We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Astonishing view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pension Villa Hermani Magura / Bran
Ranked #1 of 7 Magura B&B and Inns
Milano
Level Contributor
441 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Astonishing view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We have been staying one night in late October at the Villa Hermani. You reach it after a 5 kilometers road with stones. It is reachable without 4WD when the weather is dry, might be different in winter. This small pension is owned by a German woman. The rooms are vey clean, and you get a dinner and a breakfast as well. The owner can give you many advices where to walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leonardo_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

I stayed at Villa Hermani several times or simply stopped by for a drink while in the area. This place is a 'home from home'. Herman and Katerina are great hosts and they know the area inside out. The views from the villa are fantastic. The food is delicious. The visit to the bear sanctuary was very moving. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BraBuMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

This is a well-run 17 room guest house set in the most beautiful countryside. A warm welcome was given by Katharina, who is extremely knowledgeable about local wildlife and the local environment - bears, wolves, birds, beavers, bats and wildflowers ......Staff were helpful and worked very hard to produce wonderful breakfasts, (afternoon tea and cake available) and plentiful three course evening meal. Local food, milk and cheese used. Plenty of opportunities for National Park walks and cycling.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stayed here as part of an Exodus walking holiday and was blown away by the food and service. Room had everything you could need for a relaxing stay. The library and verandah with spectaular views were main highlights. The guesthouse animals, cats and dogs were an added bonus. If your looking for a real break away from it all this is the place. The owners really do know their stuff both service wise and in regards to the nature surrounding you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-annLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

A 3-night stay here, at this remote, but highly beautiful ‘plateau’ location. Relaxed, but well run.

The German owners are expert on wildlife (as a naturalist myself, I can assure readers they know their stuff), which was the main purpose of my visit- and had provided me with the details of a local guide, as they were already booked for their own guiding during these dates.

The food is really special and cooked for each meal. One breakfast included scrambled eggs with forest mushrooms picked the previous day. My special dietary requirements, of which I’d pre-warned them, were fully met, with no hassle. In fact, my meals were almost the same as those of the other guests, without those ingredients I cannot take. Soups were ample and delicious and mains most tasty. Dessert was a different ‘cake’ each night.

I cannot recommend highly enough and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firstrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

I stayed here for 7 nights in September 2012 on a trip to discover the wildlife & culture of Romania and I was not disappointed. The views from the Villa are absolutely stunning as it is set amongst the most beautiful Carpathian Mountain range in the middle of a National Park, in fact one of the most beautiful places I have ever been! The villa has a lovely large balcony off the dining area overlooking the valley which is a great place to sit of an evening with a cold beer after an amazing day hiking. The bedrooms were roomy, clean and comfortable with a balcony over looking the mountains; all the bedrooms have stunning views. We were well catered for throughout our stay with a delicious variety for fresh home made food served daily, drinks are served with your meal or you can take as you like from the well stocked drinks fridge containing a variety of soft drinks, water and alcohol including wine and a vast range of beers which you pay for upon departure, it is very inexpensive here. The staff are incredibly helpful and pleasant. Our hostess at the Villa was Katarina, who was an inspirational woman at the forefront of Wildlife conservation, her knowledge and passion for Romanian Wildlife especially that of the 3 main carnivores - European brown bear, wolf and Lynx was truly outstanding as well as her love of Romanian culture. We had a guide during our trip that was phenomenal. Katarina organised some trips for us too but you don’t need a guide to discover the beauty of this place just a map, a sturdy pair of hiking boots and a desire to explore. If you are a keen photographer and love Nature like me you will NOT be disappointed, Romania is by far one of the most beautiful places I have visited and an animal lovers paradise (everyone has dogs & cats too, including the villa!). I couldn’t have stayed in more relaxed, safe and comfortable accommodation …… I booked though a specialised tour company so our transfers to and from the airport which is 3 hours away & to different parts of Romania were included however, everywhere seems very easily accessible and there is lots to see a do so I would recommend hiring a car but even if you just explored the surrounding areas to the villa there is more than enough to see and do, the walks are the best I have ever been on, sitting at the top of a mountain on a sunny autumn day, in the middle of a wildflower meadow surrounded by butterflies eating your packed lunch– Priceless!

Room Tip: Due to there being Bears, Wolves etc everyone has dogs all of which are incredibly friendly & we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

What a find! Quite a few friends had Great things to say about Vila Hermani, and we were not disappointed. Delicious meals, exceptionally clean and comfortable rooms with hardwood floors, new furniture and comfortable beds. It's not a fancy 5 star hotel - but something much better... A home away from home. Katerina was lovely, the bear sanctuary tour she gave us informative and the setting breathtakingly beautiful. Our kids enjoyed the fresh air and unhurried pace. Looking for time to return. One note- we have a 4 wheel drive, so the winding mountain roads were no problem even with snow... If you go in winter, make sure you have good snow tires... It's well worth the drive up when you arrive at this wonderful place with a glorious view..

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Overseasamerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magura
3.5 mi away
Pensiunea Ana
Pensiunea Ana
#1 of 7 in Bran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
16.2 mi away
Bella Muzica
Bella Muzica
#2 of 57 in Brasov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Transylvania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hille Guesthouse
Hille Guesthouse
#2 of 7 in Magura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samedru Guesthouse
Samedru Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Magura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pension Nea Marin
Pension Nea Marin
#4 of 7 in Magura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Villa Hermani Magura / Bran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Villa Hermani Magura / Bran

Property: Pension Villa Hermani Magura / Bran
Address: Sat Magura 130, Magura 507133, Romania
Region: Romania > Southeast Romania > Buzau County > Magura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Magura
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Villa Hermani Magura / Bran 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse in the Romanian Carpathians, close to Dracula's castle in Bran. The "Villa Hermani" is located in the mountain village of Magura, right in the middle of Piatra Craiului National Park. The accommodation was opened in 2004 and is certified by the Eco-tourism association AER. It is run by the German couple Hermann and Katharina Kurmes. They speak English, German and Romanian. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing