We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Rectory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Rectory
East gardens Our swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
The Old Rectory
East gardens
Our swimming pool
Daymer double bedroom
Polperro in bloom
Pretty Polperro
Polperro harbour at low tide
Looe river and iconic Nelson the seal
Looe river
Looe's banjo pier
Hannafore and Looe Island
Easy access to the south west coast path
Lerryn on the Fowey river - a favourite of ours
Dogs welcome - Alfie enjoying Cardinham Wood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lanreath, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CYLM2014
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at The Old Rectory last week with our 2 teenage daughters (15 and 17yrs old). On arrival our hearts sank as soon as we entered the entrance. It was very in need of redecoration and resembled more a youth hostel than an 'Historic Georgian Mansion' Entering into the hallway did nothing to improve our first impressions - very dated and stale. Our apartment was mainly clean (apart from the mouldy bath mat and generally unswept bathroom floor). The 2 bedroom doors did not shut and the kitchen was so small that only one person at a time could be in there. Our main discontent was with the water supply especially in the bathroom. The 'power' shower was no more than a trickle which would often just stop altogether - our daughters both have long hair so hair washing was almost impossible and the temperature was erratic, swinging from dangerously hot to freezing cold.
The apartment and communal areas are very much in need of updating and redecoration. The fridge was clearly past it's best too judging by its constant noise.
Overall, we were hugely disappointed with the accommodation though cannot fault the welcoming and helpfulness of the owner. The 4 images shown here on this website do no reflect the true likeness of the apartment in which we stayed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views
Liked least: The shower and almost non-existent water supply in the bathroom
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2013
Thank you for your feedback - I am sorry that you were disappointed with your accommodation, and that you did not feel able to discuss the issues with us during your stay. We may at least have been able to help with the water problem you experienced by adjusting the settings on your electric shower, which incidentally is not a power shower, nor advertised as such.
I have closed the bedroom door to the twin easily to convert the apartment to a one bedroom option for our current guests, but agree that the double door would benefit from planing - new carpets have a tendency to cause issue with 200 year old doors. My apologies for the difficulty there - I have added the item to the 'to do list'.
The entrance hall I have scheduled for redecoration at the end of this season, but your apartment has been fully redecorated recently - the choice of fabrics, finish and furniture is designed to compliment a 200 year history rather than detract from it.
I regret that I do have to disagree with your comments about the photos -they have all been taken here and do represent what we have on offer in this unique and lovely location.
Despite your disappointment, I hope you did enjoy your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing