We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Such a relaxing place to stay, the accommodation was spotless and the food was really fantastic. The owners were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. The surrounding countryside is so beautiful. We stayed there for 2 nights (22nd & 23rd November), my in-laws also stayed, and their room was just as great as ours was. We stayed there to go to the Christmas Medieval Festival in Ludlow and the owners gave us great advice about where to park, which was so useful as we avoided most of the traffic at the end of the day. Couldn't fault anything about the place. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be great to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

My Wife and myself spent 3 nights at The Crown Inn,Newcastle on Clun on Friday 1st November.....it was sheer bliss! There was nothing NOT to like,the accommodation was exquisite,the food was delicious,the hosts (Debbie & Lyndsey) were just brilliant! Nothing was a problem and their attention to detail was exemplary!!
If you are looking for a relaxing, peaceful break from the hustle and bustle of modern life....give it a try,you will not be disappointed.It is set in stunning countryside and for those shopaholics amongst us it is within easy reach of many shopping centres.
For those lucky enough to have visited well,you know what I am saying.For those that have not...give it a go you will then know what you have been missing and like myself and my Wife will be looking forward to your next visit and the next and the...you get the idea!!
Wood burner on a cold evening,good food,good beer and excellent hosts with spotlessly clean accommodation.What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: We had the Tudor room at the front of the Inn with lovely views of the surrounding hills.Timbered wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My Wife and myself spent 3 nights at The Crown,Newcastle on Clun on Friday 1st November.....it was sheer bliss! There was nothing NOT to like,the accommodation was exquisite,the food was delicious,the hosts (Debbie & Lyndsey) were just brilliant! Nothing was a problem and their attention to detail was exemplary!!
If you are looking for a relaxing, peaceful break from the hustle and bustle of modern life....give it a try,you will not be disappointed.It is set in stunning countryside and for those shopaholics amongst us it is within easy reach of many shopping centres.
For those lucky enough to have visited well,you know what I am saying.For those that have not...give it a go you will then know what you have been missing and like myself and my Wife will be looking forward to your next visit and the next and the...you get the idea!!

Room Tip: We had the Tudor room,exposed beams etc but, the "new" room has a double aspect so on our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We have just returned from a short trip to south Shropshire and stayed at the Crown Inn.It proved clean, warm and welcoming on a cold ,frosty evening. Handy parking. Comfy bed. Good breakfast of the usual fare. Electric blankets a nice touch. Very quiet and peaceful. Good area for exploration. Would definitely use again if in the area.

Room Tip: Don't muddle with pub of the same title. Don't forget voucher if part of a gift package!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have just returned from a weekend break in Shropshire where we stayed one night at The Crown Inn. The room we had was furnished in a modern style, was at the back of the pub, was quiet and was spotlessly clean. It was warm, very comfortable and welcoming at the end of a rainy November day. The room had a lovely big bed - with an electric blanket - a good shower, hair dryer, plenty of tea and coffee (with mugs) and a jar of sweets.
The pub was welcoming with a wood burning stove in the bar will send you to sleep; they served good pub food - which catered for vegetarians - and they had a good selection of breakfast items the next morning.
The village is quiet and is central for Shropshire with plenty of good walks nearby.
I would recommend this for a nice quiet rural break.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Exiled_Cumbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Just spent two nights at The Crown Inn, staying in Room 4 which was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with a lovely big bed, a good shower, decent hair dryer, plenty of tea and coffee (with mugs) and a jar of sweets. Situated in a small village which was so peaceful and quiet, it all made for a very relaxing stay. Great breakfast and evening meal, all freshly cooked - loved the rustic chips! Lindsey and Debbie made us very welcome and we would be very happy to recommend The Crown Inn to friends. We would certainly stay again. Many thanks to you both.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We have just returned from spending three days and two nights at the Crown Inn at Newcastle on Clun, our room (#2) was spotless, fully equipped and with a good size TV and a massive king sized bed which was extremely comfortable, on suite shower and bathroom was of a good size. This is just about everything we wanted from a pub based B&B. Please note that the Crown Inn is A TRADITIONAL PUB WITH ROOMS NOT A HOTEL!!!!
The locals were very friendly and the atmosphere in the pub very welcoming. Good selection of local ales and excellent cooked breakfasts and try the strawberries and oats as an alternative!! Great stuff Debbie and Lyndsey highly recommended we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: The Briars 4368 Main Street, Newcastle-on-Clun SY7 8QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Newcastle-on-Clun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle-on-Clun
Price Range: £68 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th-century country inn serving real ales & excellent home-cooked fayre, full of character & charm, with great atmosphere & real log fires. Newcastle is ideally suited to those who enjoy walking, cycling, fishing & golfing or visiting the historic towns in and around the South Shropshire Hills, the Welsh border & beyond... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Inn Newcastle-On-Clun, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing