We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rousdon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Allhallows B&B @ West House
Ranked #1 of 2 Rousdon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Received an overnight stay (and incidentally, a meal at River Cottage HQ!) from our lovely daughter and although we had approx. 300 miles to drive, it was definitely worth it. Agree with everything that has been said previously and would highly recommend

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brightside54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2011

A comfortable and very spacious room (the four poster) with the added luxury of a huge bathroom where you can imagine you are the lord and lady of the manor.
Christine and Grayson were very friendly and helpful advising us on where to go and what to do to make the most of our stay - perfect hosts!
The location is also good just off the coast path and wwe would recommend the walk along the undercliff to Lyme (as long as you have the stamina and footwear).
A great find - we hope to return.

Room Tip: The four poster room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Totnesdiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed at West House for 2 days for my wife's birthday treat.
Grayson and Christine are perfect hosts who care about the comfort of their guests. They offer the perfect retreat in their wonderful house set in the spendour of a private country estate, close to both Axminster (where we had dinner at River cotage), and Lyme regis for a little shopping and a great choice of eateries.
Book into West House for a guaranteed treat.
Adrian & Jane

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coasthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My fiancee brought us here for a Birthday treat. We also went to River Cottage which this is perfectly located for.

I cannot tell you how brilliant this place is. The estate is gorgeous. We took the time to explore it and ran around the whole perimeter including down the stairs and steps (tough!) to the private beach.

We stayed in the bigger bedroom which has a four poster and is enormous. Perfectly peaceful, lovely bathroom. The breakfast was brilliant and the hosts charming!

This would perfectly suit someone to go away for a writing holiday, to see Lyme Regis or just to get away from the general noise. I could have walked around the grounds and read for a week quite easily.

Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Four poster brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigRichyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We checked the reviews and decided to look for ourselves. We were having a special few days for our honeymoon. We were not dissapointed. The grounds are wonderful. The house has been renovated beautifully. Grayson saw to our every need. The food was delicious, cooked in front of us on the aga. We booked for 2 nights, but just had to stay for 3. The room was so lovely. The bed was the most comfortable I have stayed in. Everywhere was spotless. We look forward to going back soon. xx

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I just don't think that I can improve on any of the other reviews for Allhallows it is just the most wonderful place to stay. From start to finish our stay was perfect and no praise can be high enough. If you stay here do take the walk down to the beach as it is stunning. We can't wait to go back and luxuriate in the Blue Room. Thank you to Grayson and Christine for making my birthday such a delight. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank workingtitle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We use Tripadviser all the time, this Fabulous B & B should be listed as Lyme Regis, not Rousdon. It's the best place I've ever stayed in in my life. Everything was PERFECT. Thank you Christine and Grayson for making us so welcome in your AMAZING house.

Room Tip: 2 rooms available, both gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fluffycardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rousdon
0.5 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
383 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
443 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#2 of 45 in Lyme Regis
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#3 of 45 in Lyme Regis
399 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Allhallows B&B @ West House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allhallows B&B @ West House

Address: The Rousdon Estate | Nr Lyme Regis, Rousdon, Lyme Regis DT7 3XR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Rousdon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rousdon
Price Range: £105 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to our wonderful home in East Devon. We have sympathetically renovated it with love and care over the past 5 years and believe we have achieved the right balance between its Victorian heritage and modern comfort and convenience. West House has elegant and comfortable bedrooms, beautifully furnished, and equipped with tea and coffee-making facilities, TV, hairdryer, free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allhallows Bed And Breakfast @ West House
Allhallows b&b @ West House Hotel Rousdon
Allhallows B&B @ West House Lyme Regis/Rousdon, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing