We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A most enjoyable break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Firstly I have to inform any readers that the Crown Inn is no longer a pub but having said that it still has a licence and Debbie or Holly are on hand to serve drinks to residents

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this pleasant, impeccably clean B&B in rural Shropshire run by Debbie and Lindsey, the thoughtful and welcoming hosts, The ex Inn is in a quiet location (despite the proximity of the road) in a small village in this lovely part of England There are 5 rooms available, 3 of which I saw which were tastefully decorated and dressed, with ensuite shower room and nice views of the nearby hills.

Our fear that there would be no atmosphere, as this was no longer a pub, were unfounded as the company of our fellow guests was, suffice to say, hilarious and great fun as we shared time together in the dining room and the bar in the evenings.

The evening menu is fixed but has a range to suit most tastes, it is nicely cooked and presented and , unlike earlier reviewers, we found the portions more than adequate. Breakfast was well cooked offering a good choice range too and was sufficient to set us up for the day's explorations.

All in all an extremely pleasant experience and if we should return to that area we would certainly consider staying there again. Thank Debbie and Lindsey and your team

Room Tip: Rooms 1 2 and 3 have good views of the hill, but I didn't see 4 and 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSM318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    78
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
260
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We followed Debbie's concise directions to The Crown in the jewel of beautiful countryside and scenery. Debbie is the perfect host of this characterful, partly 17th century built inn. As soon as we stepped through the door we felt welcome. The lounge area is cosy and has a comfortable feel where you can mull over the day's events with other guests. The room and ensuite were extremely clean, the bed very comfortable with clean, crisp, linen ensuring a good night's sleep.
We enjoyed a hearty breakfast on both mornings, although there was a good choice of cooked breakfasts to choose from we chose the Full English on both days. An excellent choice that I would recommend to start the day. Food cooked and presented nicely. On the Saturday we decided to have our evening meal at The Crown and enjoyed 3 courses, all delicious and again presented well. The prices were reasonable and good value.
We would definitely visit Debbie at The Crown again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank koala_sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed atThe Castle for 2 nights had dinner on the first night .The food was nice and well presented not overpriced.Breakfast was plentyful and freshly cooked.Debbie was very friendly Although we were at first disappointed that the bar was only open to guests we enjoyed chatting to the other people staying at the Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My Wife and I arrived here on Tuesday 24/06/14 following the instructions sent to us by Debbie they brought us straight there, we were met by Debbie who explained that they were not now a pub but a licensed premises this did not distract from our first impression it seemed perfect and this is what we found. The room we had (No 2) was spacious, clean and very comfy if a little quirky as the age of the building ( before spirit levels) was fun but beware low beams. We ate in on both nights a good selection of starters, mains and sweets the food was plentiful and hot a good bar as well. The breakfasts were huge but if you wanted a lighter bite that to was available all you had to do was ask Debbie. The service provided was First Class. Reception on mobiles was poor so a good place to get away for a quiet break WiFi is available, the location was perfect. This goes into our top five of places we have stopped at.

Room Tip: All rooms face the road but all Brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gadgetman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for 2 night which was a gift for our birthdays. The crown is a lovely place ,the room was very comfortable and clean with everything you needed to enjoy our stay .We dined on the friday night and the meal was very nice and reasonably priced,breakfast was very tasty too. I would not hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vinann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The perfect place to get away and relax. The location is perfectly situated for visiting the surrounding area. The accommodation is well presented and had the little touches that make a difference. The welcome was warm and personal with Debbie going out her way to assist. Although a 17th century cottage it has all the modern facilities. The food is great and the service is second to none. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Del D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

My husband & I have just returned from a lovely weekend at The Crown. The location is idillic, perfect for 'getting away from it all'.
Upon on our arrival we were met by Debbie & made to feel immediately welcome, our room was decorated to a high standard & the little additional touches just finish it off.
Dinner & breakfast's are superb, it is clear that a lot of thought has been put into the menu & there is something to appeal to everyone's taste.
There is a fully licensed bar & a pleasant seating area to have a drink before or after dinner along with a lovely beer garden area, which, if you are as lucky as we were with the weather is perfect to sit in & enjoy after a day out.
The B&B itself is located in a very quiet village but is ideal for exploring Shropshire either on foot or by car.
We have had a wonderful weekend thanks to Debbie & her team, which was just what we needed before the arrival of our baby.
Hopefully we will be back for another lovely break soon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernMrsS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-on-Clun
6.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
6.7 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Boars Head Hotel
The Boars Head Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newburgh House - Coxwold
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: The Briars 4368 Main Street, Newcastle-on-Clun SY7 8QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Newcastle-on-Clun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle-on-Clun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th-century country inn serving real ales & excellent home-cooked fayre, full of character & charm, with great atmosphere & real log fires. Newcastle is ideally suited to those who enjoy walking, cycling, fishing & golfing or visiting the historic towns in and around the South Shropshire Hills, the Welsh border & beyond... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Inn Newcastle-On-Clun, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing