We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent last minute getaway”
Review of The Crab & Lobster

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidlesham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crab & Lobster
Ranked #2 of 4 Sidlesham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent last minute getaway”
Reviewed 29 December 2008

A last minute getaway that that was fab!

The staff made our stay by being thoughtful and attentive at all times.

The room was in the eaves and nice and spacious with a large bathroom including a huge shower. I would say that the lack of a bathroom dor was a bit odd to say the least - might put you off if you it's your first "dirty" weekend away together.

The food in the restaurant is excellent and teh wine list extensive. You may needt o biook a table on a saturday evening whne checking in as it appeared chocca.

The pub is set in a delighful village on a road to nowhere - and consequently very peaceful indeed.

Enjoy!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluetax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    60
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
46
179
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2008

A lovely small boutique hotel/gastro pub serving excellent food. The accomadation was excellent, clean with stunning views, even from the standard room we were staying in. The staff were lovely, always happy to help but not too intrusive. Location was beautiful, on the edge of Pagham nature reserve. Arundel is a twenty miniute drive away and well worth the drive as is West Wittering beach which is approximately ten minitues away by car.

The food was simply outstanding, fresh crab, scallops, sea bass, incredible fish pie, the list goes on. Perfect food after long walks around the reserve and some drinks by the log fire.

We thought that the Crab and Lonster was a perfect winter weekend retreat and would highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonBoo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

Stayed here for a couple of nights, lovely location, quiet and peaceful, close to nature reserve.

I had a standard room, which was beautifully done, fresh flowers on the windowsill, Occitane toiletries in the bathroom which I love, excellent tv/dvd/cd/ items. (very useful to have a bedside clock provided, but it had such a loud tick in the dark of the night, I had to go and hide it!)

The bed was really comfortable and I slept really well. Great shower over the bath.

Breakfasts are delicious; muesli's, fruits and the excellent choice of cooked. The majority of the items are locally sourced and shown on the menu.

Dinner was great, good service and choice, and a specials board. High emphasis on fish, obviously! Worth booking as it's not huge.

I would definitely stay here again, it's in a lovely area, close to the sea (Selsey and West Wittering) and Chichester.

  • Liked — the general cosy feeling it provided
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2008

Found this place after viewing the web site for its sister properties on www.sussexpub.co.uk. The Crab & Lobster is a very recent conversion of a very old pub into a gastro-style pub (coverted in approx. July 2007). The standard of the accommodation and restaurant food is extremely high and we would recommend this place to anyone. The pub is located on the side of Pagham Harbour nature reserve and the area is a great place to just wander around. We spent a whole day walking from the pub out to the shingle beach via the harbour nature reserve. There is a manned and helpful information centre for maps of the reserve.
The pub is very comfortable and the meals are excellent. The breakfast is particularly enjoyable, with high quality 'Dorset' cereals etc, plus first class cooked breakfasts. Thoroughly recommended and as the inn has recently been converted everything is super clean and new.

  • Liked — Quality accommodation and Restaurant
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2008

The Crab and Lobster is following a trend of turning "the local" into small but interesting restaurant/guest houses, and I am pleased to say that in this case it has succeeded.

Sited on the edge of a salt marsh of outstanding beauty, we spent a weekend walking, bird watching (not our hobby but the sight and sounds of large flocks was amazing), and enjoying the locally-sourced food.

The service was excellent, the staff friendly and helpful, and the rooms comfortable. The menu was not gourmet, but it was a pleasure to eat fresh, well-prepared food and the chips (fries) were really exceptional. My wife and friends were pleased with the wine - I was in the last week of a month alcohol-free, and was happy with the fruit juices.

Only drawback is that we could have had 3 nights for the price of 2 (excluding evening meal) but had to get back.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing in particular
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odraccir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2007

I went to this B&B in July as a suprise from my fiance after he proposed. It was a really beautiful place.

The pub itself is in the middle of no where, deep in the countryside and right on the edge of Pagham Harbour. A pretty pub from the outside with a lovely terrace. Inside, it is modern with a restaurant and bar area to drink in. Our room (I can't remember the number) was in the loft up some stairs. It was such a gorgeous room. There was even a telescope so you could see the harbour in the distance.

There is no room service but the breakfast which is served in the bar area of the restaurant was divine - all locally produced food, hot and cold, with an assortment of continental choices as well.

For a romantic hideaway, without the fancy trappings and cost of a hotel, this B&B has it all. And you fancy some fresh air, the surrounding area is beautiful.

  • Liked — The beautiful room, personal touches and comfy bed
  • Disliked — No room service breakfast
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily-Me-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidlesham
5.5 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
829 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
1,484 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#8 of 8 in Chichester
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crab & Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crab & Lobster

Property: The Crab & Lobster
Address: Mill Lane, Sidlesham, Chichester PO20 7NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Sidlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sidlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Crab & Lobster 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Crab & Lobster Hotel West Sussex
The Crab And Lobster
The Crab & Lobster Sidlesham, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing