We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet beach resort out of town”
Review of Summer Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Summer Beach Lodge
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quiet beach resort out of town”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had good few days during this years trip at Papayas: staff is relaxed, friendly and helped when needed.
Room was okey: music is played in bar quite loud during some nights but they did stop around midnight or so.

We where kinda suprised about how low keeped the beach was; it was full of junk and this beach was nothing like any other we´ve seen in southeast asia; is it becaouse of oil business or what, don´t know but felt kinda sad.

Town is easily attainable wih taxi (just remeber to fix price when getting in!!).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mehilainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    17
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The room is small but nice and comfortable. There is no tv in the room but we are there to explore the town, so its not a problem at all. If you are staying here, please wake up as early as 5 am to catch the morning sunrise. the view is breathtaking! If you are lucky, you get to see fishermen in their sampans. The owner is friendly and very helpful. At night you can mingle with the locals at the cafe. Learned about their experiences and stories. something that you will not get if you are staying at 5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayyahenrietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perak
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Had a good time with my elderly parents. Place is clean, quiet and affordable. Simple breakfast n even catered vegetarian diet for my mum. Quite nice for a lodge. Beach is soo.... near :-) and clean... really clear waters... Managed to catch a few fishermen's coming back, they had a whole haul of bluecrabs..They were friendly enough to show me their catch and kinda let me handle the crabs...
Room accommodated 3 ppl well, Clean and hot shower was perfect, had a writing desk and simple amenities. No TV, its a lodge..
So, overall, worth it.. Definitely will recommend :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hema N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

An average out town hotel. Book here thru phone. The the 3 beds room , small without television. The beach is nice especially during sunrise and sunset. The only thing i not satisfy is the smelly hotel. Complain at counter but only provide us the air refresher. However, the water pressure for shower is great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We enjoy our stay here with delicious BBQ with friends! Rooms are basic but clean with Wifi. The sea breeze just breath taking. I prefer staying here rather than other star rating hotels around. Keep maintaining your place! Will recommend to my friends definitely. P/s: sorry ejam for this late review :p

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KittyNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

If you are looking for a quiet place to chill and relax, away from the city just for that one weekend, Papayas is the place to be! Basic clean rooms with decent private bathrooms, friendly staff and management, their grill burgers on Sundays is a must have! Secluded - ideal for those wanted privacy. Morning and sunset views is equally beautiful. Papayas has always been me and my friends' first choice to Labuan. You gotta come to experience yourself. Seeing is believing! (Will be going to Papayas again this September!)

Room Tip: All rooms are near to the beach. Unless you wanted to just run out and dive to the sea, request for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngeL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Enjoyed a very relaxing stay at Papayas. Rooms basic, but clean and comfortable. Staff extremely friendly and helpful, providing a personal service and making us feel very welcome and well looked after. The setting is really beautiful - right on a secluded section of the coastline. The restaurant is also on the beach, providing a great view for dinner and breakfast. Papayas also has good Wifi available in your room. A fantastic budget alternative to the big Labuan resorts - well worth considering whatever your budget - highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labuan Town
2.7 mi away
Dorsett Grand Labuan
Dorsett Grand Labuan
#1 of 10 in Labuan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tiara Labuan Hotel
Tiara Labuan Hotel
#3 of 10 in Labuan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
2.8 mi away
Billion Waterfront
Billion Waterfront
#5 of 10 in Labuan Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
KL Hotel
KL Hotel
#2 of 2 in Labuan Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Aifa Labuan
Hotel Aifa Labuan
#1 of 2 in Labuan Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
5.1 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Labuan Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Beach Lodge

Property: Summer Beach Lodge
Address: Jalan Kerupang 1 | Kg. Nagalang, Labuan Town, Labuan Island 87000, Malaysia (Formerly Papayas Beach Lodge)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Labuan Island > Labuan Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Labuan Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Summer Beach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A budget beach-side accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Summer Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Beach Lodge Labuan Island/Labuan Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing