We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay Windmill Suffolk”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pod- 4th floor living area Sleeping- Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
The Pod- 4th floor living area
Sleeping- Bedroom 1
Sleeping- Bedroom 1
Sleeping Bedroom 1
Bathing at The Windmill Suffolk
Bathing at The Windmill Suffolk
Bathing at The Windmill Suffolk
Bathing at The Windmill Suffolk
Sleeping- Bedroom 2
Luxury at The Windmill Suffolk
Sleeping- Bedroom 2
Sleeping- Bedroom 2
The Pod at nightime
Lounging in comfort at The Windmill Suffolk
The View from The Windmill Suffolk
Treats at The Windmill Suffolk
The Balcony of The Windmill Suffolk
The Balcony with a view at The Windmill Suffolk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Windmill -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cockfield, Babergh District, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
allnugent
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay Windmill Suffolk”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Windmill for our Wedding Anniversary. It was a unquie and wonderful stay. The sophisticated decor and all the attention to detail were top class.

The stunning views and elegant furnishings are superb. Such a relaxing and special experience. We hope to return very soon as it was fantastic. It certainly has the Wow factor.

Breakfast was all local products, which we enjoyed in the private garden. We also had a lovely dinner in the picturesque Village of Lavenham. I didn't want to leave this gorgeous Windmill. Thank you for making it so special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2017
Thankyou for your kind words and lovely review Claire. We are so pleased your enjoyed your time with us and that you got to see historic Lavenham while you were here-albeit briefly! You will have to come to stay again to see it during the day too! Happy anniversary and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Steve & Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rfarren88
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“WOW, pictures don't do it justice!!!!”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just the perfect weekend away, from the stunning views on the drive in to one of the best night sleeps I've ever had on the comfiest king sized bed, I wouldn't change anything about our stay.

The attention to detail really sets this place apart, underfloor heating, thick soft carpets, shower room that has a little window for you to experience the views once more, a telescope to stargaze at night, sky sports and blankets provided for the snug room e.t.c. It really was our little 5* home away from home for the weekend and you can feel the love the owners have put into it.

We had a 5 hour round trip to get there but it was worth every second, would do it again in a heartbeat and i would recommend this place to everyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review Ryan- we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to know how much you appreciated the little touches that we hope everyone who stays with us at The Windmill will love too! We look forward to welcoming you to Suffolk again. Kind regards Steve and Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Fantastic experience and just what we needed.”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The wife and I had the pleasure of stopping in this unique building and it was an experience we will always remember.
The weekend was wonderful and the Windmill itself is incredible . What a place! The attention to detail is first class and interior design is only marginally surpassed by the incredible views you can see from the top suite.
The perfect getaway for a relaxing retreat.
The owners are warm and welcoming but not intrusive with butter and jam ready for your scones to enjoy in the deluxe kitchen, you can already guess you'll have everything you will need.
Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for this lovely review Tom. We are so pleased you enjoyed your break with us at The Windmill Suffolk. We were so pleased that the weather was bright and sunny for your stay too! We hope you got to relax and wind down in preparation for the very busy year that you both have ahead of you! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards Steve and Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne T
1 review
“Chance of a lifetime”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed in the Windmill recently and all I can say is Fantastic! Chance of a lifetime and the finish/decor is out of this world. Every detail has been thought through with class and quality. The views were fabulous and the owners were extremely welcoming and helpful with advice for places to visit locally. Will definitely be coming again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2017
Dear Leanne,
Thank you so much for your kind review and we are pleased to hear you like our taste in decor!
It was so lovely to meet you both and we look forward to welcoming you again in the hopefully not too distant future.
Kind regards
Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trayb1
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A countryside retreat”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We were looking for somewhere to get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life when we came across The Windmill. We were not disappointed, set in the Suffolk countryside this beautiful windmill has everything we could ask for, the views are breathtaking and it's really quiet and peaceful. The windmill itself really makes it a special place to be, it's beautifully decorated and definitely has the wow factor. We particularly loved the bed, the bath and the lounge which offers up those views. We look forward to returning in the summer when its warm enough to sit on the balcony.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2017
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us Tracy and look forward to welcoming you again in the summer. Thank you for taking the time to write this review- it's great to hear you had such a lovely stay with us. Kind regards Steve and Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Dec 2016
Dear Bryan,
Thank you so much for your kind words.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you chose to celebrate your wife's special occasion at The Windmill Suffolk.
We look forward to welcoming you again in 2017!
Kind regards
Steve and Natalie Roberts
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mini break heaven”
Reviewed 19 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

A last minute, pre-Christmas break in rural Suffolk unveiled one of the most luxurious properties we have ever stayed in. The attention to detail that has been put into place really puts The Windmill in Cockfield at a 5* rating. Set over 5 levels, the large and fully equipped kitchen, including a TV, is based on the ground floor. On level 1 you have the first of one of the beautifully decorated and furnished bedrooms. On level 2 a large stunning bathroom, decorated in soft whites and creams to provide a really relaxing space and includes a huge bath and walk in shower. The owners provided Elemis bath and shower products which was another touch of luxury. On level 3 there is the second bedroom again styled beautifully. On the top floor there is a stunning lounge area which includes a TV, large sofas, a mini fridge, a balcony with seating and a telescope and chair for star gazing. This room provides a fantastic view of the surrounding Suffolk countryside. All rooms, apart from the bathroom have power points for mobile phones and tablets and there is also the facility to connect music on your device to the built in sound system. There is an outside garden area which would be fantastic during the summer months - we will return in the summer for a longer stay. Overall a truly fantastic and unique holiday retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback of your recent stay with us. I have to say reading your description of The Windmill made me want to stay again myself!
We are genuinely over the moon that you found everything to be to your liking and hope to welcome you again for a longer stay on the hopefully not too distant future!
Have a wonderful Christmas and a very Happy New Year.
Kind regards
Steve and Natalie Roberts
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing