We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family holiday and would be cosy for two as well!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boncath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic family holiday and would be cosy for two as well!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have holidayed here twice, first (Sept 2013) in Foxglove Cottage which was lovely & cosy with our little girl on a comfy (for me too!) fold out bed at the the end of ours. Second time with the grandfather over from NZ - 2 bed cottage: one up, one down, so personal space for all. 'Papa' took great delight taking granddaughter to feed the animals in the morning (with the brilliant Farmer Malcolm who follows a routine that the children love and become familiar with, thus putting them at ease with the animals), and was continually dragged off to soft play,bikes and pool which was all good fun. Second time round we found even more to do outside of Clydey - beautiful countryside and lots of attractions - Teifi Valley Railway being a personal favourite for its quaint charm, the views you get to see on the train and for the wonderful people who run it. We have had 2 lovely relaxing holidays here. Everyone is very friendly when you meet them - usually animal feeding time - but at the same time you are barely aware of the other cottages the rest of the time. And the booking process is a dream - personalised contact with Jacqui and Dewi. Can't reccommend this holiday enough.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rlpnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewi D, Manager at Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review of your recent holiday with us, your feedback is much appreciated and always acted upon by the management team and our staff. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future. With our best regards Dewi, Jacqui and all of The Team at Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
283
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed in Tansy and arrived on a Sunday. Amazing as everything was set up as we had ordered from their recommended farm shop who had been and packed everything away.
The animal feeding was a huge highlight every morning for our 2 year old and farmer Malcolm remembers all the children's names and makes them feel very special.
On sunny days we borrowed the BBQ that the cottages provide and rainy days used the Cook freezer. The cottages are stocked with really useful kitchen bits as standard- cling film, dishwasher tablets, dettol spray, bin bags etc. plus there's an on site shop at reception with all the basics. loads of ride on toys provided, and outdoor trampoline a big hit - as was the soft play room which is ideal for tiring out pre schoolers before bedtime!
We will definitely be back as Clydey really is set up to make life easy with small children, and unlike other self catering set ups, you don't need to pre plan all your shopping before you go.
No negatives - very unusual for me. Clydey obviously really care about continually improving and ask for comments on departure. After thinking hard the most I could come up with was some coat hooks in the play room and a new bath plug!

Room Tip: There's a cottage plan on Clydey website so you can see where they all are. From Tansy we had be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FerryWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewi D, Owner at Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review of your recent holiday with us, your feedback is much appreciated and always acted upon by the management team and our staff. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future. With our best regards Dewi, Jacqui and all of The Team at Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

First impressions really don't let you down. A stunning location on the side of a valley. A warm personnel welcome even though we arrived later than planned. Cosy, clean cottage that has thought of everything so if you have small children you don't need to take the kitchen sink!
The children ( 4 yrs & 2 1/2 yrs) couldn't of been happier with a fantastic outdoor play area, room to run around, loads of ride on scooters, tractors etc. The weather was kind to us so we stayed mainly outside, but it's also got a very well thought out soft indoor play room and my children just could not get enough of the swimming pool ( and hot tub). It's also got a games room with air football, table tennis, pool, board games and loads of dvd's. We can recommend the Tractor Ted series as the children loved to go and choose a new one everyday! There's animal feeding everyday but Sunday with farmer Malcome which was a huge hit. The staff are really helpful land nothing is too much trouble. If you do venture out it is very well placed for the lovely beaches around Cardigan bay. On reflection it is the most relaxed holiday we have had since the children came along. We had high expectations of Clyde as it is more expensive than previous cottages we've stayed at but it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: We stayed in Snowdrop, it has a double room upstairs and master bedroom down stairs. It is nearest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClydeyCotts, Owner at Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Thank you so much for kind words and taking the time to provide this valuable feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed Clydey so much and will pass on your feedback to the team. We hope to welcome you back to Clydey in the near future and are currently looking into ways of introducing a loyalty scheme in the hope of continuing to provide value for money. With best regards, Dewi & Jacqui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

All the other reviews don't lie, this place is really brilliant. We stayed in Snowdrop cottage with our 2 year old and it was perfect. The beds are huge and comfortable and everything you can imagine you will need for a toddler is there, blackout blinds, plastic cups and cutlery etc. Farmer Malcolm is great - friendly, calm and amazing at remembering names! We loved having some time to ourselves while our little one enjoyed the kids club, prosecco in the hot tub went down well!
The surrounding area is also gorgeous with lovely beaches and pubs but we also spent a lot of time on site as well. We are already planning our next trip in 2015! Thanks to all at Clydey for a great break.

Room Tip: Snowdrop is close enough to the hot tub for the baby monitor to reach....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewi D, Owner at Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you very much for this superb review of your recent holiday with us, your feedback is much appreciated by the management team and our staff. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. With our best regards Dewi, Jacqui and all of The Team @ Clydey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic family holiday with 2 year old daughter. Plenty to keep her occupied on site on lazy days and wonderful beaches nearby. This family run business supplies a perfect retreat whereby nothing has been overlooked, from spare wellies to borrow to excellent home cooked meals in the freezers to a soft play area any toddler would want as their bedroom to the wonderful, friendly and warm farmer Malcolm. We are already seriously thinking about going back in 2015. This place is truely faultless.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carherine84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewi D, Owner at Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review of your recent holiday with us, your feedback is much appreciated by the management team and our staff. We very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to holiday with us again sometime. With our best regards Dewi, Jacqui and all of The Team at Clydey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

None of the reviews you will read on Trip Advisor exaggerate how good Clydey is.
We spent a week in Heather Cottage early last December with our two year old twins and after two disastrous holidays abroad last year Clydey was just perfect. The cottage was beautiful and even had Christmas lights and a tree up to get us in the mood for the festive time approaching and the scenery was beautiful. It did not matter what the weather was like as we could use the indoor pool or the soft play area. Farmer Malcolm was just fabulous with our boys and really made the holiday special. Sorry this has taken me so long to finally write a review but I would recommend Clydey to anyone and we will definitely be back ........ :-)

Room Tip: We opted for Heather Cottage which is lovely and both bedrooms were upstairs so with a stairgate the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClydeyCotts, Owner at Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Thank you so much for kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed Clydey so much and will pass on your feedback to the team. We hope to welcome you back to Clydey in the very near future and are currently looking into ways of introducing a loyalty scheme via our Supercontrol booking system. With best regards, Dewi & Jacqui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Tucked away down a winding country road, facing into a green and pleasant valley lies a group of cottages, set up, equipped and maintained to provide an idyllic break for a family.

As Clydey provided all of those little extras (baby monitors, blackout blinds, cots, high-chairs) left enough space for us to pack 100 other little (and not so little things) that, to be honest, we didn't really need.

Pembrokeshire offers so much for the visitor - beautiful Welsh countryside and amazing beaches, fantastic restaurants and some incredible (and some bizarre) visitor attractions.

We went to hardly any. We couldn't tear ourselves away from Clydey.

The daily animal feeding with Farmer Malcolm was the mornings entertainment for our 3 year old. We then had to prize her off the swings, the slide, out of the wendyhouse, drag her away from the play cars and get her back to the cottage before she ran off to see the pig again! Just so we could give the 10 month old a snack, sat on the lawn - and just because we could, fresh eggs for the rest of us - collected (in part by our 3 year old) that very morning.

The woodland walk beckoned a couple of times but the girls fatigue (okay my fatigue) kicked in and we didn't make it the whole way. But what I saw of it was beautiful - wild flowers and butterflies aplenty.

For the occasional shower we could take refuge in the indoor soft play area or the heated (a bath like 30 degrees) pool. We had 3 barbecues (equipment provided) and lit the wood burning stove one night (logs provided).

We also took advantage of the treatment room with a late night massage for the Mrs and me.

I'm back at work now but fully refreshed, and looking forward to our next trip to Clydey,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoGWeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewi D, Director of Sales at Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review of your recent holiday with us, your feedback is much appreciated by the whole team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future. With our best regards Dewi, Jacqui and The Team at Clydey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boncath
24.0 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
18.1 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,192 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
557 reviews
20.1 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
493 reviews
12.4 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire

Property: Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire
Address: Pembrokeshire | Wales, Boncath SA37 0LW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Boncath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Boncath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clydey Cottages are special. Ten award winning cottages, nestled amongst the North Pembrokeshire countryside and on the borders of Carmarthenshire and Ceredigion, with stunning views over meadows, hills and woodlands. They take your breath away. 20 Acres of shared grounds include landscaped lawns, wild flower meadows and a woodland walk. There is a daily animal feeding routine where guests can join in to help feed the resident chickens (and collect their eggs for breakfast) as well as the pigs, Pygmy goats, sheep, donkeys, rabbits, guinea pigs and Shetland ponies. There are indoor softplay and outdoor play areas, as well as 5 star leisure facilities which include an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa, games room and both indoor and outdoor hot-tubs. Beauty Treatments and holistic therapies can also be arranged within the comfort of our new Spa. Winner of Gold Award 'Best Place to Stay in Wales' for 2010 & 2015, and 'Best Self-Catering Accommodation in Pembrokeshire' in 2009, 2011, 2013 & 2015, along with Tripadvisor Excellence Awards in 2011, 2012, 2013 & 2014. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clydey Cottages Hotel Boncath
Clydey Cottages Pembrokeshire Boncath, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing