We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect romantic hideaway.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pod- 4th floor living area Sleeping- Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
The Pod- 4th floor living area
Sleeping- Bedroom 1
Sleeping- Bedroom 1
Sleeping Bedroom 1
Bathing at The Windmill Suffolk
Bathing at The Windmill Suffolk
Bathing at The Windmill Suffolk
Bathing at The Windmill Suffolk
Sleeping- Bedroom 2
Luxury at The Windmill Suffolk
Sleeping- Bedroom 2
Sleeping- Bedroom 2
The Pod at nightime
Lounging in comfort at The Windmill Suffolk
The View from The Windmill Suffolk
Treats at The Windmill Suffolk
The Balcony of The Windmill Suffolk
The Balcony with a view at The Windmill Suffolk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Windmill -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cockfield, Babergh District, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephen D
2 reviews
“The perfect romantic hideaway.”
Reviewed 10 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Everything we wanted and more! The 2 of us stayed 3 nights as part of our honeymoon (minimoon). The windmill is stunning and very luxurious - clearly designed and furnished with great thought and care and by people who know what they're doing. The kitchen, bathroom, bedrooms and top floor living space (pod) were all superb and finished to a high-standard. With only 12 steps between each floor moving around was easy with each landing having its own automatic lighting to guide the way. The beds really are super king (and very very comfy), and its lovely and peaceful at night. The views are stunning too and the night sky amazing (haven't see stars like that for years!). We loved our stay and have some treasured memories of what is a very special place. Would love to return one day.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2018
Thankyou so much for taking the time to write this great review of your stay at The Windmill Stephen! We are so pleased you chose to stay with us for such a special occasion as your minimoon and hope we have been able to give you some wonderful memories to look back on of the start of your married life together!
It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you both and are so pleased to hear that you would like to come back and stay with us again i the future.
Many congratulations again!
Kind regards
Steve & Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nomad4238...
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pure Luxury”
Reviewed 7 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed a 3 night stay at The Windmill. The property itself is spectacular, the kitchen, bathroom, bedrooms and top floor area are all beautifully decorated. Luxurious throughout.
Thank you to the owners, Natalie and Steve, for creating such a wonderful property to stay in. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review of your stay at The Windmill recently. It is always so lovely to hear that The Windmill is lovely enough to tempt people to return to stay with us again!
We shall look forward to welcoming you for another spectacular stay very soon!
Kind regards
Steve & Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection!”
Reviewed 5 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

I stayed here with my fiance celebrating our engagement and it was just absolutely perfect. Every room has wow factor and you will be blown away by the stunning views. Natalie went above and beyond to make our stay so special and I couldn't thank you both enough for everything. I will definitely be booking again, anyone who is thinking of booking DO IT. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2018
Thankyou SO much for this lovely review Jay Marie- we really appreciate it and are SO pleased you chose The Windmill Suffolk to celebrate such a special occasion as your engagement!
We hope you will have wonderful memories of your time here and look forward to welcoming you both again in the very near future.
Many congratulations again!
Kind regards
Steve & Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow, what a gorgeous place to stay!!!”
Reviewed 1 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

I am speechless. What a wonderful place to stay. We went here for our 50th Wedding Anniversary and what a treat it was. It has been renovated to an amazingly high standard. It is located in a beautiful area. From the top of the Windmill you have a great view as you are surrounded by trees and farmland. Our lovely host Natalie couldn’t have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. She obviously goes to great lengths to make everything perfect for your stay. All I can say is, if you get the chance to go, GO.
Sue

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2018
Ahhh Sue- thank you so much for this great review and for the lovely thankyou email we received from you - it was such a surprise and kind of you to take the time.
It was an absolute pleasure to help you both celebrate your 50th anniversary a! ( Roll on staying for the 51st, 52nd, 53rd- it will become an annual habit! Tee Hee!)
Many Congratulations to you and Len again- we loved meeting you both and wish you a fun filled 50th year celebrating together ahead!
Kind regards
Steve & Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 5 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We had our honeymoon at the Windmill in August. It is beautiful, the photos simply don't do it justice. We loved how much love and attention has gone into renovating. The space has been so cleverly used, it feels incredibly spacious and practical with just the right dose of luxury. The hospitality was fantastic with some lovely unexpected extras to make our stay more special.
We really loved the groundfloor door into the kitchen which opens fully, leading out to a beautiful garden and fields. Sitting eating breakfast in the sunshine was pure bliss. It was equally lovely sitting on the balcony watching the wildlife. The Windmill has such a comfy, cosy feel it would be just as lovely in the winter. It's certainly a unique stay, close to some nice villages and attractions with plenty to do. We will be going back and I would definately recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2018
Thankyou so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay at The Windmill Michelle- we really do appreciate it and are so happy to hear how much you liked what we have done with the building. We are always so excited to see how much our guests love " our little baby"!
We are very lucky that The Windmill is is such a beautiful spot and as you say has SO many things to do locally- even though of course the temptation is to stay in The Windmill and not ever leave! Tee hee!
Many congratulations again on your recent nuptials and we hope to see you both again for another break at The Windmill soon.
Kind regards
Steve & Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chezkirby...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just Beautiful!”
Reviewed 1 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Don't hesitate to book your stay at the Windmill. We stayed here for our honeymoon and knew it looked great but it was so much more! We were greeted by the lovely Natalie who gave us such a warm welcome,she had wine chilling and 'just married' banners for us throughout. The Windmill is pure luxury, everything is done to such a high standard, beautiful interior, my husband loved the high tech sound system. Each floor was a wow but 'the pod' had the biggest wow. We loved sitting either on the balcony or inside just admiring the views,star gazing and watching the sunset with a glass of wine in hand. Just perfect...we will definitely be staying again,can't wait!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2018
Congratulations again on your special day Cheryl! We are so honoured that you chose to stay at The Windmill for your honeymoon and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We shall look forward to welcoming you both back for an anniversary celebration in the future and wish you a very happy and healthy life together!
Kind regards
Steve & Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalgreg
Shefford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You have to try this place”
Reviewed 20 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

I have only one complaint about our recent stay which is we only booked for one night. We stayed for my wife’s 50th birthday and it really is the most amazing place and idyllic setting. We had planned to visit the local area but when we arrived apart for popping out for lunch, ended up staying at the windmill for as long as we could to savour every moment.
The owners were so welcoming and Natalie took the time to show us around and had left wine, cake, banners and a card for my wife. These little touches really do make all the difference.
No stone had been left unturned here and all your needs are catered for.
Thanks again for such a fantastic stay. I would strongly recommend this to anyone and everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2018
Thank you SO much for writing such a lovely review so quickly Darren!
We are so pleased you enjoyed Tracey's birthday surprise and it was lovely to hear you didn't want to miss a moment in The Windmill! Next time hopefully you will be able to stay for longer!
It was so lovely to meet you both and we look forward to the chance of welcoming you again- perhaps for your birthday next time!
Kind regards
Steve and Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing