We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vanhercke B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laarne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vanhercke B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Laarne B&B and Inns
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
1 review
“A wonderful vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

A special place
We came with a 5-year-old girl and one year old baby

The hosts were very friendly
Nice home with large yard
The yard is very useful with children
There is a lake just opposite the house adds a pleasant atmosphere
Quick and very easy highway access
Location of the town of Larna excellent for those who wants to visit Brussels and Bruges Without long travel with children


It was a wonderful vacation
We will be happy to stay again next time

Golan and Rita Gahali
Carmel 13/28 Rehovot
ISRAEL

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GOLRIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

The Van Hercke b&b is an absolute gem that provides a superb base to visit some of the great centres of Belgium - Antwerp, Brussels, Bruges and, of course, Ghent itself. It's located very close to the motorway network and you never have to travel that far.

This Van Herkes' have managed to combine the convenience of a rented cottage with that of a standard bed & breakfast. Ingrid arrives with her tray at the agreed time and you start the day with a superb breakfast. The eggs, laid by their own hens, are superb.

After a busy day sight-seeing it's wonderful arriving back in you cottage where you have facilities, if you want to heat up your own meal.

This really is the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikesSm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed here 4 years ago for two nights just to extend our holiday a little bit and loved every minute of it, so decided to go back for a week this summer. Just as good if not better, the girls aged 12 and 9 couldn't wait to go back, Ingrid and Daniel are the best hosts you could wish for, nothing is too much trouble for them, always on hand for advice and tips, even when going out for the evening told us to phone them if we had a problem, not many hosts would give such assurances. A car is definitly needed as it off the beaten track but worth it for the peace and quiet you get, the cottages (we have stayed in both) and gardens are lovely. Ghent is beautiful, you can drive or if adventurous get a couple of buses, Ingrid looked up the timetable and wrote everything down we would need. Brugge is 40 mins by car, easy to get there and free parking on the ring road, stunning place lots to do and if you like excerise...climb The Belfry 366 steps!!! As a family we love Belgium, will definitly go back to Ingrid and Daniel again and explore more!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

In May, my husband and I along with another couple stayed at the two cottages of Van Hercke Bed and Breakfast near Ghent, Belgium. It provided a charming, spotless, quiet retreat in a rural setting, yet it was near the major higways so that we could take day trips to Ghent, Bruges, Oostende, Brussels, and Dunkerque. Ingrid and Daniel are wonderful hosts, but they don't intrude on one's privacy. Ingrid offers a full breakfast each morning in her flower-filled greenhouse. She also provides maps and pamphlets for visiting nearby sites. The cottages are comfortable and have small kitchenettes. We enjoyed our wine and cheese outside in the garden before going to nearby restaurants. Also nearby are grocery stores. We highly recommend the Van Hercke's B&B.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amieduvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2007

First of all let me second the previous review by HReichel.

My husband and I, both retired, were looking for a place in the Netherlands or Belgium to spend a relaxed week in the country after a 2-week barge tour. This was a great choice.

The "green cottage" was the larger of the two accomodations and actually had a fair-sized bathroom, normal by U.S. standards. The adequately supplied kitchenette let us prepare our own breakfasts but we did enjoy a hearty breakfast the first a.m.

The stone/brick decor was lovely. We didn't use the fireplace as it was unseasonably warm. The TV was small-ish, but worked well (important since we kept our touring days short.)

The pond across the street and general rural atmosphere of the area was charming for walking. One downside is that you can hear highway traffic from the yard (not in the rooms), but we soon forgot about that.

We were able to take a trip into Ghent and get in some area bird-watching, including a day-trip to the coast and the Het Zwin reserve.

Ingrid and her family helped us locate all we needed and suggested some spots we might enjoy. One great suggestion was the nearby De Verseau tavern, with good beers and a great kitchen. Driving on the main roads took a bit of getting used to, but generally they are very well signed.

This was exactly what we were looking for and recommend it to anyone wanting a similar experience.

  • Liked — Friendly, semi-rural surroundings
  • Disliked — Traffic noise from highway (not really bad, and not heard in room)
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dodgema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2006

My husband, 3 yr old son and myself stayed here in May of 2003. I like to go back and read reviews of places we've stayed (on tripadvisor) and I noticed nothing has been posted on this place in 3 years (written in Sept/06).

We were on a quick 5-day trip to Belgium and I stumbled across this place on Belgium's tourist board site. It appeared to be outside of Ghent and we knew nothing of the area. It was a perfect central location for our quick tour of Brussels, Ghent and Brugge. It was a perfect place for our "family" situation, having our 3yr old with us.

We rented the cottage and we were quite comfortable. It is very peaceful here. Our son loved running around the gardens and watching the ducks walk around (there is a pond across the street) and watching all the horse farms, as we drove around the area.

The breakfasts were very good and got us prepared for a good start each day. As with all good B&B's, The Van Hercke family was very helpful, providing maps, directions and suggestions. All the comments in their guest book were wonderful.

One note, you need to have a car. This B&B is not walking distance from any train station. It is located in the village of Laarne, just outside of Ghent. We had a rental car, that we would just drive to the train station to go into Brussels. We chose to drive to Brugge, not a big deal.

  • Liked — Host Family, location, uniqueness, breakfasts
  • Disliked — needed a car, tiny bathroom (typical in europe)
  • Stayed May 2003, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hriechel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laarne
1.4 mi away
B&B Annekin
B&B Annekin
#3 of 3 in Laarne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
2.0 mi away
't Groene Genoegen
't Groene Genoegen
#1 of 3 in Laarne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
3.1 mi away
B&B Eau Chaumes
B&B Eau Chaumes
#41 of 113 in Ghent
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Karels Halte
Karels Halte
#1 of 2 in Destelbergen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Vanhercke B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanhercke B&B

Property: Vanhercke B&B
Address: Meerskant 18, Laarne 9270, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Laarne
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Laarne
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vanhercke Family offers 2 charming studios in a luxurious Flemish cottage style. Explore the quiet old valley of the Schelde and the medieval atmosphere of ancient Laarne (Ghent). Stay a night, a week, or longer in one of our Guest Cottage Studios. Built like typical Flemish cottage, they adjoin our 18th century house and are nestled between the water castle of Laarne and the nearby wetlands. Built in the typical Flemish brick stone as luxury apartment bed and breakfast studios for 2/4 persons, the cottages are annexed to a 18th century cottage farm, which is located at the foot of a natural park, that was formed by an old meander of the river Schelde. Free parking at your cottage, easily accessible, big garden ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing