We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb cottage, beautifull surroundings.”
other travellers have booked this property
Hop Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hop Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Hop Cottage
Plenty of work surfaces
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Challock, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Luc D
1 review
“Superb cottage, beautifull surroundings.”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

What a positive surprise when arriving at the location ! Calm, peacefull surroundings,
just birds singing-no traffic noise. A big thank you to Nigel and Wendy for their service and presence when you need them. Cottageis the best we ever had ! Nice and clean, fully equipped.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2017
Luv thank you for your lovely review, it was a great pleasure to meet you all , please do come back when you next need to recharge your batteries Nigel and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrilyn...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage central to all the great attractions in Kent.”
Reviewed 27 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We were two couples visiting from Australia and Hop Cottage ticked all the boxes. We were only a half hour drive from most places we wanted to see: Canterbury, Leeds Castle, Dover castle, Sissinghurst, Battle Abbey, and Rye. Really roomy, comfortable cottage with a lovely conservatory. Set in beautiful cottage gardens on a farm, it was peaceful and picturesque. So lovely to walk through a wisteria arbour while listening to birdsong. Local pub and shops are not far away. Nigel was very friendly and helpful and we would highly recommend this cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhijit74
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peace, serenity and beauty”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed at Hop Cottage from 09 May 2017 to 13 May 2017. We absolutely loved our stay at Hop Cottage. The cottage is very comfortable and the location is stunning. It is also centrally located in as much as the more visited areas of Kent are concerned and was therefore an ideal base for us. Nigel and Wendy were very gracious hosts and personally ensured that we had no problems. The cottage is located in Nigel and Wendy's farm and the area is so stunningly beautiful. We will carry the memories of the beauty of the countryside and the peace and serenity that it gave us in our hearts to escape to whenever the stress of daily life gets too much.
I would recommend Hop Cottage to anyone who wants to visit Kent and stay there for a few days.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Dear Abhijit and Family

It was a great pleasure to meet you all and we are very pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and particularly the beauty of our location.
We are very fortunate to be in such an idyllic part of the Kent Downs Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and so well located for exploring Kent.

We hope to welcome you all again at some time in the future and thank you for your kind review.

Kindest Regards
Nigel and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drh141169
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Very good accommodation in a lovely rural area of Kent. Plenty of space with 3 bedrooms large living area and kitchen /dining area.
Magnificent views from the property of rolling hills and woodland. Very friendly, helpful and accommodating owners who live on site.

The property is well furnished with all the luxuries of home.

Only a 15-20 minute walk to the local Inn, with many other shops and pubs within 10-15 minutes drive. Ideally placed to take in the attractions of Kent and the local coastline. Dover only being a 30-40 minutes drive.

Would come highly recommended and we will stay here again, without doubt.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Thank you for your detailed and kind review. We are very glad that you enjoyed the cottage and using it as a base to explore Kent

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Nigel and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
triwbe
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice, family friendly cottage.”
Reviewed 5 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Set in the heart of the Kent country side this period cottage offers very comfortable accommodation for 6 to 8 people. The amenities are excellent; a well-equipped kitchen with a large fridge, washing machine and freezer, a lovely conservatory with comfortable chairs and good Wi-Fi (v. important for me ). The rooms are warm and nicely decorated.

It is surrounded by nature so the views all around are beautiful. At the same time, it is well within a couple of hours driving distance to locations in Kent, Sussex and London.

The hosts are very nice and very helpful.

It was such a pleasurable stay, we can’t wait to come back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Thank you for your very kind review, we are very glad you all enjoyed your stay in Hop Cottage, the cottages do enjoy a fabulous position in the Kent Downs AONB but with great access to Kent's attractions and for day trips to London.

We and our team work hard to keep the properties to a high standard, this spring will see our new games room for the table tennis and the hot tub for guests going in by the lake. We look forward to welcoming you all back, perhaps when the weather is warmer to enjoy the new extra facilities

Nigel and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S
1 review
“Great base for our family weekend”
Reviewed 4 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We really enjoyed our weekend at Hop Cottage, lovely and warm and plenty of space for all the family (5 adults, 3 young children). Nigel and Wendy were very helpful and on the end of the phone when we had a query. Despite being off the beaten track it was easy to find with their instructions. The only minor downside was that the showers were a bit weedy.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amkruger2...
Greater Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Perfect place to stay near my family.”
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I booked this accommodation for a Family of 7. It was exactly as described and suited our every need. Also a great location close to all my family. Nigel and Wendy were extremely welcoming and we look forward to staying there again in 2018.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, it was our pleasure to meet you all during your stay here. We look forward to welcoming you back from Australia for your next family get together Nigel and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing