We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still our favourite place after 7 visits!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boncath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Just back after another wonderful week at Clydey Cottages. My husband, 6 year old & I stayed in Heather - a gorgeous 2 bed cottage & had the best time ever.
Animal feeding every morning with the lovely Farmer Malcolm. Hours in the soft play, afternoons in the fab heated pool then evenings in the outdoor hot tub - back to cottage for meals in front of the wood burner, what could be better? Well how about the fact that the owners Jacqui & Dewi have truly thought of everything you & your family could possibly want when on holiday. There is an on site spa, childrens club, baby & children's equipment to borrow (even wet gear & wellies!) the 10 cottages are so luxurious, I genuinely can't think of anything that could be added to this place to make it any better - it is perfection. If you are thinking of going here, stop thinking & book, quick whilst you still can as we have just booked stays 8 & 9 and are counting down now until our return.
Thank you to all the fab staff for making Clydey everything it is & providing us with this amazing bolt hole from the stresses of modern life. Our little boy is growing up with the best memories. Believe every review on here xx

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank abbey1136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClydeyCotts, Owner at Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your holiday with us at Clydey, your positive and constructive feedback is always appreciated. Agreed, that there is plenty to do come "rain or shine" to help parents relax and children return home with great memories e.g. helping farmer Malcolm feed the farm animals every day. We look forward to welcoming you back for holiday no.8 with us at Clydey later this year. With best regards from Dewi, Jacqui and all the The Team @ Clydey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I took our 2 year old to Clydey back in early September last year, and after reading all the reviews on Trip Advisor we had sky high expectations - and they were absolutely met. We spent ages trawling the internet looking for the perfect holiday to have with a toddler, and after looking at all sorts of European breaks we settled on Clydey in Wales! We desperately wanted some time to relax and unwind, and wanted a stress free option that we could be certain our son would enjoy. The owners really have thought of everything! Our son was in heaven and every morning he ran to the door of our cottage in his pjs asking when he was going to see the animals! Farmer Malcolm was absolutely lovely and so good with all the children really making sure that everyone had a go at feeding the animals, he was so patient. The cottages are stunning, luxurious bathrooms with lovely smelling soaps, heated floors and rain showers with all the toddler/baby friendly things you would expect. The playroom was amazing, how fantastic to have something so great on-site. Only problem was that our son wanted to go in there all the time! We made use of the crèche for an afternoon so that we could have some time out, our little boy had a lovely time. There's is literally so much for the little ones to do, and the good thing is that you get to relax too! I had a lovely massage in the spa, and in the evenings we went and sipped wine in the hot tub listening to the sheep grazing in the fields next to us. (the monitor reached!) What could be more relaxing than that?! One tiny little suggestion that I had was that they need towelling robes for going to and fro the pool and hot tub (apparently they are on the shopping list already!). We made use of the delicious Cook meals that were available, it was so nice to have the option. We honestly can't recommend Clydey highly enough, we were so relaxed that we manage to conceive our second child who is due in 3 months time! We will definitely go back and take her there too. Thank you again to the owners and Malcolm for creating a truly wonderful place. It was a holiday to remember!

Room Tip: We stayed in Jasmine cottage which was lovely but over looks the car park which isn't great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClydeyCotts, Owner at Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your holiday with us at Clydey, your positive and constructive feedback is much appreciated. Agree that Jasmine is not located in the bed part of Clydey, hence it is cheaper, but still nice. We can provide almost everything you require for your little ones at Clydey, and there is plenty to do come "rain or shine" to help parents relax and your children return home with great memories. We look forward to welcoming you back for another holiday with us at Clydey one day. With best regards from Dewi, Jacqui and The Team @ Clydey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed Friday 7th February to Monday 10th February in the farmhouse for a family weekend to celebrate my 60th birthday. Couldn't have found a more perfect location, with woodland to walk in, animals to feed and a hot tub!! Would recommend this stay to everyone , perfect accommodation and friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClydeyCotts, General Manager at Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your weekend break with us at Clydey Cottages, we much appreciate the feedback. Your comments help us to know where to re-invest in our business, thereby improving services and the customer experience as a whole. We look forward to welcoming you back to Clydey again in the future. With best regards, Dewi, Jacqui and the whole team here at Clydey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

A wonderful find. Lovely cosy cottage (we stayed at Heather), quite compact but we liked this as found we were always together (the point of the holiday) rather than spread around a bigger house. Very well equipped and all the small child paraphernalia in situ when we arrived. We got there very late on a Friday and the cottage was warm with everything ready for sticking the kids straight into bed.
The best thing about Clydey is the ease of child friendly activities - on the doorstep - we were there a week in the rain in january and had a fantastic time. There's animal feeding with farmer Malcolm every day (which is really hands on for the children, safe and well organised), a great soft play and well equipped play room - tonnes of great toys (not just old hand me downs with dead batteries like some soft play centres) and the pool, a lovely indoor heated pool again with plenty of toys, hot tub and sauna. Really appreciated the little extra thoughtful touches - ample fire wood provided, free hot drinks in the soft play, big sofas in the softpay, milk and welsh cakes waiting for us on arrival, all this makes the place feel so much more friendly and civilised ( ie unlike trying to 'screw you for every penny' like the bigger holiday operators!) I think Clydey have got it just right- good taste, luxurious but not overly so, practical, easy and convenient. They've managed to set things up so that children are well entertained and are the focus/ but at the same time parents can relax too. Other things......The onsite spa is handy for the mums. I liked the two chest freezers full of 'cook' ready meals and icecream. The staff are all lovely.
We didn't venture too far as weather was atrocious but most beaches are about 30 mins away and friends told us Folly Farm was good.
We'll certainly be going back and hope Clydey don't change a thing!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClydeyCotts, Owner at Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your holiday with us at Clydey, your positive and constructive feedback is much appreciated. Yes we can provide almost everything you require for your little ones at Clydey, and there is plenty to do come "rain or shine". We look forward to welcoming you back for another "perfect family holiday" with us at Clydey one day. With warmest regards from Dewi, Jacqui and all of The Team @ Clydey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed in Honeysuckle cottage for 3 nights last weekend and it was just fab. ("We" being my hubbie, me and our 4 and 2 year olds).

Clydey cottages are set in beautiful countryside and as they enjoy an elevated position, there are stunning views from every angle.

Upon arrival, our cottage was extremely welcoming - cosy and warm, lamps glowing, sumptuous beds made up, log burner ready to go with a basket of logs and kindling, fresh cut flowers, Welsh tea cakes and tea laid out, stair gates in place and even bed guards added to our son's bed. Great start to a relaxing weekend.

The facilities, considering this is a small site are brilliant. Our kids loved the soft play and I especially loved the rare opportunity to sit and read a magazine with a hot chocolate in hand while keeping an eye on them! We all enjoyed the swimming pool which we had entirely to ourselves.

They really have thought of everything at Clydey to ensure that every moment is taken up with fun and relaxation. They sell wonderful home-cooked frozen meals which are great if you dont fancy cooking or venturing out in the evening,

Although it was a bit cold and wet for our kids to enjoy, there is a huge garden with swings, climbing frame, play house and trampoline which would provide hours of fun in warmer weather.

Finally, the highlight for our kids was feeding the farm animals with Farmer Malcolm who went out of his way to make it memorable.

Aside from the cottage, the area has lots to offer. There are some lovely walks, pretty beaches and great attractions for kids - we especially loved Folly Farm.

All in all a fabulous weekend and we're desperate to go back! On the way to school this morning my daughter was near to tears saying she wanted to go back to the cottage in Wales and I found myself this afternoon checking their availability for later in the year!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen01707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClydeyCotts, Owner at Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you very much for this excellent review of your holiday at Clydey, your feedback is much appreciated by the whole team and we look forward to seeing you again one day.
With warmest regards from Dewi, Jacqui and all of The Team @ Clydey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed at the foxglove cottage at Clydey and it had everything you could want. The soft play area was fantastic for our little one. Lots of books and toys for the kids to play. Farmer Malcolm was great with the kids and ensured that everyone got a turn at feeding the animals. The pool was so well kept that you would not believe that Clydey has been going strong for 10 years. It was immaculate. Genuine thought has gone into the amenities and the added touch makes it so welcoming. Plenty for the kids to do on the grounds and beaches not to far away. Large DVD collection also came in handy when our little one was snoozing. Will be looking to go back again soon.

Room Tip: Foxglove is the smallest cottage but very cosy. Would highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matu1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClydeyCotts, Owner at Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent holiday with us in Foxglove Cottage. We really do appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again at some point in the future. With warmest regards from Dewi, Jacqui and The Team @ Clydey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Hired 2 cottages for 10 adults and 2 children, absutley fabulous, decorated beautifully for us, mulled wine, mince pies, jams, tea coffee milk a waiting for us on arrival.
Beds and bedding perfect, lovely and clean logs in basket for fire they rely thought of everything.
I would thoroughly recommend this race to anyone, swimming pool, hot tub games room, soft play area I could go on and on, Jackie and dewie the owners are amazing so helpful really lovely nothing too much trouble. Thank you Jackie for a fab Christmas .

Stayed: December 2013
Thank gozzy1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClydeyCotts, Owner at Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your family holiday over the festive period, and that everything was too your liking. We really do appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again at some point in the future. With warmest regards from Dewi, Jacqui and The Team @ Clydey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boncath
20.1 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
515 reviews
18.1 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,232 reviews
2.5 mi away
Top of the Woods
Top of the Woods
#2 of 6 in Boncath
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire

Address: Pembrokeshire | Wales, Boncath SA37 0LW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Boncath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Boncath
Price Range: £100 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clydey Cottages are special. Ten award winning cottages, nestled amongst the North Pembrokeshire countryside and on the borders of Carmarthenshire and Ceredigion, with stunning views over meadows, hills and woodlands. They take your breath away. 20 Acres of shared grounds include landscaped lawns, wild flower meadows and a woodland walk. There is a daily animal feeding routine where guests can join in to help feed the resident chickens (and collect their eggs for breakfast) as well as the pigs, Pygmy goats, sheep, donkeys, rabbits, guinea pigs and Shetland ponies. There are indoor softplay and outdoor play areas, as well as 5 star leisure facilities which include an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa, games room and both indoor and outdoor hot-tubs. Beauty Treatments and holistic therapies can also be arranged within the comfort of our new Spa. Winner of Gold Award 'Best Place to Stay in Wales' for 2010 & 2015, and 'Best Self-Catering Accommodation in Pembrokeshire' in 2009, 2011, 2013 & 2015, along with Tripadvisor Excellence Awards in 2011, 2012, 2013 & 2014. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clydey Cottages Hotel Boncath
Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire Boncath, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing