We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great b&b” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunard Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunard Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Cambuslang B&B and Inns
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great b&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stopped here with work colleague 4 nights our hosts Paul and Kaaaat (cat) were very friendly showed us around even offered to carry our belongings to our rooms.
we both felt right at home.
every time we returned from 12hrs at work he greeted us at the door asking if he could help with anything he even allowed us to use his kitchen to cook our meals.
our first night he came with us to the local chipshop rather than give us directions ( sorry for the england shirt lol
room was clean and comfortable
All in the best b&b we have stayed in keep up the good work paul your a legend
chris & andy

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    7
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
6
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portree, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

To be honest it's easy to be pernickerty! If you expect hotel standards I would suggest you should go and stay in a hotel!
If you are easy going and like a place and host with personality, then this is the place for you! Paul is lovely and so helpful! The rooms are comfy and clean. The views are totally amazing, especially at night! The breakfast is good and filling (unless you're a whale!). And I suspect the full Scottish Breakfast is over-whelming! I would recommend this guest House very highly, although I think that charging extra for the cooked breakfast is a bit much!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are fine, but turn down the radiator! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle of Lochalsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Generally a good B&B. It is at the top of a hill off the main road, and if you are on foot, it is a bit of a trek. Some fairly basic things were missing like a face flannel and a floor mat for the shower room. I sent an E-mail regarding transport to the B&B and got no reply, and had to 'phone to get the information. There seemed to be a bit of misunderstanding as to my requirements, but it worked out OK on the day. The TV in the room was very limited, but there was a guest lounge with a much better TV. The continental breakfast included in the B&B rate was limited, and was basically cereal, fruit juice, fruit, and toast. There were no croissants, ham, cheese etc offered, as one would expect on the Continent for breakfast. A full cooked breakfast is offered, but at an extra charge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were looking for something between Glasgow and Edinburgh and this place fit the bill. Our host, Paul, was a bit of a character but to us that was a plus. We enjoy the type of place where we can chat to the others in the breakfast room and joke around with the host. The room was clean, a good size and had a great view. We were able to leave the car and walk to the station to take the train to Edinburgh, though it was about a 15 minute walk and uphill when we were coming back, which was the only downside. Paul was very accommodating with anything we asked for/about. We'd certainly have no problem recommending this place to others and would love to stay there again if we can make another trip that way.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanandHollyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here as it looked quite handy for Hampden Park.

We were made to feel very welcome by Paul and he advised us to just make ourselves at home. We had a twin room which was very clean and just what we needed. We had a Scottish breakfast in the morning too which was spot on.

It's a good location for Hampden only 2 stops away on the train which is a 5 minute walk to Kirkhill station. There is also a pub 2 minutes from the guest house, the Kirkhill Bar where we were also made to feel very welcome

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We needed a one night stop to see a gig at Hampden Park stadium and Dunard Guest House was ideally located. We were greeted s we pulled up - parking is at the front of the house so no problems there, and I imagine you can park on the street outside too. The manager explained everything we could've needed to know, including directions to the train station so that we could get to the gig and back. Very helpful, thank you.

Our room was clean and comfortable, and the bathroom was spotless. Had a very nice shower which always leaves me with a happy glow. Continental breakfast was complimentary and basic so I guess that would mean paying extra for cooked, which we didn't. The breakfast room is a little on the small side so can't really accommodate everybody when the guest house is fully booked.

All in all we had a good stay and would visit again if we needed a similar bolthole in Glasgow.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedRoamerette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed in the Dunard Guest House when visiting Glasgow for the recent Stone Roses concert at Glasgow Green. Very reasonably priced. Nice room and facilities and the manager Paul couldn't do enough for us. My brother and I would both use again when next visiting Scotland. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familyman030173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambuslang
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Burnside Hotel
Burnside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rutherglen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunard Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunard Guest House

Property: Dunard Guest House
Address: 35 Howieshill Road, Cambuslang G72 8PW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Cambuslang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cambuslang
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing