We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“October half term visit 2 adults 2 children”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tosside, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Beverly E
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not for us”
Reviewed 5 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
2
people found this review helpful

The area of Tosside is fantastic and we will defiantly be visiting again to go on one of the many walks we found and of course visit the Old Vicarage restaurant for an excellent meal afterwards, however we will not be going back to the cottage again! On this occasion we had treated ourselves and spent around twice as much as we would normally have done.

The kitchen is very badly designed with no cupboard space to put anything away and a cooker that is a step up from a camping stove. We did try to cook in the pots provided but they were so scratched and burnt the anti-stick coating came off in our food. We ended up going out and buying ourselves a pan to use. As there is nowhere to put anything all the cup glasses etc. are out on shelves, we found that we needed to wash them up before we could use them. The sofa in the sitting room is a very old sofa bed that after about half an hour is the most uncomfortable thing I have ever sat on. We knew about the bed situation, but presumed that the step would be at both sides of the bed or at least in the middle.. no, if one of you wants to get up in the middle of the night then you are both awake.

The thing that completely and utterly annoyed me as soon as I walked in the door was the signs all over the house saying how hard it was to clean the place on change over day and all the things they would like you to do before you leave, strip the bed (you had to make it when you arrived) hoover up, wash the dishes because it is such a hard job for the cleaner. The people before us obviously didn’t do any of this because the poor cleaner didn’t have chance to check the cups and glasses, clean the shower curtain or make the bed.

If you want to open or close any of the blinds you will need to stand on the chairs.

Yes it is a nice touch to have dog bed and towel, but most dog owners I know pack for the dog well before they do for themselves and would be more appreciative of other items for their own use i.e. suitable pans, hairdryer etc. rather than dog treats and poo bags.

I was simply amazed when I re-read the previous reviews, it was as if they were reviewing a completely different place.

All of these issues are simple things that could easily be resolved with a little time and effort, many of them have been noted in the visitors book, but as far as I can see nothing has been done to make any improvements.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2018
Thank you for your comments.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the standard of your chosen property. We would have loved the opportunity to assist you during your stay, had we been made aware of any issues you were experiencing.

We would love to speak with you directly regarding your booking and should you wish to discuss this with us further, please contact us on 01244 345700.

Kind Regards,
The Customer Service Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubyvizla
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“October half term visit 2 adults 2 children”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We really enjoyed our stay in this quirky little cottage. It is a real home from home and both clean and equipped with most things you need. Perfect for quick Mountain Bike access to Gisburn Forest Hub trails which start just accross the road. Thoughtfuly the owners have placed a bike shelter large enough for 2 bikes to the rear. The cottage came with starter logs & kindling plus some basics like tea bags and sugar. The pub across the road is closed a one reviewer points out but the Crowtrees Inn is just a 15 min walk away with really great food, ales, wines and real fires, we were made to feel very welcome. (Please see seperate review). Inside the cottage there is lots of useful tourist info. and the location is ideal for visitors to the area beacuse there is lots to see and do. The town of Settle is a 15 minute drive away where there are lots of quirky shops pubs and amenities. Of note is the Booths supermarket which we found excellent for quality breads & produce.

There is no dedicated parking but we just parked over the road by the forest tracks so it wasn't an issue. Would highly recommend a stay here.


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Promanage...
Preston
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly if like us you like the idea of a pub next door then forget it that closed down years ago. Secondly be prepared for a climb into bed I personally found the experience claustrophobic. Sorry not to agree with the other opinions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little cottage”
Reviewed 6 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here for a week, with our dog. The cottage is in a great location to explore the South of the Dales, it's right on the border of Lancashire and North Yorkshire.
Whilst there we enjoyed trips to Ribblehead viaduct, Pen-y-ghent, Malham Cove and Bolton Abbey.
The cottage itself is decorated in a modern style. Two double bedrooms which are very comfortable. There is also a good wifi connection in the cottage. There are a couple of pubs within a 5minute drive (which are also dog friendly).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel S
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I cannot recommend this cottage highly enough. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in October. The décor and ambience of the cottage is so cosy and to a high standard. They have thought of everything. The property was spotlessly clean and warm when we arrived which made us feel at home straight away. The location is fantastic as there are walks in the forest that start just outside the front door. The garden was great for our border terrier as it was fully enclosed. We will definitely visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2015
It is so lovely to hear that you enjoyed the ambience of the house and that you felt so at home. It sounds like your Border Terrier had a great time too, he must have been in his element with those lovely walks! We hope you all come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riggeruk
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Unusual cottage in quiet village.”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Pinfold is the ex-village Post Office, which has been cunningly converted into a holiday cottage. It has a private garden which is (almost) dog proof, though there are a few gaps where a small dog could get through. Garden furniture provided.

Pinfold is set in a very rural and attractive village (Tosside), with a pub opposite which has very irregular hours and reputedly is up for sale. There is the Old Vicarage, a cafe, come restaurant, which I can't vouch for. There's plenty of pubs serving food within 20 minutes drive. The road can be occasionally noisy with farm vehicles, but this is the countryside!

Enter the cottage straight into the kitchen, with the modern shower room and toilet off. There's a small, two ring cooker with oven, toaster and all usual implements, including microwave. No dishwasher, but are you doing a lot of cooking on holiday?

Down three steps into the lounge/diner, two sofas, TV, dining table, a wood burning stove (not needed in July!).

The stairs off lead upstairs to two double bedrooms. Now, the beds are rather unusual and not suitable for elderly, or infirm, as they are high, quite high and you use a step stool to climb up. No problem for me and my partner, but bear in mind. No wardrobes, but plenty of coat-hooks. Plenty of electrical sockets throughout the property,

Apart from the garden, there is one, roped off, space for a car. If you need to bring a second car, speak to the owner. Wi-fi is included.

There's plenty of walking to be had in Bowland Forest, Gisburn Forest is just half a miles walk from the cottage. Settle is only about 9 miles, Clitheroe about the same. Lancaster, Morecambe, not far either. Try hiking up Pen-y-ghent!

The owners live next door, but leave you to your own devices.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickandTa...
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“one not to miss”
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

This cottage is definitely not one to miss.....a very clever conversion of what was once a post office, this cottage is full of character from fun and unique beds (situated higher and requiring the use of two steps) in good sized rooms through to the comfortable lounge and well equipped kitchen; all in a homely and stylish decor. We were particularly impressed with the enclosed garden making it safe for our German Shepherd Storm and the ample parking which is so sadly lacking in other cottages. David and Jacqueline were the perfect hosts.....there if you needed anything but not intrusive. We will be staying in this well located cottage again...absolutely perfect for a good holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the overall proprty itself and location
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing