We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night stay”
Review of The Crab & Lobster

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidlesham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crab & Lobster
Ranked #2 of 4 Sidlesham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great one night stay”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Had friends visiting from overseas and wanted to go somewhere for meal/overnight stay so we could catch up in comfort. Crab & Lobster exceeded our expectations - rooms were spacious, comfortable and well-equipped. Location is perfect, right by the nature reserve by Pagham harbour.

All the staff were friendly and helpful, dinner in the evening was a delight with plenty of choice and good portions. Interesting wine list with lots of wine by the glass. Breakfast equally enjoyable and after a walk in the morning we stopped for a drink before leaving as we couldn't tear ourselves away!

It's not cheap but for a treat it's well worth the money. Would be lovely to have this as our local.....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HectorRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    60
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
46
179
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I love this restaurant. I have only been there for lunch, the last time being on my husband's birthday, last week. We had 2 x courses from the set menu, food was excellent.
The home made bread is divine, service is great and we had the most delicious desert wine with our christmas pudding. It is called Pansal de Calas and I have just hunted a bottle down so that we can have it on Christmas day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

A pleasant evening with friends, service is so so, and the food is mediocre. We received a pleasant greeting on arrival, An abundance of young staff falling over each other and dropping cutlery. Portions are small and far from stunning. I have read some of the reviews for the restaurant on here, and maybe the head chef was on holiday this week, or they were having an off night. Over cooked phesant, dry and tiny portion. Cheese platter was served cold from the fridge, overpriced fillet steak at £31!. Whist standing at the bar , you can view into the kitchen - Which has a very unappealing display of an untidy fridge, mushroom boxes of paperwork and clutter, also a dirty floor. Toilets are in need of a serious update, no mirror on the wall. A bill of over £300 for 4 of us with only 2 bottles of wine. Overall disappointing value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charge1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We popped in hear for a drink on our way through. I'd been here many years ago and was interested to see if it had changed.#
The answer was yes.....
It is now a much more modern, trendy place and also very good one.
As mentioned we only had drinks so could not review on the food, however what we saw being served whilst there all looked very good.
The service was excellent as where the drinks. Bit pricey, but this wouldn't stop us visiting again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOJONO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is probably one of the best Restaurants that I have been fortunate enough to be taken to in a long while .
Excellent , in every way. The service was excellent , Fantastic food and we were made to feel most welcome .
Would definitely visit again .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here for a wedding anniversary for 2 nights, in the 'Crab Cottage'.
We had a warm welcome, were offered drinks, then left in peace. The Cottage has a restful, grown up feel, decorated in muted tones.

The living room has a lovely comfy sofa and two tub chairs, a small table to sit at, flat screen TV and stereo. Games were provided (backgammon, scrabble etc), & there are more at reception, plus DVDs if you want them. Kitchen is well appointed, with a small dishwasher and washing machine, microwave & fridge, plenty of crockery and pans etc. Big pine table big enough to sit 4 comfortably with a bench and 2 chairs.

There's a downstairs toilet and a handy bootrack for muddy boots.

A winding staircase leads up to two double bedrooms and a separate bathroom. The bedroom we used faced the sea, had a good size wardrobe, flat screen TV, table, stool and chair. The bathroom has a small corner bath with a shower over it, with some nice 'Ren' toiletries provided.

The cottage was warm and inviting, in very good condition throughout. As a previous reviewer mentioned, there was some noise from the kitchen extractor fans, but we didn't find this irritating and they did not stay on all night.

Food in the pub was excellent, yes it's expensive but it's very good quality and very well presented. Special occasion stuff. We were moved from our slightly noisy table by the door to an alcove table without having to ask, as there were a lot of locals in that night and it there were lots of people coming and going.

Having asked about papers for the morning, we were told there would be some at breakfast, but when they realised the next morning that we had come down too late to get any, they volunteered to get us a couple of papers from the post office and delivered them to the Cottage half an hour later!

All in all a lovely stay, It's not cheap, but if you can afford to splash out a bit then it's highly recommended. Close to the South Downs, Chichester and the coast, with plenty of walking and cultural things to do, it's a perfect weekend getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiinchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We have been fans of this place for a number of years - stayed once and have had a number of lunches and dinners. A journey of 50 mins to get there. The latest dinner was sadly disappointing. Our table for 4 was ridiculously small - elbows in was the order of the day. Come pudding time, our waitress warned us that there would be a long delay as a large table was now in place. We went without. Looking around there was the feeling of "packing them in and piling them high". We are not over fussy but at the prices being charged we do expect a comfortable table and a pudding within a reasonable time. The food that we had was fine and the staff were their usual courteous self but the experience was not at all good this time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jezza8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidlesham
5.5 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
829 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
1,485 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#8 of 8 in Chichester
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crab & Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crab & Lobster

Property: The Crab & Lobster
Address: Mill Lane, Sidlesham, Chichester PO20 7NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Sidlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sidlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Crab & Lobster 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Crab & Lobster Hotel West Sussex
The Crab And Lobster
The Crab & Lobster Sidlesham, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing