We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two day stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle-on-Clun
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Quarry House Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Two day stay”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

It is difficult to run a successful B&B but the Evans manage this with skill and care. They are both very welcoming and breakfasts are carefully prepared with plenty of choice. Car parking is good and Quarry House is close to Offa's Dyke. The Evans welcome walkers and there is plenty of information about other local walks in this delightful area. The local pub is not operating as a public house at the moment but there is plenty of choice locally from good value bar meals to very high end restaurants.

Room Tip: The shower room in the annexe is rather snug.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
31
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I am just back from a great stay at The Quarry House. Michelle and Simon are the most wonderful hosts and go out of their way to make everyone feel welcome. The food is fantastic and the accomdodation is very comfortable. Definitely one to visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100TLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed for one night (only) on our Offa's Dyke Path walk. It was our fifth B&B on this trip, but thought we had been transferred to a higher league for one night.
Service and breakfast was outstanding.
Room, beds, toilet and shower, neat and clean.

Wifi available, but BT provided the region (we tested it also in Clun) not with enough bandwidth.

Room Tip: As far as I know there is only the separate 'house' and it is just perfect. Two beds; one do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We only stayed one night but had to write a rave for this place. Upon our arrival our host took our sodden boots and jackets to dry. We relaxed in the spacious, clean and quiet room until dinner which was excellent. My husband still talks about the homemade profiteroles we had for dessert.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cello1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Recently stayed at the Quarry House when walking Offa's Dyke. Superb room, friendly and helpful hosts and meals that would cut the mustard at any top class restaurant. We would very strongly recommend a stay there.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My friend and I stayed at The Quarry House whilst walking Offa's Dyke. Hospitality was good, we stayed two nights and had dinner both nights plus breakfasts and two packed lunches, we could not fault anything about the food.
Good quality and good value for money!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga_12019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

on arrival at The Quarry House we were greeted by Michelle,Simon and a wonderful treat of afternoon tea. Though we only stayed two nights we soon felt very comfortable and welcome.Our room had every thing we required,and was exceptionally clean. The food was of a very high standard and well presented.Nothing was too much trouble. we would not hesitate to to recommend it. We would stay again if we get the chance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-on-Clun
6.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 3 in Newcastle-on-Clun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
3.2 mi away
The White Horse Inn, Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The School House B&B
The School House B&B
#2 of 3 in Bucknell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Quarry House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quarry House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Quarry House Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Quarry House Church Road | Clun, Newcastle-on-Clun SY7 8QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Newcastle-on-Clun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle-on-Clun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quarry House, situated on the site of a former quarry, was originally a barn belonging to a neighbouring farm. Converted some years ago, The Quarry House now offers en-suite facilities both in the house and in the adjacent annex. Our highly acclaimed, home cooked meals can be enjoyed in our dining room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Quarry House Bed & Breakfast Newcastle-On-Clun, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing