We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rousdon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Allhallows B&B @ West House
Ranked #1 of 2 Rousdon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 June 2011

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights and would have gladly stayed for more. A truly fantastic house,we really thought we had took a wrong turn and would be thrown off at any minute,but instead received a warm welcome and shown to our wonderful room. I can only repeat all of the other reviews. You cannot fault the rooms they have been restored to a very high level,fantastic bathroom,great cooked breakfast and fine hosts in Grayson and Christine. 5 star all the way.

Room Tip: Check out their beach but its tough hike
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Allhallows B&B @ West House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2011

We had the four poster room which was exquisite on all levels. The bathroom was fabulous too with space for everything AND a separate lavatory. To top it all we had a delicious English breakfast of local produce cooked on an AGA. It was the best B&B we have ever encountered.

Room Tip: Blue Room or 4 Poster - both brilliant.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NeatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed here overnight, following a wedding in a far more expensive establishment, which had been somewhat of a disappointment. The entrance to Rousdon intrigued us and the property even more so - an impressive 5 storey slice of a victorian building. We received the warmest of welcomes from Grayson and Christine, and were shown to the Blue Room, quite simply the most spacious and stylish room we could possibly have expected. Furnished with exquisite taste, an eclectic mixture of antiques and state of the art fixtures, we were blown away. A good night's sleep ensued, followed by an Aga-baked breakfast, with all the trimmings, served with charm and humour. When Christine showed us pictures of the former boys school, as they bought it, the scale of what has been achieved here became clear. It has been transformed into something really special. After breakfast we took a stroll down the boardwalk to the unspoilt and empty beach below (not for the faint-hearted - the final descent is by ladder) and a sunny ramble along the jurassic coast was the icing on the cake. This probably sounds like a travel-writers romantic adventure - on the contrary - its just an honest account of an amazing 24 hours in a beautiful place. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corsaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We stayed here for four nights over Easter and it was really lovely. West House is in a truly beautiful setting and Christine & Grayson like others have said in their reviews were great people. A lovely cooked breakfast every morning, and our room, the blue room, was very large and comfortable.
We chose to stay in the area because we were eating at River Cottage on the Saturday evening. That was excellent and one not to be missed! During our stay we also eat in the Mill Tea & Dining Room in Lyme Regis which very good and on another evening on the beach at Lyme we dined on fish & chips from the paper, also very nice.
From West House there are some lovely walks. We walked into Lyme Regis along the undercliff path which was steep in parts but lovely. We also enjoyed visiting Beer & Branscombe Bay as well as RHS Rosemoor which was quite a drive away but certainly worth it.
Would definitely recommend All Hallows B&B at West House if you're thinking of staying in this area. You can't fault it!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqueline20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

An English B&B at its very best. We stayed in the Four Poster bedroom and it couldn't have been better.
The owners were very welcoming and had a lot of useful local information at their fingertips.
Ideally situated just off the West Coast Pathway which was brilliant for our walking trip.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LloydOfMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

I often think there's a little rainbow following me around - as my luck with B&B's has been nothing short of amazing. And here's yet another spectacular experience to add to those that have gone before - in reviewing the other contributor's comments I can but agree, totally and without reservation.

Grayson and Christine are exactly the type of individuals who should run a guest house. Thank goodness they've both given up their more mainstream 'day jobs' to instead look after travellers coming to the amazing Jurassic Coast.

I splurged on the 'four poster'- a HUGE room (the web photo does not do it justice) with all the mod cons, without the sacrifice of style. I felt like a Princess climbing into bed at night - secure in the fact that even if Christine HAD put a pea under the mattress, I wouldn't have felt it! Note to self - buy a bed like this. The adjacent en suite had a scrumptious double ended tub and - wait for it - underfloor heating. The weather was unseasonably warm, but even so, I do love to keep my feet warm!

The grounds are what any reader of Jane Austen would expect, and they're yours to explore. I recommend you do ...

Room Tip: Book early and ask for the 4 Poster ...
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CynWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in beautiful weather - the B&B is part of a huge stately home near the Dorset coast - turning into the driveway is like being in Brideshead revisited. Grayson and Christine were excellent hosts, the rooms were nicely decorated and huge and the bathroom splendid, much like the breakfasts. Great value and a base for seeing this fabulous part of the country. Don't miss the walk to Lyme along the cliffs, but take your sandwiches, its longer than it looks on the map!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mnivalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rousdon
0.5 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
366 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
438 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
464 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#9 of 45 in Lyme Regis
101 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allhallows B&B @ West House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allhallows B&B @ West House

Address: The Rousdon Estate | Nr Lyme Regis, Rousdon, Lyme Regis DT7 3XR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Rousdon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rousdon
Price Range: £105 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to our wonderful home in East Devon. We have sympathetically renovated it with love and care over the past 5 years and believe we have achieved the right balance between its Victorian heritage and modern comfort and convenience. West House has elegant and comfortable bedrooms, beautifully furnished, and equipped with tea and coffee-making facilities, TV, hairdryer, free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allhallows Bed And Breakfast @ West House
Allhallows b&b @ West House Hotel Rousdon
Allhallows B&B @ West House Lyme Regis/Rousdon, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing