We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended DOG friendly holiday let.”
other travellers have booked this property
Private and sheltered courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private and sheltered courtyard
Time for bed The perfect spot for a morning coffee
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Private and sheltered courtyard
Time for bed
The perfect spot for a morning coffee
Living room
Duck pond
Bedroom dressed for a proposal (and she said yes!)
Relax in the sunny garden
Garden patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Sidlesham, Chichester, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lorraine...
1 review
“Highly recommended DOG friendly holiday let.”
Reviewed 4 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

lovely clean and comfortable accomadation for 2 in peaceful area. safe enclosed garden and courtyard so dogs completely safe and minutes from walks round pagham nature reserve and dog friendly beaches 10 mins away. The owner Julia is onsite if needed but otherwise leaves you be. We had a lovely break and I would definitely book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2018
Thank you Lorraine. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morse999
Camelford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect setting and very comfortable”
Reviewed 7 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

My wife and I (and our dachshund Reggie) spent 4 nights at this accommodation. Julia was very welcoming and left wine, tea, coffee and milk in the fridge upon our arrival. It has a private garden area, a nice living room, kitchenette, bathroom and a large bedroom as well as a private parking area.
It is situated in a perfect location, off of any main roads and yet close to Selsey, Chichester, Pagham and the main A27 to Bognor, Arundel and places beyond. It lies on the very edge of Pagham Harbour which is an RSPB Nature Reserve and has wonderful walks all around the area.
We found it extremely comfortable and quiet and will definitely book this place again when visiting the area.
The only criticism I had was that the TV is a bit small, (Not much larger than a laptop) and that the couch is a bit aged (uncomfortable and very hard). Apart from that every thing else was perfect.
I would recommend this place highly to any of my friends and family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A very pleasant peaceful weekend.”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Stayed here for the weekend. A very pleasant quiet cottage, well equipped. Loved the secure garden for the dogs. Good walking from the front door, especially down towards the water and sea wall near the pub. Lots of places you can reach easily by car. Love Chichester marina and Dell Quay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southmout...
UK
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay!”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We wanted to stay somewhere not too far from home for a birthday weekend. We like peace and quiet, and we certainly found it here at The Stable. It's set up a very quiet narrow lane, with an abundance of walks direct from The Stable, suitable for letting the dog off the lead.

Julia is a friendly host with a complete understanding of how to do holiday letting to make sure that your stay is comfortable and that your needs are met. She provides a great welcome pack, and although we intended to eat out during our time there, we ended up using the kitchen facilities and eating at The Stable so that we could make the most of our time there. It was so peaceful that we just didn't fancy going to a potentially noisy pub to eat.

The fenced and walled garden (beautiful old wall) was perfect for our huge Italian Mastiff - he didn't have a hope of even trying to escape! We were fortunate enough to have a sunny October afternoon when we sat in the garden and soaked up the rays.

Aside from the nearby Witterings and Bracklesham Bay, there is a virtually deserted beach close by which was perfect for the dog.

We did a lot of research to find a dog friendly cottage, and on paper this was one of the very few that ticked all the boxes. We certainly weren't disappointed with it when we arrived - it was bigger than it looks in the pictures, and immaculate inside and out. A lot of hard work clearly goes into keeping it that way.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful and idyllic location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
Thank you for your delightful review. I'm so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and The Stable lived up to expectations. I hope to welcome you again in the future - Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely warm welcome from Julia upon our arrival at the beautiful barn, which is located down a quiet country lane in the middle of the countryside. The barn itself has everything you need for a holiday, being well equipped, with a useful welcome pack to help you settle in. It was particularly suitable for our dog - Norman - having a sizeable enclosed back garden, with plenty of walks nearby. There are several dog friendly beaches nearby, and dogs are welcome at The Anchor pub in the village, which serves good, reasonably priced food. There is a petrol station, and convenience store nearby, so you don't have to go far for anything.Julia gave us some tips on places to visit in the area, which was really helpful - she is the ideal host, helpful and friendly, nearby but not intrusive. Thank you for a wonderful holiday in a little home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind words and I'm so glad you all had a wonderful holiday - Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnB1075...
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good,excellent location,nice and quite out in the countryside.”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We found a good pub,in Sindlesham called , The Anchor,good food,large portions,and excellent,service,we were not impressed with.Bogner Regis,very 1960.s Littlehampton was nice with a Fun fair,and a lovely Jettyt to walk along next to the Estuary,RAF Tangmere Museum,was well worth a visit,very interesting,The Roman Villa,at Fishbourne was very interesting to,with a nice Café on site,The Anchor Blue pub at Bosham Village,was very good,we sat outside overlooking the Estuary,.considering the poor weather,we managed to get out quite a bit.not a bad holiday all in all.John.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmpengell...
Northumberland, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent property that meets all expectations”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Really lovely property accommodation that was to a very high standard. Julia greeted us and made us feel at home instantly. Our two dogs soon got familiar with everything and the garden and courtyard area was great as it was all enclosed. The location was excellent and so peaceful; we all really enjoyed our stay at the Stables and would highly recommend a visit to anyone thinking about staying in this location

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the property was as described but even better in reality
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your delightful review. It was a pleasure to meet you and your beautiful Dalmatians and I hope to welcome you all again on a future occasion. Thank you - Julia x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing