We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a delightful place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allhallows B&B @ West House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rousdon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Allhallows B&B @ West House
Ranked #1 of 2 Rousdon B&B and Inns
Essex
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“What a delightful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

We stayed here for four nights over Easter and it was really lovely. West House is in a truly beautiful setting and Christine & Grayson like others have said in their reviews were great people. A lovely cooked breakfast every morning, and our room, the blue room, was very large and comfortable.
We chose to stay in the area because we were eating at River Cottage on the Saturday evening. That was excellent and one not to be missed! During our stay we also eat in the Mill Tea & Dining Room in Lyme Regis which very good and on another evening on the beach at Lyme we dined on fish & chips from the paper, also very nice.
From West House there are some lovely walks. We walked into Lyme Regis along the undercliff path which was steep in parts but lovely. We also enjoyed visiting Beer & Branscombe Bay as well as RHS Rosemoor which was quite a drive away but certainly worth it.
Would definitely recommend All Hallows B&B at West House if you're thinking of staying in this area. You can't fault it!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
154
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
N. Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

An English B&B at its very best. We stayed in the Four Poster bedroom and it couldn't have been better.
The owners were very welcoming and had a lot of useful local information at their fingertips.
Ideally situated just off the West Coast Pathway which was brilliant for our walking trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LloydOfMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

I often think there's a little rainbow following me around - as my luck with B&B's has been nothing short of amazing. And here's yet another spectacular experience to add to those that have gone before - in reviewing the other contributor's comments I can but agree, totally and without reservation.

Grayson and Christine are exactly the type of individuals who should run a guest house. Thank goodness they've both given up their more mainstream 'day jobs' to instead look after travellers coming to the amazing Jurassic Coast.

I splurged on the 'four poster'- a HUGE room (the web photo does not do it justice) with all the mod cons, without the sacrifice of style. I felt like a Princess climbing into bed at night - secure in the fact that even if Christine HAD put a pea under the mattress, I wouldn't have felt it! Note to self - buy a bed like this. The adjacent en suite had a scrumptious double ended tub and - wait for it - underfloor heating. The weather was unseasonably warm, but even so, I do love to keep my feet warm!

The grounds are what any reader of Jane Austen would expect, and they're yours to explore. I recommend you do ...

Room Tip: Book early and ask for the 4 Poster ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in beautiful weather - the B&B is part of a huge stately home near the Dorset coast - turning into the driveway is like being in Brideshead revisited. Grayson and Christine were excellent hosts, the rooms were nicely decorated and huge and the bathroom splendid, much like the breakfasts. Great value and a base for seeing this fabulous part of the country. Don't miss the walk to Lyme along the cliffs, but take your sandwiches, its longer than it looks on the map!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mnivalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Spent the weekend here as a base for a visit to River Cottage and for fossil hunting on the Jurassic Coast. The house and grounds are amazing, and the hospitality more so. We were made to feel completely at home. Grayson and Christine are excellent hosts, and nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful location - the grounds are lovely and quiet, yet an excellent dining pub just 10 minutes drive away. We stayed with family and had both rooms, which made it feel even more special. We'll definitely be returning there, and recommend it to all.
Al & Caroline, Southampton

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chirgwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

We loved our stay at All Hallows, the four poster room was beautiful and comfortable, the Rousdon estate is stunning, and Grayson and Christine were perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble. Recommended!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

To All Hallows' owners: Just to say a huge thank you to you both for your hospitality over the weekend. We had a superb time and are in awe at what a beautiful place you have created. It was a splendid weekend from start to finish and your warm hospitality was much appreciated.

To potential travellers: You cannot go wrong here. Allhallows is like nowhere you have ever stayed before, tucked away but so handy for Lyme Regis and the surrounding countryside, our four-poster room so luxurious, the breakfast was delicious. We felt so at home and yet utterly induldged.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsWBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rousdon
0.5 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 47 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
2.9 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#2 of 47 in Lyme Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#9 of 47 in Lyme Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allhallows B&B @ West House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allhallows B&B @ West House

Property: Allhallows B&B @ West House
Address: The Rousdon Estate | Nr Lyme Regis, Rousdon, Lyme Regis DT7 3XR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Rousdon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rousdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to our wonderful home in East Devon. We have sympathetically renovated it with love and care over the past 5 years and believe we have achieved the right balance between its Victorian heritage and modern comfort and convenience. West House has elegant and comfortable bedrooms, beautifully furnished, and equipped with tea and coffee-making facilities, TV, hairdryer, free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allhallows Bed And Breakfast @ West House
Allhallows b&b @ West House Hotel Rousdon
Allhallows B&B @ West House Lyme Regis/Rousdon, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing