We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confirmation of the best spot to stay in Sri Lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Living Heritage Koslanda
Ranked #1 of 3 Koslanda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Two years since our last trip to Sri Lanka, my husband and I returned to Living Heritage Koslanda. We loved staying in this unique and glamorous hotel. The huge and luxurious accommodations reflecting historical luxury, delicious food, both Sri Lankan and Mediterranean, the infinity pool over rice fields in Nualla village, the walks in the forest along the river and water falls to our favorite jungle swimming hole, the charming and relaxing atmosphere, the service, what else can I say? I had an amusing class on how to tie a sarong the proper way a Sri Lankan woman does, and was taken to a very lovely and simple ceremony at the local temple on the property, in honor of Pattini, the goddess of the forest. An enchanting stay!
C. Maia
Madrid, Spain

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MCMaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

This resort is in a wonderfully scenic part of Sri Lanka, so from the terrace Lipton's Seat is visible in the hills above and there are several views down to the valley below, not least from the swimming pool. It is approached from the winding A4 with pleasing views and exotic trees along the road and several waterfalls.The resort itself boasts its own large area of forest, growing several forest products including coffee, and the scent of the blooming coffee wafted to us as we walked or sat relaxing on our terrace. Best of all a river runs through it with cascades and an impressive waterfall with a natural pool below it. The accommodation is charming, taking Sri Lankan tradition as its basis and using the highest quality natural materials and craftsmanship. Each room, or more accurately suite, opens onto its own part of the comfortably furnished terrace with a view, behind it lies a private courtyard living area with a central atrium open to the sky, and behind that a sizeable and well-appointed bedroom with luxurious bathroom off it. Behind the bedroom is a further open patio with Jacuzzi, and we observed birds and monkeys in the trees from there. The furnishings and décor items are all local antiques or well made reproductions in character with the buildings, but every modern comfort is provided. Since there are no mosquito screens or windows, but rather stable doors and shutters, we had expected to be troubled by insects at night, but by closing up before turning on the lights in the evening we avoided any problem. In fact we slept exceptionally well due to the blackout provided by the shutters. The staff were most welcoming and helpful and made us feel that nothing was too much trouble. The food was good without being in any way special. There are many things to see and do in the area but we chose to simply relax and recuperate in this haven of green tranquility.

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We were hunting for a place to stay in the tea country, but the places were so expensive ( not that this wasn't) but this place seemed to "fit the bill." The staff is excellent. We were met with jasmine flowers, a drink and a cold towel. Prior to arrival though we had a bit of a mix up with the hotel relative to our reservations. We booked through Agoda. Our driver rang the hotel ahead of time to indicate that we were coming. They only had one couple's reservation, not the others. Phone calls went back and forth until our reservations were found. This was a bit distressing. Now, onto the room. It is large but you can't leave the doors open or you will be eaten by mosquitoes or other creatures may venture into your room. Which, is too bad because the entrance foyer which has couches etc is GORGEOUS. Some of the things in the room need repairing such as the faucets on the sinks were sideways and loose. There were no luggage racks and when you are old it's tough bending on the floor to retrieve items out of your luggage. :) But most hotels in Sri Lanka did not have this feature. Internet only worked in the manager's office. Breakfast food was "ok." Do take advantage of their Indian lunch as it was excellent. We ordered Indian curries for dinner. They were excellent as well. Visiting the enchanted forest is worth it. Relative to room tips book the suite . There is one less expensive room but you have to be short to live in it as we stooped through door ways. All in all, I would recommend this place in terms of value for money over the top priced hotels in the hill country.

Room Tip: Book the suite over the cheaper room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ldtc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The original Hotel we had selected was closed for renovations so our travel agent suggested Living Heritage Koslanda as an alternative as she said she had good reviews about it.
Well what a wonderful surprise when we got there...

We arrived in the dark as the train from Kandy had been late. We were greeted by pretty much all the staff on arrival and with the various buildings under light it looked picture perfect and dare I say it as male - romantic.
Ramlan (forgive me if I get the spelling of names wrong) the Manager greeted us and after a welcome drink we were shown to our room. Boy! what a delight. Am not sure if it was traditional in its design as it seemed like a combination of Sri Lankan and Japanese design but it was wonderful.
Basically it was 2 large separate rooms, one was your sitting area (the Japanese-y part - see pics) with comfy sofa's / day beds / writing desk / fridge / tea and coffee facilities and a music system with an iPod dock. Then up a few steps into a room of similar size and there was our huge bed and a very spacious bathroom with a shower so big you had an actual bench in it... Was great. No air con but it did not seem to matter as we had the ceiling fan on all the time and it was very comfortable. We opened the rustic windows up during the day and at night closed them all and slept like babies.

The following morning when we awoke we were 'shocked' with the beauty of the grounds of the Hotel, the jungle / forrest setting and how picturesque the entire place was. A delightful area to sit and relax with cushions and wi-fi (reception was a little dodgy from time to time but given our jungle location it was not unexpected and nothing to complain about), the open dining area adjacent to the sitting area and there was a lovely big infinity pool a short walk up the hill (which overlooked the valley below) and a lovely grassed area where there was even a baby calf walking around munching on the lawn.

The staff could not have been nicer, along with Ramlan there were Kalum (head chef) Shalutha and Ajuntha and a few others whose name I don't remember partly because I couldn't get my
tongue around the words!

Kalum was a stand out for us though - on our first day he pointed us in the direction of a secluded waterfall and natural swimming pool. A fun walk and the swim was sensational, in fact memorable. He was always available, had a great command of English and was always happy to explain the meals we ate to us. Always spectacularly delicious, wonderfully presented and a varied mix of Sri Lankan and Western cuisine. Truly a master at what he does.

Would we stay at this property again? Most definitely yes. It was enchanting and without a doubt a complete break with the noise, hustle and bustle of the cities due to its remoteness. Truly relaxing along with staff the calibre of which we experienced, a magical destination.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end which gave us a private 'sit-out' in which to have tea at the end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Merhababob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This property only has 4 rooms, so it is certainly very private and personal. As other reviewers noted there is no a/c in the rooms, which is ok from a temperature standpoint, however it means all the windows are somewhat open so expect LOTS of critters in your rooms. At one point we were chasing a huge moth and then saw a large lizard on a ceiling and a moment later a big spider dropped down on to me. There are mosquitos as well. The rooms are nicely decorated in rustic fashion however the water pressure in the shower is a joke. Wifi is just at the area around the restaurant. Unless you really want NOTHING 2 do, 2 nights is the most you need here.

We didn't like how there was no dinner menu and you were told at the start it was a set meal, with no mention of what it would cost, and if you could order a la carte. Personally, I didn't like the bill I received at the end for the set that had a watery soup and dessert/coffee / tea that I normally wouldn't order. The breakfast fruit plate is delicious but otherwise there is just baguette and your choice of an egg with bacon/sausage. Food at dinner was great one night, the next night we were served an inedible plate of chicken bones. We barely touched these but the staff didn't ask if we disliked the food, etc. Lunch is "complimentary" sri lankan rice and curry which was nice.

One more issue is that they charge a credit card fee upon checkout. A hotel marketing itself as a very upscale property should not do this. We were in Sri Lanka for over 10 days and not once did another property charge a fee for paying with a credit card.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scorpio29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

What an enchanting 2 days, and we all wished we could stay longer! Wonderful care from the delightful staff, who were so competent with our complicated breakfasts, 4 adults and 2 children who sat together at a little baby table, and didn't stop eating! The views were superb, especially from the lovely infinity pool, and everywhere as pervaded with a sense of peace and tranquility.
Ramllan was a pefect manager, full of interesting information. The journey to and from Galle was quite quick, and mostly on good roads, with interesting changes of scenery. As we all live in Galle, we will definately look forward to a return stay. Slept like a log on the thickest, most comfortable mattresses, with all the windows open to hear the soothing sounds of crickets. A huge thank you to you all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We arrived after a long drive from Colombo airport, closer to 7 hours than the 5 we were told, but it was well worth the effort. Stunning location, infinity pool with spectacular views, huge rooms and great food. Staff were great and the manager ensured we were always taken care of. We had a very memorable few days and would highly recommend it to anyone considering staying at Koslanda.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flashley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koslanda
22.2 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,722 reviews
7.3 mi away
Melheim Resort
Melheim Resort
#1 of 1 in Beragala
563 reviews
10.1 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ella
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
10.6 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 12 in Ella
217 reviews
11.7 mi away
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
#1 of 5 in Bandarawela
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Living Heritage Koslanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living Heritage Koslanda

Address: Egodawatte Estate, Koslanda 90190, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Koslanda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Koslanda
Price Range: £131 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living Heritage Koslanda is a unique luxury boutique hotel located 5 hours North East from the island's capital, Colombo. Built in the heart of the hill country , this stylish 6 bed roomed retreat offers guests the utmost serenity in a naturally stunning location. Set on 80 acres of magical forest, known by locals as 'God's Forest', Koslanda is the ideal hideaway for those wanting to simply relax or for those who wish to connect with nature. It's excellent location is perfect for those who wish to explore the central highlands, tea country and as a gateway to the South and East. With a strong sustainable ethos, our guests can enjoy nature walks, a swim in our private waterfall, a stunning infinity pool, Sri Lanka cooking classes, visits to local tea estates and villages untouched by tourism. An ideal choice for a Sri Lanka honeymoon, or for those looking for a family friendly resort, where kids can roam and play safely and freely. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Living Heritage Koslanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing