We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat and to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crab & Lobster

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidlesham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crab & Lobster
Ranked #1 of 3 Sidlesham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Crab and Lobster for one night last weekend to celebrate my birthday. We had a great time - it is a delightful place to stay. Our room was large, very comfortable and well equipped. There are only four rooms plus a detached cottage. Binoculars were provided in our room to enjoy the view over Pagham Harbour. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent and served by friendly and efficient staff. The dinner menu is supplemented by a specials board which changes twice a day. Would particularly recommend the scambled egg with smoked salmon for breakfast. Our only regret was that we hadn't booked to stay longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonnefrom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    57
    29
    13
    5
See reviews for
43
175
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Worthing
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

A perfect find for a lunch time stop on our walk around Pagham Harbour ... spotting so many super birds. Lovely food and attentive staff ... the two or three course weekday lunch menu was perfect for us. We enjoyed the sunshine in the garden. Thank you for the Smarties!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Worthing82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level Contributor
227 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Saw the signs from the main road and decided to check it out and we were glad we did. Lovely pub with great food would make a lovely place for an evening meal, we were only there for lunch and didn't want much after a big breakfast. Will come back if in the area again and would definatley recommend .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank loobyBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

two lovely days; great staff, seriously good location, and the top floor room, no 4, was outstanding. we are in this business ourselves, so we have some idea of what it takes to make guests appear to have an effortless, painless, indulgent weekend

Room Tip: room 4--biggest, best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eastbrookfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed at the Crab Cottage for two nights after our wedding (June 2010). It was magical. The reception we received was exeptionally warm and service attentive throughout. If you book the Crab Cottage, not only do you get a wonderfully homely yet upmarket furnished two bed love nest to call your own for your stay, there's wonderful touches like a selection of welly boots for walks and board games for chilly nights. You can also order from the restaurant and dine in your own cute little courtyard, which is what we did for breakfast on the morning after we married. The restaurant food is of a very high standard and we found absolutely no fault with the service whatsoever. I'm amazed that even 4 people had seeming such bad experiences according to the reviews.

Our second stay was on our second anniversary, we stayed one night this time in one of their standard rooms, which was very nicely furnished in accordance with the price tag. You can see where your money goes, and it's worth it overall. Again, the restaurant was brilliant and the bar manager in particular was very welcoming. The bar staff were friendly, we told them it was our anniversary so we got a glass of bubbly each on the house. It just added to a very relaxed and romantic evening. The food was delicious, we both went for the steak this time, obviously not the speciality of the house, and it was great.

The reason I can't give it 5 out of 5 is that, for overnight accommodation, any of the back rooms (which we stayed in on both visits) are close to the kitchen fans which run on and off all night and are extremely loud. My husband didn't seem to notice too much, but it kept me awake on both stays, despite closing the windows. Such a shame, otherwise they would have got full marks for a quality, luxury accommodation that's tucked away in what feels like a secluded corner of the country.

Room Tip: When booking, ask for any of the rooms at the front of the building, overlooking the road. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon Surrey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights 5th/6th March.
Lovely room number 4 in attic.
Made very welcome.
Ate in restaurant both nights, food was fabulous!
Breakfast was excellent too. Scrambled eggs to die for.
All staff very friendly and helpful.
Would highly recommend it for couples escaping for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We ate at the crab & lobster this weekend and absolutely loved it. The food was excellent, fresh fish and amazing flavours. The service was friendly and efficient and we will definitely go back, highly recommended if you're in the area!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CWhitcomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidlesham
5.5 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
4.9 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lockgate Dairy
Lockgate Dairy
#1 of 75 in Chichester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Fox Goes Free
The Fox Goes Free
#3 of 75 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crab & Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crab & Lobster

Property: The Crab & Lobster
Address: Mill Lane | Sidlesham, Sidlesham, Chichester PO20 7NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Sidlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sidlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Crab & Lobster 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Crab And Lobster
The Crab & Lobster Hotel West Sussex
The Crab & Lobster Sidlesham, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing