We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four dream holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

In February 2014, we have already spent our fourth holiday on this beautiful island, which is just like in the magazines: crystal clear water, palm trees, and impeccably clean white sand beach. Every time we lived in our overwater bungalow for two weeks, with direct access to the crystal clear water with thousands of colourful fish directly in front of your eyes. But Centara Grand is not only about nature, it’s also a real 5-star environment: all three restaurants provide delicious food (our favourite is the Thai restaurant) where we enjoyed the great food every day. Not to forget a nice aperitif in the Aqua bar, plus a cocktail after dinner in the Coral bar, where we love to listen to the waves of the Indian ocean.

None of us two was ever a great fan of spas, but since the all-inclusive offer includes 1/2 hour massage (or other beauty treatment of your choice) every day, we tried it and we loved it. Nothing better after an ‘exhausting’ day in the sun and snorkelling around the island.

But the cherry on the cake is the personnel. Everybody (and we mean everybody) is consistently nice, pleasant, eager to serve us, talkative, and really trying to make our stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. And this is true from the top management to the room cleaner who come twice a day to keep our rooms impeccably clean.

No doubt - we will come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rolf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 419 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just returned from a magical 2 week holiday on this beautiful Island. We stayed at the Island April 5th for 2 weeks - Easter break in the UK. We are a family of 5 (3 kids aged 12, 9 and 7). This was our 5th visit to the Maldives. Slight delay on the seaplane (as often the case), but you soon forget this when you arrive at the Island. Staff greeted us with cool towels and cocktails and talked us through the ultimate all inclusive package which included a sunset cruise, whale sharking trip, sea fishing trip, banana boat ride and a 30 minute spa treatment every day ( my back, shoulders and feet have never felt so good), as well as breakfast, lunch, afternoon teas(never managed to eat anything having enjoyed lunch too much!), and evening meal in 1 of the 3 restaurants, oh and obviously all drinks! (cocktails were great) We stayed in a 2 bedroom pool villa. The pooI was great, and was large enough to all swim in (night or day!) The villa was spacious, well decorated and clean. The kids separate bedroom downstairs was a twin, and the adults had the open mezzanine bedroom (a slight downside is the lack of adult privacy and perhaps could be enclosed fully?). The mini bar was included, and stocked daily and there was ample supply of fresh bottled water. The villa had a beautiful white sandy beach which we shared with only 7 other villas. We watched endlessly as the heron/baby sharks fed on a shoal of small fish. The service we received from every single member of staff was fantastic - courteous, prompt and always given with a smile, nothing was too much trouble. Myself and 2 of the kids played organised football or volleyball on the beach each afternoon with other guests/staff/a few dads, and the entertainment team were great - not too keen, but there to help and organise for those wanting to join in. The snorkeling at the house reef was fantastic. An abundance of fish, small reef sharks, rays, and for the first time in my Maldives trips, Octopus. The best snorkeling experience though was swimming with the turtles around the reef - I spent 30 mins along side one on a couple of separate occasions. The food at the restaurants was very good quality - particularly the Azzuri Mare. The reef restaurant had some great dishes, and the chefs were always making something special. The main Coral bar had the kids play/ezone, upstairs away from the adults, so they could go off and make new friends, leaving the adults to chat by the bar. It occasionally got lively on a small sand dance floor - even managed to persuade the DJ to download our favorite song on evening! The Aqua bar was great for sunsets/chilled out drinks before dinner. We used the waterports almost daily - Kayaks, paddle boarding, boats. We could have stayed longer than 2 weeks, the kids were always busy, and my wife and I were truly relaxed. I've never been to the same Island twice, but I must admit, we are tempted for next year. There are plans to increase the facilities on the Island, but please be careful - its already quite densely developed, and you don't want to ruin paradise.

Room Tip: the 2 bed pool villas overlook a wonderful quiet beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My son and husband had organised this surprise trip for my 60th birthday....and what a surprise!!! We arrived by seaplane and boat at this beautiful island and were greeted immediately with champagne and cold towels. Checking in was quick and we were then driven along sandy, leafy pathways in a buggy to our beautifully located villa. Our own private pool and sitting area as well as an outside tropical bath and shower made this villa very special. Our bed was decorated with petals and words of welcome....everything was spotlessly clean and amenities were very good. The staff could not have been more friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We had with us, our 7 month old grandson, who very quickly became a minor celebrity on the island and there were calls of 'baby Leo!' wherever we went. Staff were keen to look after him and show him off to all the other guests which made our holiday very relaxing!!! The food in the three restaurants was varied and good. The Thai restaurant was beautiful and the chef came out to greet guests and check that they had enjoyed her food. The Italian restaurant was the location of my actual birthday celebration and my husband had booked a table overlooking the water and we had an amazing seafood selection of food with champagne and a personalised birthday cake which all the staff brought out and then sang happy birthday!!!!!
The overall experience was wonderful.....the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly, all the guests were either on honeymoon or couples.......we all holidayed in perfect harmony.
As has been mentioned in other reviews of this location, there is building work going on...there was a fire last year and it destroyed some staff living quarters, however, this is all screened off and you are not really aware of any intrusion into the peace. As one other reviewer mentioned, there really is NO NEED for any form of footwear other than flip flops! The pathways are all sandy and the floors in the restaurant and bar areas are either wood or sand so, heels are a definite no no!
The resort is without doubt, one of the best places I have ever been to. I cannot recommend it highly enough and although a little tired in parts, (Refurbishment is going on) this only added to its charm....it is indeed a little bit of paradise!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

From start to beginning, every part of our (my wife and I) experience was simply bliss. Our wonderful experience started from receiving cold towels and iced tea when we arrived in the heat. We were quickly shown to our room where we had fresh orange juice waiting for us along with a wonderfully decorated bed. The restaurants are simply wonderful as they cater to any dining type you can crave. The buffet at the main restaurant was always a delight to wander into and the italian and thai restaurants were very amazing. The courteousness of the staff is most definitely one of the most attractive features of the resort. Always smiling and greeting and never shy to enter into conversations with any of the guests, they were so friendly and knowledgeable. The diving, snorkelling and sunset excursions were well timed and available whenever we needed it. We also had a romantic beach dinner under the starlight which was so well prepared that we did not feel like leaving. It has been two weeks since we arrived back to our residence and not a day goes by where we dont reminisce about Maldives and Centara. An amazing resort and an amazing experience. Would most definitely recommend it to anyone who might be thinking about a trip to Maldives! Great job Centara on making my honeymoon so perfect!!

Room Tip: If looking for a very private deluxe water villa, select either Villa number 89 or 90. They were at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Umar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Everything of this resort is wonderful. All the staff is so helpful and kind. We stayed in a beach villa and that was perfect, big living room, big bathroom, very nice bath and shower outdoor and upstairs a big bedroom with toilet.
All 4 restaurants prepare very good meals (breakfast` lunch, high tea and dinner) with a great choice of good wines.
Excursions are including and very professional.
Wifi en snorkeling sets are for free during your stay.
Bars are very good and inclusive cocktails are tasteful.
We loved the Spa treatments, the staff is very professional.
Overall a place where we always dreamed of and our dream came out!!!

Room Tip: Not necessary everything is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank weenjoy2620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We arrived with two of our friends who were celebrating their 25th wedding anniversary early April to be greeted by Voytek the GM and all his heads of departments, a cold towel, and cocktail. A royal start to possibly the best holiday we have ever experienced. We stayed in the deluxe water villas 93 & 94 which were perfect for us as the sunrise woke us to a magical setting of a sea alive with all we had hoped for as we are keen snorkelers (Troy Tempest & Marina). Four kinds of shark,rays,eels,turtles,octopus you name it ,it swam at the bottom of our steps. The rooms were huge, light, clean & cool,with well equipped mini fridge, and a good turn down service twice a day. The Reef restaurant was great for breakfast,lunch and dinner a different theme each evening with plenty of choice ,plus great staff especially the young breakfast chef. Azzu mare restaurant was also great for table service and good seafood and steaks,but it was a pain to reserve a table, this is one of the only negative things I have to comment on, maybe review a new system for reservations. Lotus Thai, wow the best Thai food I have eaten outside of Thailand ,great setting and staff . We up graded to The club for a day to see if it was worth it. Was it? Well yes but we were as equally happy with the rest of the resort so we just had The anniversary dinner there which was outstanding. Whilst at the club we met new friends who added to our great holiday experience ,thanks! The coral bar is fine if you want to join in and have a good time with super service from all the staff, and the aqua bar for just chilling after a lazy day. The staff here were amazing ,look after them and you will be justly rewarded, a special thanks to Shimol and his brother,you both made our time there so special. Do the trips they are fun, night fishing is a good laugh ,we were so blessed to swim with the whale sharks 4 times wow! All this in week one, week two and two more friends arrive from the UK. The six of us chartered the deep sea fishing boat for the morning a fun morning at speed to the fishing grounds where I caught a 12 kg Wahoo! On the way back we saw dolphins and snorkelled with the mighty Manta another wow! The dive centre is great but I only did one dive on the house wreck which was great plenty of life down there. Behind the dive centre is the best entry and exit for snorkelling. The gym is also situated in this block which we all looked at every day! The spa is fantastic get your bookings in as soon as you arrive. On the day of departure we were again royally received from Voytek and his super team with fond farewells and goody bags for the ladies. This is where the other negative comes in we were so sad to leave,but there is always until the next time ,as we will be back. Thanks for the holiday of a life time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank trafalgarfleetwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Had such a good time the first time we came to this hotel we decided to rebook. This time we had a baby with us. Traveling with a baby can be tough especially if the hotel isn't well equipped for the little one. The centara however didn't let us down.
The staff were fantastic, always happy to help and nothing seemed trouble. The restaurants had decent high chairs, all with tables attached. The cot seemed comfortable. Easy to get around the island with a push chair. Kettle in the room for sterilizing water. Children's menus were offered even though he's only 7 months.
It was just a lovely experience. Beach villa with pool is a winner, water is kept at the perfect temperature.
Can't recommend this place enough.
The spa offers free treatments we booked before we arrived and that seemed a good idea as it was so busy. Unfortunately they don't do ANY treatments on pregnant women though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centara Grand Island
5.9 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
22.8 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,146 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
3,206 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Huvahandhoo Island
2,088 reviews
11.2 mi away
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
#1 of 1 in Rangali Island
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Address: South Ari Atoll
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Centara Grand Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Centara Grand Island
Price Range: £551 - £1,226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a stunning house reef that is a kaleidoscope of colour for snorkellers, and distinctive with its timbered walkways and colonial-style buildings, the five-star Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives is a barefoot paradise. With the Ultimate All-Inclusive concept, your stay is absolutely carefree meaning that all meals, spa treatments, activities and water sports, daily excursions, and even diving are all included. Weatherboard villas, thatched-roof buildings, a white-sand beach and sparkling lagoon are the setting for your honeymoon or fun-filled family holiday. Villas and beach suites are generously-sized (86-159 square metres); the over-water villas enjoy their own sundeck with steps down to the multihued coral reefs. Special villas for families have bunk beds in a children’s area, and you can also enjoy the option of an overwater villa with plunge pool. When it comes to dining, all your meals – and more – are included. Sumptuous champagne breakfasts are available at Reef Restaurant, lunches and dinners are to be enjoyed at the Azurri Mare Italian Restaurant, the Suan Bua Thai restaurant or Reef Restaurant. There are two bars on the island. Voted as Maldives’ most family-friendly resort two years in succession, the island has the ideal family itinerary: activities at the age-specific kids’ clubs, water activities like banana boat and tube rides, water sports, and pool games by thea children’s pool. Anyone in need of some deep relaxation can enjoy the daily spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, yoga sessions, or simply laze beachside. Beside water sports and one of the best PADI dive centres in the Maldives, the resort’s house reef and lagoon provide fascination for snorkellers, and just off the reef there is a dedicated shipwreck that offers easy diving and a close-up view of turtles and whale sharks, manta rays, and surgeonfish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Agoda, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Island Hotel Centara Grand Island
Centara Grand Island Resort And Spa
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing