We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
32
4
1
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
32
4
1
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2015

I stayed 6 nights at the Veggie Garden for a combination of work and taking time off .. it was real great & relaxing - you never know but should the opportunity come around another time, I'd certainly stay with Stellios and Maika again, and here's why: a wonderful combination of being independent as well as part of a local family - very friendly hosts who are ready to help whenever needed - located away from the tourist scene - close enough to excellent restaurants - easy enough to get to/from the airport via Metro and bus, even easier to downtown & Acropolis - sparkling clean - warm genuine hospitality, excellent wifi, best of fresh homemade breakfasts and dinners with a special treat of Stellios' organic wine - quiet area, quiet rooms - It was a bit cool end of October so I could only imagine sitting outside in the palm tree shade on a hot summer's day .. I did a day trip to Naflion, climbing up to the fortress, a bit long but easy enough by bus - also walked up the mountain side close to the Veggie G. for an expansive view of the city sprawl - walked to the beach area taking the quieter side roads (which is a city beach so don't expect a quiet isolated sandy shoreline ...) - and metro'd to Acropolis several times..!

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank yikes6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Stelois and his wife have truly made this Bed & Breakfast a comfortable home away from home. As a host, he took time to answer our questions, made sure we could around the area and even took the time to meet us upon arrival plus helped get us to the airport when we departed.
After looking at many hotels right in Athens, we decided to stay out of the city but close enough to the subway. We are so glad we did. The B&B had easy access to get into the city but far safer, quieter, more comfortable, secure and more reasonable than any city hotel.
This home was one of the highlights of our stay in Greece.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Reebo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2015

We are just back from a four night stay here and found it a most pleasurable experience. We had opted for a private transfer from the airport to B&B which suited us as first timers in Athens. Stelios suggested we should head on in to see the Acropolis the afternoon we arrived which was sound advice in view of the poor weather that was forecast for later in our stay (and yes it got very cold and it did snow). Getting in to Athens centre was very easy using the metro, the nearest station being an easy 5 minute walk from the B&B. We were in the centre within about 20 minutes of leaving Veggie Garden.
It was wonderful to come back after a day sightseeing to a delicious meal cooked by Maika, washed down with Stelios' excellent red wine. Breakfast was good especially the super grapefruit juice made with grapefruits picked fresh from their garden. It set us up nicely for all the walking we did each day around the various sights in central Athens.
Our room was comfortable with decent lighting and bed side lights,( I like to read in bed). I also like a cup of tea first thing in the morning and was able to use the kettle in the family kitchen to make my early morning tea. A fridge was available in our room to chill water.
Our bathroom had a fabulously powerful shower and shampoo etc was provided. Wifi was good.
The return trip to the airport we did by bus from Elinko metro station, which was very easy to do. All in all it was a splendid stay and we would not hesitate to recommend to others as a really good place to stay when visiting Athens. Excellent value for money too.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2014

The B&B was a short walk from the Metro which will take you to all places in Athens. The host was very friendly and when I returned at night shared his home made red wine... which was very good.

His directions to the B&B were excellent and took my suggestion of adding info as to how to find the Metro from the port... which was a challenge. Taxis were easy, finding the metro was not. To leave via the airport was easy as the host drove me to the nearby bus stop and told me which bus and the fare. That makes it easy when you're in a country were the language is not familiar.

I would recommend this B&B and stay here again.

Room tip: My room was just below grade level but with access to the outside patio. I didn't see any of the other rooms so I can't make a comparison.
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank gbzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2014

Based on other reviews about this Bed and Breakfast on Tripadvisor, we decided to book this hotel for three non-consecutive nights.

- the room that they gave us was extremely small and uncomfortable. we had to open our suitcases inside a small closet in the room which was highly unpractical. And by the way the closet is full of the owners clothes and personal belongings
- the bathroom that we had was private but located outside our room at the door of the owner's bedroom so that was also completely non-private and non-practical
- the mattresses were very old and uncomfortable. the beds very tight and the pillows were also very old and used. We asked for two extra pillows but only got one without a cover!
- before our arrival we had asked the owner to prepare for us a diner after giving him specific instructions about our food requirements. When dinner came it was exactly the opposite of what we had asked for. When we told the owner this, he was completely unconcerned and brought us the bill to pay for the room (for the 3 nights with no refund whatsoever) and the diner right upon our arrival. He did not care that he provided us with food that we could not eat. So we eventually had to spend the night without diner as there are no nearby places to go at night on foot
- we had not been in the house for more than one hour when the owner announced that they were going out. So we were left out alone in the house with no one there to help us in case we needed anything, even though we had just arrived and were completely unfamiliar with the place
- the towels and the bed sheet were old and worn out as well

Well, to sum up, it was probably the worst experience that we ever had in a hotel or a bed and breakfast. The reviews that we read on tripadvisor about this hotel were completely false and misleading. It is a shame. we were hoping to spend some nice quiet time there. We ended up going to a different hotel for the remaining night and losing all our money

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank carinez2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeggieGardenBnB, Owner at Veggie Garden Athens B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Dear visitor
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in our B&B. We take great pride and try our best to ensure a great experience to all of our guests. We are not a hotel, we are family owned B&B striving to ensure that our visitor enjoy our hospitality, and the Greek way of living, in a relaxing and clean environment. After running the B&B for three years, with hundreds of guests, this is the first negative review we have received (on all websites we collaborate with). So we would like to try and respond to some of your (in our opinion) unfair claims.

The room is of very a reasonable size for its price range. The size is obvious from the many pictures we provide on our website and other collaborating websites. With regards to the closet, it is far from small. In fact, it is a walk-in wardrobe.

The bathroom, as clearly described in our website (and all other collaborating websites) is totally private and is located right next (adjacent) to the available room. This particular room is not an ensuite like the other 2 rooms we have available. We never claimed it was an ensuite bathroom.

The mattresses and pillows are 3 years old and have had much less than a year’s worth of use. They are in fact orthopaedic mattresses (1meter width each) purchased when starting operating the B&B. You may have not enjoyed your sleep due to different mattress preferences (there is wide variety of mattress types) but it is at least unfair to call the mattresses old and the beds tight. All pillows have clean pillowcases on them. In the future we will provide 2 pillows per guest to avoid disappointments.

We did our best to accommodate your request for a meal, even though your arrival was late at night (22:30). You have requested for a light meal (a chicken soup) and this is exactly what we prepared to you. Thus, it is difficult for us to understand why we did the opposite of what you had requested. We were very concerned about that you did not like our food (this is the 1st for our visitor, as the various reviews demonstrate) because we take great pride in our home cooking. However, it is unreasonable to expect a refund on a meal simply because you did not like it.

While we are at our B&B (home) most of the times our guests are in, so we can provide them with anything they may need, there are some occasions that we need to be away (for personal and professional reasons).We are a family run business, in very safe area of Athens, without any additional staff. We are not a hotel with 24h reception service. We always let our guests know (as we did in your case) if we are about to be away from the B&B so they can let us know if they need anything before we go.

The bill was requested soon after your arrival based on the fact that you arrived late in the evening and you were leaving early in the morning the next day.

There are about 20 good restaurants and various other stores (artisan bakery, veggie shop, butchers, liquor store, and convenient store) in distances ranging from 5 to 10 minutes by foot. We do not expect guests to know that. However, a simple question would have solved your problem.

The towels and bed-linen are not old and worn out. If for whatever reason you did not like your towel or linens you could have spoken to us and we would do our best to accommodate your needs.

To summarise, we are really sorry for your poor experience. We will take your comments into consideration to further improve the services we provide to our guests (e.g. we will provide extra pillows). As for the rest, we are really disappointed you had such a bad experience but we struggle to see what we did wrong. A lot of these issues could have been solved (or considerably improved) with a simple question on your behalf.

Finally, it is a bit much to claim that all these reviews (in a respectable website such as trip advisor) are “false and misleading”. We have worked very hard to gain these reviews and it is at least upsetting to see such bold statements made so easily.

Regards
Stelios & Maika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews