We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely, homey place to get away from it all”
other travellers have booked this property
Night shot of house- Look at those stars!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Night shot of house- Look at those stars!
Main Deck- 600 feet from the ocean with great oceanview and sunsets The sunsets are magnificent there at the house- they rival Arizona!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Night shot of house- Look at those stars!
Main Deck- 600 feet from the ocean with great oceanview and sunsets
The sunsets are magnificent there at the house- they rival Arizona!
kayaks and boogie boards, in closet on  first floor/great snorkeling 2 minutes from house
My favorite room in the house- airy and breezy and candilibered ceilings
TV area with netflix, dvds,
Kitchen lava bar
View from 600 plus foot deck
House six hundred feet from the ocean
Family room and kitchen
Kitchen has dishwasher plus oceanview
refrigerator and microwave and electric stove
Another TV area shot
Upstairs Master Bedroom/ King bed in there now
Newer photo of upper blue ocean master
View from family room into master
Upstairs Master Bathroom
Upstairs Master Bathroom
Upstairs Second Bedroom/ new queen bed in there a Certa!
Newer photo of upper second bedroom
Upstairs 2nd Bathroom- the fish bathroom
Lower master with bamboo canopy bed
Another shot of lower master
Another view of lower master
Downstairs Bathroom
Another view from the deck
Another deck view from 600 foot deck
Futon is now in lower master and bunkbeds are here
Gameroom  with a  ping pong table, small pool table and air hockey , bar and  ocean toy closet
Queen bed in gameroom/washer and dryer is also here
Queen bed in gameroom
A Two minute walk  from the house there's this wonderful swimming and snorkeling hole
Snorkeling hole and Papa bay where the whales frolic in the winter time
Milolii beach park- this area is down in the village where there are tidepools and a hike to beach
Milolii beach park- drive down Milolii Road to the town and there you hike into Honomolino Beach
Another view of house
Nearby Honomolino Beach- drive into Milolii, park at the community center, hike in 15 minutes to  very private beach...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Milolii, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
saradish2...
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“A lovely, homey place to get away from it all”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

A lovely, homey place to stay away from it all. One hour from Kona, one hour from Volcano National Park. Cheryl has thought of everything you will need for your stay. Daniel was easily accessible for anything we needed during our stay. Lots of space to make yourself at home. Gorgeous ocean views and perfect weather during our stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review! Please come again! If people think of this house as their second home we are doing what we try to do! Thanks so much for renting the place! I have a treasure with my caretaker Daniel!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fjoergens
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome house for a real Hawaii experience!”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Great place away from the Big Island resorts. Ideal for those who like peace & quiet. Very well equipped house with lots of beach gear, games, travel guides, kitchen and household essentials, free filtered water, etc. etc. Charmingly decorated. Nice local black sand beach (Honomolino) and access to the water within a minute's walk from the house. One thing to be aware of: there's no shops, restaurants, cafes, white sand beaches, or golf courses in the vicinity (at least 45 minutes' drive).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well-decorated and equipped house
Liked least: Long drive to get to any shops or cafes
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
Thank you for your great and truthful review. It's 30 minutes to get shopping and restaurants but you are right a white sand beach would be 45 minutes plus but there are great black sand beaches in the area. Punuluu , the famous black sand beach, is about a 40 minute drive away. Plus there's the wonderful hike out to the green sand beach or 4 wheel drive out there or locals will give you a ride for a price- that's by South point which I visit almost every trip as my 14 year old son loves to jump off the cliff there into the ocean. Again thank you for renint the house and come back some day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Volcano getaway”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This house its set in a beautiful scenery with breath taking views: sitting in the sun on the deck you are surrounded by a volcanic landscape that ends in the ocean.
The house itself offered us everything we needed and much much more - there is plenty of stuff to keep you busy, we really regretted only have booked this house for 3 nights. We used the house as a hub for our volcano adventures - about 1,5 hrs drive from the house through lovely towns. We also followed the recommendation of the lovely Daniel - who let us in the house and showed us all the features of the house - we went to a very secluded beach for which you had to hike through a tropical rainforest for about 20 minutes - quite an adventure with our 3 little ones, but definitely worth it!

Cheryl, thanks again for opening your doors to us - and for people who are thinking about booking this property: definately go for it. You win't be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The amount of love that has been out into this property
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
Thank you for your great review! Please come again! I love renting to repeat renters and people who appreciate the area, the scenery and the house. This is where the people from Kona build their weekend homes and the people from Hilo. It was a pleasure renting to you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDG42
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay at a quiet, remote retreat in Milolii”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of seven enjoyed our stay at the Makai Hideaway. The house was fully prepared and all details were covered. Cheryl gave us helpful information in preparation for the trip about surrounding sights, restaurants and activities. It was great having Daniel the caretaker located next store. The drive to the house from the main road was an adventure. The area was quiet and we appreciated eating out on the deck everyday and enjoying the wonderful view. Our children also enjoyed the games and boogie boards. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation off the beaten path then this is a great place for you.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Come again and spread the word in California please! I think the view coming down the road off the highway in one of the most beautiful on the island- it never fails to maze me!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kai d
1 review
“good times”
Reviewed 23 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Rent the house for about a week for my extended family. Very spacious house, plenty of amenities. Great view of the ocean. Owner Cheryl is super helpful.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2015
Thank you kai! Come back again and spread the word in San Diego please! Glad you loved the house! I love that ocean view too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrucey00
Oakland, California
1 review
“Wonderful end to our beautiful honeymoon on the Big Island”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This was a wonderful end to our honeymoon adventure on the Big Island. Cheryl was very communicative leading up to our trip. We ended up having to rearrange our travel dates and Cheryl did everything she could to help us have a full, pleasant stay. The home itself is large, especially for two people, so we definitely didn't take enough advantage of all the toys and amenities this place has to offer. We really enjoyed the beautiful king bed, the wonderful ocean breeze, the incredible deck, kitchen that was well-stocked with everything needed to cook, and some of the special little private nooks nearby where we could get in some great swims in the ocean. We loved watching the sunsets from the expansive deck and Cheryl really thought of everything one might need to make themselves feel right at home. Thank you for making such a memorable end to our trip!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review- so glad your stay was memorable. Come back and bring friends! It was a pleasure having you stay! Thanks for leaving house so clean!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd F
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Family Vacation”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I'm not sure how we found this place, but so glad we did. It accomodated our group of 11 so well. We were able to kick back on the wonderful deck upstairs, grill,and enjoy the incredible ocean view, while the kids played ping pong and bumper pool downstairs. Four minute walk to water for great snorkeling and kayaking. Trying to figure out when we can come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Deck, View and House
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review! It is a great family place! It even accomodates 12 people! Please come again- would love to rent to you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing