We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing experience”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Challock, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mobile796...
1 review
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 7 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This was the first time our family went glamping and we thoroughly enjoyed this site. Nigel and Wendy were very welcoming and also took us on a tour of the farm to feed the animals, collect eggs and learn more about their unique approach to farming their land.

The hut was compact but clean and cosy with all facilities provided to ensure a comfortable stay. We had our own viewing deck with a stunning view across the lake to view the wildlife and sunset. The hot tub was a real bonus, just a perfect end to the day.

All in all, this is a lovely place and we definitely hope to go back again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
Thank you for your review.It was lovely to take you round the our farm and show you what we do. The views and location really are beautiful aren't they.We look forward to your return ...hopefully soon ?
Kind regards
Nigel and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajreece
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 6 August 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We stayed for two nights back in June and absolutely loved the Hut. It had everything you could possibly need and we were given fresh eggs. we cooked and out on the deck enjoying the stunning surroundings! the Hut has been modified to a high standard and we thoroughly enjoyed staying in it. A very relaxing and chilled weekend. Lovely bathroom facilities and the hot tub was also delightful looking over the lake. Gorgeous place and lovely people

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
Thank you for taking the time to drop us a review.We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.Its is a lovely location on the farm with beautiful surroundings and we are glad you loved it.Maybe you will come back to us again and maybe for a longer stay next time.Would love to see you back .
kind regards
Nigel and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amibowyer...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Get brownie points from your other half!”
Reviewed 24 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

If you're a couple looking for a slightly quirky countryside getaway then the Rose Hut is definitely a must.

We booked for one evening and were disappointed on our journey over when the heavens decided to open. But our spirits were instantly lifted when we discovered that the hot tub next to the Shepherd's Hut is under a shelter which meant we could look out and watch the rain fall across the beautiful lake, cold beer in hand!

Access to the hot tub is shared (you can book time slots), but we didn't see anyone during our stay and we were able to enjoy it for a few hours on our own, completely undisturbed. Wendy and Nigel are fantastic hosts, very accommodating and really left us to enjoy our evening together.

The hut and bathroom were both very clean, there's a fridge and plugs to charge phones etc (not that you'll need them). Everything you might need to prepare food was also provided so we had a lovely BBQ and sat out together on the decking to enjoy the sunset.

Thank you Nigel and Wendy! We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
Hi Ami
Thank you for your review.It is great that you managed to enjoy lots of aspects of the site.It really is a beautiful setting isn't it.A great time to just switch off, relax and enjoy the countryside.We hope you will come back and visit us again soon.Thank you for booking with us.
kind regards
Nigel and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely brilliant!!”
Reviewed 12 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time we have come to the rose hut, first time was in June for two nights and it was so beautiful and amazingly peaceful we had to come again! This time for five nights! Nigel and Wendy are absolutely lovely and so helpful! Definitely recommend for couples for a romantic get away and small families alike, the hut is so cosy and everything you need! And the view (and the swim!) over the swimming lake and the field is so beautiful! We really can’t wait to come back again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
Hi Liam ,
What a lovely review.Thank you so much.We are so glad that you had such a lovely stay at the Hut.Happy you got some time to take a dip in the Lake.We hope you will come back and see us again in the near future.Thank you again for booking with us .
Kind regards
Nigel and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6976Saman...
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing stay- can't wait to come back”
Reviewed 4 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

My husband and I stayed here and it was amazing. We had sunset in the hot tub, our first BBQ of the year. The Shepard's hut itself is incredible and has everything that you could ever need. Thank you so much for having us. Will definitely come back x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2018
Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to have you both stay in Rose Hut and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you or any of your friends and family to stay in the future. Nigel and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philb90
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning location and beautiful accommodation ”
Reviewed 22 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

My girlfriend and me really were blown away by this find. Rose Hut is a beautiful wooden hut set in the stunning Kent countryside. It's modern, clean and tidy and equipped with all the little bits and bobs to make your stay extra comfortable. The small space is used perfectly with a very comfortable double bed that folds away during the day to the table space. Outside the private deck is very spacious and perfectly situated to watch the sun set. The lake and countryside setting made for stunning views and absolute bliss - total peace and quiet and the perfect get away. Hot tub was an awesome addition, and the bathroom area is clean and modern, again all the essentials are provided. We met Nigel when leaving, incredibly friendly and interesting host, and loved hearing about the sustainable farm he runs. Instructions before check in were spot on, and the recommendations much appreciated (including the our opinion sections!) couldn't recommend enough and will be coming again soon! Thanks for having us

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2018
Philip, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to have you both stay and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the beauty of Landews Meadow and Rose Hut. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Nigel and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lola_bean...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint, peaceful retreat in beautiful location”
Reviewed 7 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

What an amazing break! My partner and I stayed in the Shepherds Hut for 3 nights and didn't want to leave! Despite the weather being horrendous, we loved every minute of our stay. The hut is GORGEOUS. It is quaint and idyllic and the view and surroundings are breathtaking. The hut and the shower room/bathroom, in fact everywhere, was spotlessly clean and there were little touches that made it very homely, like tea bags and some odds and ends in the food cupboard e.g. some pasta, salt and pepper etc. We took full advantage of the fantastic hot tub which again, was clean and easy to use and a great way to spend an hour or two in the evening!

Nigel was a fantastic host - he greeted us warmly and showed us around and even started the fire for us! Nothing was too much trouble and he was on hand if and when we needed anything (like delicious fresh eggs from his chickens!

We are already looking into booking our next stay! We loved it! Would love to come back in warmer weather to go for a swim in the lake!

The only slight recommendation we would have liked would be either a mirror in the hut or a plug socket in the bathroom as it was a little tricky to dry our hair!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2018
Thank you for your kind review, we are so glad you both enjoyed your stay in Rose Hut and its beautiful location at Landews Meadow . Thank you also for the suggestions and we can confirm there is now a mirror in the hut. Look forward to seeing you again soon, Nigel and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing