We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the hard work”

Katiki Point Lighthouse
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Moeraki
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Katiki Point is home to New Zealand fur seals and Yellow-eyed penguins, along with many other coastal species. It is cared for by volunteers who have created a sanctuary for penguins. They optimize the habitat, maximise breeding success and survival and minimize disturbance. They need $20k per year to do this work so a donation of $5 pp is appropriate. The donation box is by the gate. The reserve is open from 7:30am to 7:30pm. Visiting outside this time creates stress on the penguins and in the past, has cost the lives of chicks so please respect this. Do not use a flash on your camera and do not go closer than 5 m to the wildlife. Retreat if they move towards you.
Luganville, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
172 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Worth the hard work”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is a great place to see the rarest penguin in the world. The excellent blind is down a steep path. It was very hard work getting our daughter down and back up in her pram, but she loved watching the fur seals from the blind. We also saw a penguin emerge from the sea. We saw penguins even closer out near the end of the point on the other trail, and our daughter saw them too. The upper trail was easier to negotiate, but the penguins were less active. I was disappointed to find that the fishing area was closed. The lighthouse itself is worth the drive out there, and it does not require so much work to see.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SouthSeasAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    28
    8
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lighthouse.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I grew up here for the first 3 years of my life(my Dad was the Lighthouse keeper), so it was an incredible place for me to revisit with my own teenage children! Great old Lighthouse which used to be called Moeraki Lighthouse when we lived here. Great wildlife to see nearby also.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Yellow-Eyed Penguins!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

While Otago Peninsula has Penguin Place (where a family pass will cost over 100.00 NZD), this lesser-known site also has nesting YEPs (the rare Yellow-eyed Penguins), but without any crowds, and operates on free-will donation (and please DO donate to help preserve this fantastic site and their work helping to preserve the YEPs!).

Visit late afternoon/evening during nesting season (Dec-Feb) to see these fabulous penguins. A variety of A-frame penguin shelters are distributed around the grassy headlands and brushy forest; we saw several penguins in the grass preening and completely not fussed by our proximity (we were there late afternoon just before Christmas). Be respectful and keep your distance to allow this site to continue to allow visitors to come and observe these rare birds. Also expect to see fur seals, btw...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NewHampsterite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop by”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Nice place to stop by to take a look at the lighthouse as well as to take a walk down down to the hide to take a look at seals. We were hoping to see some penguins but we were probably too early in the afternoon. However, it was still well worth the visit

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_sg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
203 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Put this one on your list when you are in the area - a variety of bird life, plus wild rabbits scampering about. Awesome photo opportunities and great for children to see. The little lighthouse has been well maintained - a very picturesque spot.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Katiki Point Lighthouse also viewed

Moeraki, Otago Region
 
Oamaru, Otago Region
 

Been to Katiki Point Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing