are available at Reef Restaurant, lunches and dinners are to be enjoyed at the Azurri Mare Italian Restaurant, the Suan Bua Thai restaurant or Reef Restaurant. There are two bars on the island. Voted as Maldives’ most family-friendly resort two years in succession, the island has the ideal family itinerary: activities at the age-specific kids’ clubs, water activities like banana boat and tube rides, water sports, and pool games by thea children’s pool. Anyone in need of some deep relaxation can enjoy the daily spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, yoga sessions, or simply laze beachside. Beside water sports and one of the best PADI dive centres in the Maldives, the resort’s house reef and lagoon provide fascination for snorkellers, and just off the reef there is a dedicated shipwreck that offers easy diving and a close-up view of turtles and whale sharks, manta rays, and surgeonfish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Island Hotel Centara Grand Island
Centara Grand Island Resort And Spa
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing