We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot On Accommodation”
Review of Dunard Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunard Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Cambuslang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here as it looked quite handy for Hampden Park.

We were made to feel very welcome by Paul and he advised us to just make ourselves at home. We had a twin room which was very clean and just what we needed. We had a Scottish breakfast in the morning too which was spot on.

It's a good location for Hampden only 2 stops away on the train which is a 5 minute walk to Kirkhill station. There is also a pub 2 minutes from the guest house, the Kirkhill Bar where we were also made to feel very welcome

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Dunard Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

We needed a one night stop to see a gig at Hampden Park stadium and Dunard Guest House was ideally located. We were greeted s we pulled up - parking is at the front of the house so no problems there, and I imagine you can park on the street outside too. The manager explained everything we could've needed to know, including directions to the train station so that we could get to the gig and back. Very helpful, thank you.

Our room was clean and comfortable, and the bathroom was spotless. Had a very nice shower which always leaves me with a happy glow. Continental breakfast was complimentary and basic so I guess that would mean paying extra for cooked, which we didn't. The breakfast room is a little on the small side so can't really accommodate everybody when the guest house is fully booked.

All in all we had a good stay and would visit again if we needed a similar bolthole in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedRoamerette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed in the Dunard Guest House when visiting Glasgow for the recent Stone Roses concert at Glasgow Green. Very reasonably priced. Nice room and facilities and the manager Paul couldn't do enough for us. My brother and I would both use again when next visiting Scotland. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyman030173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Lets be honest is the easy thing in the world to find faults with anything this is not the Hilton Hotel it served our needs at a reasonable cost. Would certainly use again on our next visit to Cambuslang.
Thank You.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1935-1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Booked for 2 nights, only stayed one. Couldnt get an answer when we tried the door bell, came back an hour later and tried again. 5 minutes later someone appeared. Wasnt answered as they were out in the back garden smoking. He didnt have any idea if our room was ready. Had to go and check. No mention of breakfast times. Kettle had to be put on the floor to boil, no table for the tea tray so it was on top of a fridge, which apparently made an appalling noise at night so should be kept off. Room was clean enough. Went to sleep at 9 since we had to be early as we were at my sisters funeral the next morning. Got woken up at 20 to 1 in the morning by raised voices downstairs. I went down to complain and the "manager" and girlfriend were drinking with another man who was shouting instead of talking. Very considerate! went to make a cup of tea in the morning, the UHT long life milk had an expiry date of November last year so goodness knows how long it had been on the tray. Revolting. Went to hand the keys back in the morning and the "manageress" was lying out on the couch sleeping. Absolutely disgusting. You have been warned. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

B & B run by a resident, and although a nice lady, not a typical landlady. Shower button needed to be pushed in to work, worrying, double bed had waterproof mattress protector, yes the awful one that crinkles when you move! Although Wifi, signal very weak. Unlikely to use again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yaw0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed there for two nights during the 2012 WPBA Championships in August. The room was fine and clean and the manageress, Sharon, was very helpful. The guest house is about fifteen minutes walk from Cambuslang station which is three stops from Glasgow Central. Cost for a return on a Saturday for two people was £4 to Bridgeton. Breakfast was cooked on most days except Sunday when it is continental. Both kinds there is plenty (too much for me). I would use again. For eating out, the Cinnamon Indian Restuarant next to the station is best. It is about 10% more expensive, but the staff are nice and they specialise in not using additives.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonnona1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dunard Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunard Guest House

Address: 35 Howieshill Road, Cambuslang G72 8PW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Cambuslang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cambuslang
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing