We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven on Earth.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pod- 4th floor living area Sleeping- Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
The Pod- 4th floor living area
Sleeping- Bedroom 1
Sleeping- Bedroom 1
Sleeping Bedroom 1
Bathing at The Windmill Suffolk
Bathing at The Windmill Suffolk
Bathing at The Windmill Suffolk
Bathing at The Windmill Suffolk
Sleeping- Bedroom 2
Luxury at The Windmill Suffolk
Sleeping- Bedroom 2
Sleeping- Bedroom 2
The Pod at nightime
Lounging in comfort at The Windmill Suffolk
The View from The Windmill Suffolk
Treats at The Windmill Suffolk
The Balcony of The Windmill Suffolk
The Balcony with a view at The Windmill Suffolk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Windmill -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cockfield, Babergh District, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mumofharr...
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Heaven on Earth.”
Reviewed 18 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Having just returned from a two nights stay here, my back hurts from having to shoehorn my fiancée out!
From the secluded, serene location, to the well planned, opulent interior; Natalie and Steve have anticipated for- and pulled off- every one of your hearts desires.
The Windmill is better than perfect and we will definitely be returning (without the padlocks to barricade ourselves in, as per the missus' bright idea!).
Thank you Natalie and Steve!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2017
James your review really made me giggle!
Thank you so much for your kind words- we are so pleased to hear just how much you both enjoyed your break with us this week.
We look forward to welcoming you both again and I shall have to think about installing a scanner for Julie's bag to check there are no padlocks in there the next time you come to stay! Tee hee!
Many thanks again for choosing The Windmill Suffolk and see you again soon!
Kind regards Steve & Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panic41
hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful, unusual place to stay”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

There is something about the windmill that even though it is a truly luxurious retreat it is homely and welcoming too. This is probably down to all the little extra touches and the warm greeting from Natalie. We immediately felt relaxed and enjoyed every aspect of our stay. The furnishings and bedding are of a high quality and make for the best night's sleep. We had takeaway fish and chips from the local pub and an Indian in Lavenham. Bury St Edmunds is lovely for a stroll round it's many shops and cafes and the cathedral. If you are looking for something different for a special treat you will not go wrong with a stay at the windmill. The hosts have thought of everything. We hope to back again in the very near future.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
Dear Maria and John,
Thank you so much for your lovely review- I can't tell you how much it means to us to know that you found your stay homely and welcoming and we do strive to try to bring a personal touch with all the high end luxury!
We are so pleased you had the chance to try both of our local takeaways so you were able to stay in The Windmill and make the most of your time here.
We really look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you both again and will have to think of some new surprise treats before your next stay!
Kind regards
Steve and Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly beautiful ”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

What a find!! I booked a (surprise) two night stay for my boyfriend & I to celebrate his 30th birthday. We simply cannot recommend this place enough. We've already started recommending to all of our family & friends.

Natalie & Steven were the perfect hosts, literally going above & beyond to make our getaway that extra special.

The Windmill is breathtakingly beautiful. You should both be so proud of what you've done with this renovation project. Not only beautiful from the outside but absolutely stunning throughout on the inside.

The kitchen is fully equipped with gadgets & utensils. Gadgets including surround sound throughout the entire Windmill, the sound was impeccable! (My boyfriend was very impressed!)
It even included simple things like bread, butter, milk, tea & coffee which made you feel at home immediately.

The bedrooms are both beautifully decorated again equipped with everything you'd need including a hairdryer, plenty of hangers & some cute little treats left on the bedside tables. In the bedroom you will also find slippers and the comfiest, cosiest & fluffiest dressing gowns in the world! (Yes, My boyfriend did buy one as we left as they were that good!)

The bathroom. Oh.my.goodness. The bathroom is incredible! The bath is to die for. Again, the little additional extras such as cotton wool pads, cotton buds, Elemis shampoos, conditioner & bath/shower gel.
The Pod. (Top floor) which is where you'll find the lounge & beautiful balcony which overlooks the stunning Suffolk countryside. The exposed arch woodwork was just incredible. Equipped with a huge curved TV with Sky & Netflix making evenings lovely & cosy. Very romantic.

In the surrounding area is the beautiful Lavenham. Which has a spa & tea room. My boyfriend also took full advantage of the nearby fishing lakes which was approx 1 mile away. Mike, the guy who owns the lake was friendly & welcoming. The lakes were full of carp & my boyfriend was catching all day.

We couldn't have asked for a better couple of nights away. We will be raving about The Windmill for the foreseeable future that's for sure.

Thank you for everything from the bottom of our hearts.

We cannot wait to return to The Windmill, we are already planning our next visit!

Laura & Ricky x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
Dear Laura and Ricky,
Thank you SO SO much for taking the time to write this lovely review! I am not sure whether to grin from ear to ear or get teary about your really kind words!
We are so pleased Ricky did so well with the vising at our local lakes and that you got to enjoy some relaxing me time in our snuggly dressing gowns! ( I hope you are getting lots of use out of the one Ricky treated you to take home!)
It was such a pleasure to meet you both and to compare notes on what musicals we should go and see next!
We can't wait to have you both back again as you are both such a lovely couple- fingers crossed you manage to get time off for a birthday treat next year and we can spoil you then.
Thank you again!
Steve and Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBBritann...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunnng converted windmill for a romantic retreat”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is such a beautiful place it's hard to know where to start. We came here for a birthday treat, and a treat is what we had: the windmill is just gorgeous, with genius attention to detail and loads of little extras that make you feel well and truly pampered. The design is chic and cosy, with loads of velvet, sparkles and low lighting in cool, muted colours. Miraculously, everything fits perfectly in a place without a single straight wall. We watched the sun set and rise from the lofty heights of the top floor (such a spectacular room), and bathed in the morning sun with our coffee from the balcony. This is a perfect spot for a special stay. Ours was brief, but we managed a lovely walk and a visit to nearby Lavenham, though it was quite hard to drag ourselves out of the windmill at all. Natalie, you were the perfect host: thank you!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2017
Thank you for such a lovely review Richard, we are so pleased you both had a good time for your surprise treat.
Your words make me want to go and stay in The Windmill again for my birthday!
We hope for the opportunity to welcome you both for a longer stay in the future- especially as you have such great recipe ideas- that mushroom dish was delicious so thank you for the inspiration to try it out!
Thank you for being such lovely guests and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A sublime place to stay .
Every aspect is perfect.
Beautiful views of the Suffolk country side . Ideally situated to visit picturesque Lavenham and Long Medford .
The accommodation is excellent . Sumptuous bedding and tactile furnishings, bathroom is divine .
Copious amounts of surprise treats.
The pod is amazing
I little slice of heaven

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Thank you for your review Katie- we love your description of the pod being a little slice of heaven! Reading your review made me smile with your comment about the tactile furnishings and made think of us both feeling the tiles in the bathroom!
We are so pleased your enjoyed yourselves and the surprise treats and really look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you to stay at The Windmill again in the hopefully not too distant future!
Kind regards
Steve and Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mca3010
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“special place for a romantic break”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is quite a special place. Yes it was a windmill, but it has been converted in some style to create a unique luxury hideaway. From the fully equipped kitchen at the base, it is 49 steps upto the lounge and balcony. But Natalie has kindly left chocolates half way up if you need an energy boost! Two sumptuous bedrooms with a huge bathroom sandwiched in between. The biggest bath we have seen and a cosy lounge up at the top. A lot of thought has gone into make this special and it works. Plus with Lavenham and Bury St Edmunds close by, this makes a great short break base.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review Steve- I love the fact you counted the stairs... I can imagine this happened after you realised you had left something in the lounge at the top! Tee Hee!
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Windmill for such a special occasion. Thanks for your comments about the style and thought that has gone into making it such a special place- we genuinely appreciate you noticing and hope to welcome you both again in the not TOO distant future!
Kind regards
Steve & Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andy29uk2...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Luxurious and fantastic weekend!”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Spent a very sunny August Bank Holiday weekend at The Windmill. It was everything and more than the pictures had promised with so much attention to detail and great little extras that really made it all the more special. Can choose to chill in your robe and admire the view or get out and about to the local villages such as Lavenham (highly recommend Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms). Cannot wait to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Thank you for such a lovely review Andrea and we look forward to welcoming you for another stay hopefully with such great weather! We completely agree with you about the delicious goodies at Lavenham Blue too!
Kind regards Steve and Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing