We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Private and sheltered courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private and sheltered courtyard
Time for bed The perfect spot for a morning coffee
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Private and sheltered courtyard
Time for bed
The perfect spot for a morning coffee
Living room
Duck pond
Bedroom dressed for a proposal (and she said yes!)
Relax in the sunny garden
Garden patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Sidlesham, Chichester, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
southmout...
UK
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay!”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We wanted to stay somewhere not too far from home for a birthday weekend. We like peace and quiet, and we certainly found it here at The Stable. It's set up a very quiet narrow lane, with an abundance of walks direct from The Stable, suitable for letting the dog off the lead.

Julia is a friendly host with a complete understanding of how to do holiday letting to make sure that your stay is comfortable and that your needs are met. She provides a great welcome pack, and although we intended to eat out during our time there, we ended up using the kitchen facilities and eating at The Stable so that we could make the most of our time there. It was so peaceful that we just didn't fancy going to a potentially noisy pub to eat.

The fenced and walled garden (beautiful old wall) was perfect for our huge Italian Mastiff - he didn't have a hope of even trying to escape! We were fortunate enough to have a sunny October afternoon when we sat in the garden and soaked up the rays.

Aside from the nearby Witterings and Bracklesham Bay, there is a virtually deserted beach close by which was perfect for the dog.

We did a lot of research to find a dog friendly cottage, and on paper this was one of the very few that ticked all the boxes. We certainly weren't disappointed with it when we arrived - it was bigger than it looks in the pictures, and immaculate inside and out. A lot of hard work clearly goes into keeping it that way.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful and idyllic location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
Thank you for your delightful review. I'm so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and The Stable lived up to expectations. I hope to welcome you again in the future - Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely warm welcome from Julia upon our arrival at the beautiful barn, which is located down a quiet country lane in the middle of the countryside. The barn itself has everything you need for a holiday, being well equipped, with a useful welcome pack to help you settle in. It was particularly suitable for our dog - Norman - having a sizeable enclosed back garden, with plenty of walks nearby. There are several dog friendly beaches nearby, and dogs are welcome at The Anchor pub in the village, which serves good, reasonably priced food. There is a petrol station, and convenience store nearby, so you don't have to go far for anything.Julia gave us some tips on places to visit in the area, which was really helpful - she is the ideal host, helpful and friendly, nearby but not intrusive. Thank you for a wonderful holiday in a little home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind words and I'm so glad you all had a wonderful holiday - Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnB1075...
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good,excellent location,nice and quite out in the countryside.”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We found a good pub,in Sindlesham called , The Anchor,good food,large portions,and excellent,service,we were not impressed with.Bogner Regis,very 1960.s Littlehampton was nice with a Fun fair,and a lovely Jettyt to walk along next to the Estuary,RAF Tangmere Museum,was well worth a visit,very interesting,The Roman Villa,at Fishbourne was very interesting to,with a nice Café on site,The Anchor Blue pub at Bosham Village,was very good,we sat outside overlooking the Estuary,.considering the poor weather,we managed to get out quite a bit.not a bad holiday all in all.John.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmpengell...
Northumberland, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent property that meets all expectations”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Really lovely property accommodation that was to a very high standard. Julia greeted us and made us feel at home instantly. Our two dogs soon got familiar with everything and the garden and courtyard area was great as it was all enclosed. The location was excellent and so peaceful; we all really enjoyed our stay at the Stables and would highly recommend a visit to anyone thinking about staying in this location

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the property was as described but even better in reality
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your delightful review. It was a pleasure to meet you and your beautiful Dalmatians and I hope to welcome you all again on a future occasion. Thank you - Julia x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam M
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely, Relaxing Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lovely place to stay, really enjoyed our 2 night stay here, would love to come back again soon! The barn is in excellent condition couldn't find a fault with it, would highly recommend a stay here. Thank you Julia for making us feel welcome if we needed anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: features and location of the barn
Liked least: Finding the nearest shop
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Thank you Adam. It's nice to know that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb little find, perfect hideaway”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a wonderful weekend at The Stable thankyou Julia. The accommodation was amazing with everything you could want or need for a lovely relaxing break. One small thing I would like to say is that the bed was a bit uncomfortable as it was very noisy lots of creaking every time you moved, also the room would take a bigger bed the double felt very small. Apart from that the accommodation was fantastic. Our springer spaniel loved it and settled straight in and the enclosed garden was an absolute joy for him. We would recommend the crab & lobster inn not only for dinner but for breakfast too, but book to avoid disappointment. I would like to think we would come back to stay again and will certainly keep the stable at the top of the list if we need to come back down on business again. Thanks again Julia for a lovely time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and I hope to catch up with you again in the future. Thank you too for bringing the bed issue to my attention which I would have attended to during your stay had I known. It was simply resolved by tightening all the connections which had become loose with constantly pulling the bed out to clean. This has now been added to the list of regular maintenance tasks.
Best wishes - Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_N68
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had 2 lovely nights here with our 3 dogs. Arrived to a warm welcome and found wine, milk, water and juice in the fridge and chocs, biscuits and snacks. Dishwasher tablets also provided. The garden was lovely and we sat out even in early October. Really secure garden which is important to us with our 3.

Shower gel and handwash in the bathroom along with lovely towels. The double bed was comfortable and lots of room in the bedroom.

The lounge/dining/kitchen area had everything you needed and looked out over the garden. We walked down to the local pub the Crab and Lobster one afternoon for a couple of drinks and sat outside in the garden as dogs are not allowed inside.

Lovely few days and some great walk suggestions from Julia the owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secure garden
Liked least: Double bed (we are used to a superking)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing