We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every respect”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent in every respect”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We arranged a 3 night stay here to celebrate our brother's very special birthday and were not dissappointed! The location, accommodation and service all absolutely hit the spot and contributed hugely to a very successful weekend

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 890chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    84
    18
    2
    4
See reviews for
20
275
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosport
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had a lovely one night stay with friends who had a voucher. Both rooms 1 and 3 were very comfortable with great views, the bottle of water and sweetie jar a bonus. Very relaxed stay, evening meal served by Holly (who was delightful), the food home cooked was delicious praise to the young chef, the apple and rhubarb crumble prepared with rhubarb from Holly's mum's garden was especially delicious. We had a warm welcome from Debbie and family, especially the first drink from the bar after a long journey, try the Ludlow Ale on tap delicious, would definitely stay again beautiful area, would recommend a visit to Ludlow close by and nearby Stokesay Castle.

Room Tip: We had room 1, all rooms at front 1-3 have a lovely view and are very comfortable, haven't seen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinandjunep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just what was needed,weather not great but had a lovely weekend break and recharged the batteries. Thanks to Debbie and all the staff who made us feel at home and kept kept us well fed and watered,Hope to return when i retire to chill again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skemstokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a 2 night stay at the Crown Inn. Received a warm welcome from Debbie. Fantastic accommodation, spotlessly clean, some lovely touches like the bottle of water, jar of sweets & a very comfy king size bed. Excellent breakfast & evening meal everything piping hot. Made to feel very welcome & nothing was too much trouble. Waitress was lovely. Highly recommend here & this part of the country for a relaxing break & a great walking area. Thank you Debbie

Room Tip: Room 2 was super
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolm r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a two night stay at The Crown Inn this week and we are so glad we did. This was a special weddding anniversary trip on our own without our daughter and dog ( the first in 9 years). Everything was just right.Debbie was a wonderful host, making sure we were happy at all times but without being intrusive. We stayed in room 3. It was roomy, tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and had wonderful views of the hills from the comfy kingsize bed. We appreciated the little touches of proper mugs for our brews, box of tissues, jar of sweets and plenty of pillows. The Inn itself is great, all wooden beams, stone floors and a big wood burner in the bar with leather sofas. The village is lovely and quiet and we had a lovely walk up to the church to admire the views. Eating in the dining area was relaxed and the food was superb. The meals in the evening were homemade,tasty and plenty of it. The cooked breakfasts were the best we had eaten anywhere followed by toast and mouthwatering homemade jam and marmalade. We would recommend this place to all couples needing to get away,relax and recharge those batteries!

Room Tip: All 3 rooms at the front are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank razorblade82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had a two night stay at The Crown Inn this week and from the moment we entered until the moment we left everything was absolutely right. Debbie welcomed us and showed us to our beautiful en-suite room which was spotlessly clean and with the added extras of electric blanket and jar of sweeties. Debbie was very concerned that we had everything we needed and even offered fresh milk to replace the statutory UHT portions - a nice touch. Debbie was very warm without being overpowering and gave us lots of hints and tips about the surrounding area and places to visit. We decided to have our evening meals at The Crown and were very happy that we did - the food was excellent home-cooked fare served in good portions with fresh veg. Breakfast was a treat too, freshly cooked full English and delicious home-made marmalade and jam. Debbie was an attentive, but definitely not intrusive, host at all times and made our stay an absolute pleasure. Would highly recommend and location is great for walkers and cyclists and a great base for motoring sightseers like us. Thankyou Debbie, from Helen and Tony.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenJM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We have just returned from a very nice 3 day stay at The Crown Inn, we were greeted warmly by Deb who showed us to a lovely bright room. Bed was comfy and room nice and clean. We were served great food for both breakfast and dinner. The scenery around Newcastle on Clun is breathtaking. We were even lucky enough to have great weather for the entire stay. Thanks Deb!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-on-Clun
6.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
763 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
390 reviews
16.9 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
The Baskerville Arms
5.6 mi away
The School House B&B
The School House B&B
#1 of 3 in Bucknell
43 reviews
3.4 mi away
The White Horse Inn, Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: The Briars 4368 Main Street, Newcastle-on-Clun SY7 8QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Newcastle-on-Clun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle-on-Clun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th-century country inn serving real ales & excellent home-cooked fayre, full of character & charm, with great atmosphere & real log fires. Newcastle is ideally suited to those who enjoy walking, cycling, fishing & golfing or visiting the historic towns in and around the South Shropshire Hills, the Welsh border & beyond... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Inn Newcastle-On-Clun, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing