We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Al Fresco Dining at Its Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crab & Lobster

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidlesham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crab & Lobster
Ranked #1 of 3 Sidlesham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Al Fresco Dining at Its Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a regular haunt for my family after trips to the Witterings and our recent visit did not disappoint. We were treated to the mackerel and crab starters which were followed by the pork (outstanding) and the tomato and parmesan tart. We were able to dine in the delightful gardens and enjoy the dusk. A magical place to eat and one we will always keep on our itinerary. Always worth booking for the popular eatery.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    58
    29
    13
    5
See reviews for
44
177
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
303 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We really enjoyed our night at the Crab and Lobster. Found it by chance when booking a last minute weekend out of London. Thought hotel was amazing - our room was fantastic. When we checked in the girl was very friendly and welcoming. Thought the food was very nice as well - but not amazing. We had the dressed crab and rib-eye steak. The service at dinner was good, efficient. Cheeseboard and tiramisu. Small garden in the back to have a drink or coffee. Parking lot is small, tight spaces.
Nice walks nearby.
Breakfast was nice, very tasty. Good selection of yogurts, cereals, pastries. Plus full cooked breakfast and a number of other choices. The only negative aspect of our time there was at breakfast - another couple asked to have breakfast in the garden and this was met with some reluctance - this came across as very unfriendly

Room Tip: Had the attic room - nice far-reaching views from the windows. This was perfect for us. But Steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mid-Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Booked a meal for 4 on Sunday 13th July at the Crab and Lobster. Picked it by chance as it was a special birthday treat for my sister-in-law living in Felphem. What a treat it was to be greeted by a cheerfull welcome, a table outside in the lovely afternoon sun. Food was excellent and served in wonderful style. Wine and service brillant. Can not praise our meal and experience highly enough. It made a birthday girls day. Thank you team at the Crab and Lobster.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank fluffyduck51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The BEST 4-5 Star Food & Service; outside of central London.

Crab & Lobster is a high-end gourmet restaurant; the location is prefect!

We had a Romantic Birthday Dinner; for two.
Fresh Lobster, Fresh Crab; with a wonderful cheese board.

Room Tip: we just had dinner; we not not stay over night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank searosebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great restaurant in a quiet location less than 10 miles from Goodwood. First class service and a menu heavily biased towards seafood. The Turbot and Lobster specials were excellent. Thoroughly recommended and we'll certainly return next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griffjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Had dinner at the Crab and Lobster last evening -- take ear plugs to kill the noise as conversation almost impossible -- and take a magnifying glass to spot the meal as the portions are minute. The only large item is the bill.
David Thomson

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We've just had a lovely two day stay at the Crab And Lobster, which we used as a base to explore Chichester and enjoy West Wittering beach.

We stayed in a standard room (room 3) which is very well appointed. Not overly spacious but more than enough for us. The room is stylish, has a good sized modern bathroom, a very comfy double bed, fridge, fan, dvd player, flat screen TV and a good view of the harbour.

We ate in the restaurant both nights of our stay and ate breakfast there both mornings. The food was of a very high standard and the service was both efficient and friendly.

Overall the stay was very enjoyable and we'll worth the price we paid.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidlesham
5.5 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lockgate Dairy
Lockgate Dairy
#1 of 76 in Chichester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Fox Goes Free
The Fox Goes Free
#3 of 76 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crab & Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crab & Lobster

Property: The Crab & Lobster
Address: Mill Lane | Sidlesham, Sidlesham, Chichester PO20 7NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Sidlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sidlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Crab & Lobster 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Crab And Lobster
The Crab & Lobster Hotel West Sussex
The Crab & Lobster Sidlesham, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing