We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet room and nice owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Veggie Garden Athens B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Elliniko B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We spent two nights at the Veggie Garden in April 2014. The room was very clean and situated in a very quiet neighbourhood. Although it is not in the center of Athens, the access by metro is quite easy. Stelios and Maika were very nice and welcoming. We had a delicious dinner cooked by Maika with Stelios' home made wine (well worth 10 euros/person). Good quality/price for the room. The only thing you need to be conscious is that you are really in their house. Since the room is small, it is good if you plan to be there only at night and visit the rest of the day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne-Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

We made arrangement to stay with Stellios and his wife but unfortunately because of illness could not do it. After spending a lot of time helping us with all kinds of info and helpful suggestions they sent back our entire deposit... they would not even accept our offer of a one days charge. These are wonderful people and it is with a broken heart that we could not go... we would highly recommend them just because of the very special way we were treated... we felt like they were taking care of their own family... Please do go and stay with them if you have the chance. elizabeth PS I checked march in the ? about when we travelled even thou we cancelled due to illness.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We were hosted in the beautiful and quiet home of Stelios & Maika. The house owners are very friendly and full of courtesy and helpfulness. The room is nice and clean. Maika is a superb cook and together with her husband Stelios they make you feel at your own home!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MicheleFerr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stelios & Maika are incredible hosts! They greeted us at the front door, helped with our heavy bags and led us out to the patio for fresh lemonade, sweets and hot coffee, such a lovely welcome after a long and sleepless night on the ferry. Our accommodations were lovely: large bed with linens and towels. Beautiful tile shower and security door. The neighborhood seemed quite safe we walked around and rode the bus at all hours and never were at all concerned. Central Athens is a different story. The architecture of the house is gorgeous! Stelios had printed maps and highlighted important transportation, shopping and dining features near the home. He printed a similar map for Athens center. We sat and he explained both maps to us and answered all of our questions about getting around, what to do and see, etc. He made clear to us that we could call his cell phone at any time if we got lost, were in any kind of trouble and he would come find us and help. This attention to detail and offer to help made our visit so much more pleasant as we felt confident that nothing could go too wrong.

The food was excellent. We had dinner at the house three times and each time was delightful. More delicious food than we could finish dessert and a 750 ml bottle of good wine for only 10 euro! Each meal had at least one dish that blew me away and I consider myself a bit of a foodie. Pray Maika makes you her wine & octopus dish. Seriously good eats. Much of the produce & herbs are grown in the garden and all is quite fresh and local.

The only drawback I found is that it is time consuming to travel to central Athens. There is a nearby Metro station but it is not yet operating as of September 2012. Getting to central Athens was straight forward: a short walk (~3-4 blocks) and one bus to the metro station but was time consuming (especially waiting for the bus that seemed to keep its own schedule). This is problematic if you want to spend a day sightseeing and then go out to a fancy restaurant or bar. We found ourselves hot, sweaty & tired from sightseeing so we ate and visited a bar. It was fine until to evening crowd started rolling in at which point we felt pretty out of place among to coifed and clean Athenians out to see and be seen. If we had travelled all the way back to the house, I doubt we could have found to motivation to head back out. This would not be a problem if you were to do something near the house then change and head out to the night scene, but we were trying to pack as much as possible in only a few days. Once the metro is running, it should be quick and easy to get anywhere you want to go.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rosegris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank FOTIOS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mercedes A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elliniko
Centrotel Hotel
#22 of 281 in Athens
1,198 reviews
Blue Sky Hotel
#5 of 14 in Glyfada
179 reviews
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#3 of 14 in Glyfada
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
Athens Studios
Athens Studios
#10 of 54 in Athens
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veggie Garden Athens B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veggie Garden Athens B&B

Address: 8 Adigonis | Athens, Elliniko 167 77, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Elliniko
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Elliniko
Price Range: £39 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Veggie Garden Athens B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Bed & Breakfast in the South Suburbs of Athens, close to the underground station (12minutes to the Center of Athens) and to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Veggie Garden Athens B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing