We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful countryside”
Characterful cottage with views over Dordogne countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Characterful cottage with views over Dordogne countryside
Traditional farmhouse with modern appliances. Relax in the spacious lounge with log burner or Air Conditioning.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Characterful cottage with views over Dordogne countryside
Traditional farmhouse with modern appliances.
Relax in the spacious lounge with log burner or Air Conditioning.
TV with Satellite and DVD player.
Stairs from lounge to Master bedroom.
Master bedroom with large traditional French bed, beams of Oak and Beechwood.
Ensuite shower facilities of second bedroom.
Adjoining second bedroom linked to Master bedroom.
Ground floor modern family bathroom.
Welcoming and pleasing to the eye.
Outside perfect for an alfresco dinner
Private pool in the gardens
Quiet lane outside the cottage.
Carsac de Gurson 14th century church.
Beautiful views outside the door.
Lac de Gurson just minutes away from Belle Surprise.
Bordeaux 75 minutes drive.
Saint Emilion 30 minutes drive
The coast less than 2 hours drive away.
St. Foy la Grande nearby market town.
The pool is positioned to survey the views across the adjoining vales.
Evening Summer skies........
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Saint Martin de Gurson, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
vixnix201...
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful countryside”
Reviewed 29 August 2018 for a stay in June 2018

If you want a very relaxed, remote, tranquil opportunity to down tools and reduce the heartbeat I can think of no place better than Carsac de Gurson and the Belle Surprise is a great hideaway with its own secluded private pool, ample living accommodation and two large sofas with access to British TV...which was essential during the World Cup!! Carsac itself is a sleepy hamlet atop a hill with great views and stunning little church which plays music as you enter and lights up. Magical. The nearest pub is a 20 minute stroll into St Martin de Gurson. The bar there does excellent food and there was a music festival in the village in late June which we attended where they shut the road. It was a fantastic night. Situated where Carsac de Gurson is makes it great to drive East to where the Dordogne is most glorious, without having to live within its touristy bustle. It also means you can drive west to the Dordogne's other great jewel, St Emillion, which is stunning but very busy. Local to the house is the lac de Gurson which we discovered too late in the holiday. Don't make that mistake. It's a great beach by a wonderful lake, with food and drinks on site too. Enjoy the Dordogne!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2018
Dear Guest
We thank you so much for the detailed and informative review of your holiday at Belle Surprise. We are pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and that you found the local festivities to your liking. You also found one or two of the nearby gems. There are many still to be discovered, hopefully you will find a few more when you stay with us next time......
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fearless7...
Monistrol-sur-Loire, France
1 review
“Belle Surprise!”
Reviewed 28 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

A really nice stay alongside our very welcoming hosts. The cottage is very well furnished and comfortable. A barbecue area and a well-functioning pool area. The surroundings are beautiful. We recommend this address!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2018
Dear Guests
We are so pleased that your stay at Belle Surprise was good and that you have given us a good recommendation. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flanagan4...
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous family stay”
Reviewed 27 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We have just returned after a wonderful 6 night stay with our 2 children. We had a warm welcome from Greg and found wine, fresh fruit, local cheese, milk, eggs, bread etc all waiting for us. The gite was immaculate with a very well equipped kitchen. There was a lovely private pool and the surrounding area was so peaceful. It's a great base for visiting St Emilion, Bergerac & Bourdoux. There is a fab lake 5 mins drive away which is all free, including free canoeing and a nice cafe. Lots of nice places to eat a short drive away. Supermarkets nearby. Friendly neighbours. Found both Greg and Marina to be very nice people, who welcomed us into their home and we wish them every success with their future ventures x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2018
Dear Valued Guests
Thank you very much for a glowing and genuine review.
We are delighted and pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us.
If you are happy so are we.
We hope that you will consider a return in the not too distant future, you shall be very welcome. Merci.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amily2
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 22 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Belle Surprise was indeed an unpleasant surprise when we went for our week, 4-11th August 2018.
We arrived in 40 degree plus heat after a very long drive. There was a welcome pack awaiting us. The house was a good size although the upstairs was extremely hot from the days heat and low ceilings. The air con unit is downstairs only in the lounge and unfortunately there was no controller, Greg didn’t mention this as he was telling us about the house, and we had to get it the next day for 35 euros which we were fine about as it was so hot we would have paid more, even though we didn’t realise there was a cost.
The kitchen is rustic with adequate appliances, no storage cupboards to put your food etc and no condiments. The bathroom downstairs is modern, the third bedroom (a reason why we chose this house) was an internal room with what seemed a cot bed that had been extended with a three pieced mattress topper, sadly this was unsuitable for my 15 year old daughter. The master bedroom is a double and the adjoining second bedroom had twin beds but was unfortunately unusable in the heat as the window was very small, the ceiling very low and it was just too hot, I guess it would have been better in cooler weather. There is a very small en suite shower room in this bedroom which was good as only a bath downstairs with a shower attachment but no screen. There was space to put your clothes, although we had cobwebs in our wardrobe.
There were many, many spiders in the house which we didn’t expect but maybe we should have since it is a 200 year old farmhouse. Outside is rural but quite noisy in the evening with local dogs howling throughout the night.
The second day we went out and came home to an angry note from Greg the owner on the door asking to turn off the outside light which we didn’t realise we had left on as the switch is in the kitchen.
Outside is a pool with wooden decking, but be careful as the decking is quite worn and splintery but we wore flip flops and you may wish to use these as well to keep all the horse flies and wasps away from you throughout the day. The pool stones weren’t cemented in between and one was removed whilst we were there and some polystyrene left in it’s place and on our 4th day there, whilst I was in the pool, I pushed off from the side (I was sat in a rubber ring) and another loose edging stone suddenly fell into the pool. We told Greg straight away and unfortunately his response is what eventually made us leave early as we felt threatened.
We had two children with us and actually felt unsafe to continue our stay due to his erratic behaviour. He said there was no way it happened the way we said, he emailed us (his house is next door) two emails within minutes of us telling him, (he stormed off after my husband let him know what had happened) the email stating that we had damaged his pool (but earlier in the week he had also told us about how the bottom of the pool hadn’t dried out properly from when he painted it earlier in June and he was going to have to drain it again after this season and re paint and you could clearly see where he meant as there were pitted marks along the bottom of the pool that went through to the concrete below, the pool stone that fell in on myself only left a line that went through to the white paint), he also stated in his emails that his daughter had been watching us over the week and had seen us jump off the edge of the pool (there is a 6ft drop one end with no adequate fencing so of course we wouldn’t have allowed our daughters to do this but said we had walked around the edge of the pool with the pool net to try and clean the many flies from the pool before we entered it, to which he didn’t believe us.)
We tried to talk to him face to face and smooth things over, explaining that we were decent people and he could have spoken to us instead of storming off to email, also pointing out that luckily there wasn’t a child in the pool at the time as this could have seriously injured them, but he shouted a lot and swore at us and then started jumping up and down on the edging stone to prove he was right and we were wrong. Marina, his wife, tried to calm him down to no avail and she came the next day to apologise for his behaviour but we had already felt like we needed to get an earlier ferry home.
Even after this, we followed the extensive instructions on how they wanted the house left:
‘Clean thoroughly and replace any products you use or a 25 euro charge per hour will be deducted from your deposit’ This was one of the many rules, and we still received an email 10 days after we got home to say £12 was being deducted from our deposit as two hand towels had been damaged!
No apology has been forthcoming from Greg although he did email, which was sent when we were on our way home, “I suspect it was frost that loosened things beyond all our control, I agree that about the mortar between the stones should be put in and it is planned ASAP.” (We left a note to say we had left early as we felt our week was cut short due to his outbursts and

suggested that he cement in between the edging stones so this doesn’t happen to another family.)
We feel saddened that someone can treat guests like this, behaving in an unstable and inappropriate manner, we hope no-one else has a similar experience but there is only one review from this year for Belle Surprise online so it’s clear that we weren’t the only ones who have experienced this behaviour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2018
August 23, 2018
Dear Amily2

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Belle Surprise. It is only through feedback both positive and on the rare occasion negative that we are able to maintain and where necessary improve on the high standards we strive to provide for our valued guests.

I am extremely disappointed to read of your experience during your stay at Belle Surprise. Whilst I know that an apology cannot change the outcome of your experience on this occasion, I still sincerely offer an apology to you. I do accept that some of the issues you mention in your review may have upset you. I refer to the noise from the barking dogs and the spiders and their webs but please understand these are things beyond our control and part of country village living. I empathise with you about the high temperatures during your stay also, but again this is currently a global issue and particularly being experienced across most of Europe, it is and was definitely beyond our control. You were offered the optional extra of Air-Conditioning in the gite and as soon as you requested this faculty it was provided for you. In the last 2 years you have been the only guests to request and use this facility. This may have been the reason that the remote controller was not instantly there upon your late evening arrival.

There gite has 2 double bedrooms upstairs comprising one with a large double bed and the other with 2 single beds. As your booking was for 4 people we prepared these beds for you. The room on the ground floor does contain a small bed which is normally used by smaller younger children. It was shown to you upon arrival and it was mentioned because you were a party of 4 we did not expect that you would want to use this room or bed (the bed had not been made up). During your stay you did not mention that you were making use of this room or bed, or that you had any problems with it. If you had we would have done our best to accommodate you with this matter.

The swimming pool and its surroundings are one of the special features of Belle Surprise of which we are justifiably proud. Numerous guest have said what a wonderful feature this is with its spectacular countryside views that can be appreciated whilst relaxing on the wooden decking. We have had no problems or comments with regard to the structure of the pool or the decking. During your stay you found a loose edging stone which somehow became dislodged whilst you were using the pool. Once I had been made aware of this I immediately arranged for it to be repaired and it was done so the next day. I again can only sincerely apologise if you felt that I had not treated this matter properly but I assure this was not my intention.

I am sorry that we had to make a small charge for the 2 damaged towels which we discovered after you had left. All the bedding and towels that were provided to you were in perfect condition upon your arrival. We pride our selves on the quality we furnish to our guests and these damaged towels had to be replaced and cannot not be used for any future guests.

Finally you vacated the gite early without coming to say goodbye which was a great pity as we always like to speak to our guests before they leave to ask them for their feedback to make sure that they had enjoyed their stay with us. We also ask them for suggestions for any possible improvements or changes we should consider to make our guests stay at Belle Surprise even more special and enjoyable. Yours is the only negative review that we have ever received and we are saddened by it it. It is a pity that you did not contact us sooner or privately before you posted on TripAdvisor as I am sure that we have could sorted this matter out amicably. Once again please accept my sincerest apologises if you feel our service was not up to your standards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gypsygirl...
Fife, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful retreat in a beautiful setting for couples or families.”
Reviewed 20 January 2018 for a stay in September 2017

Set in a beautiful small village easily accessible from Bergerac and Bordeaux airports. Fab local amenities - beach, vinyards, patisserie all within walking distance and with St Emilion and other bigger towns just a short drive away. Greg and Marina could not have been more welcoming or helpful hosts for our stay in this stunning gite complete with a proper pool-with-a-view to relax by. The accommodation was scrupulously clean with everything we could have needed to hand and there are plenty spaces to relax inside or outdoors, in sunshine or shade. We loved it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2018
Thank you for your excellent review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and you will be welcome to stay with us again...........
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevebigv...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A quiet and relaxed short stay in Carsac de Gurson.”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The village of Carsac de Gurson is a delightful small hamlet, quiet and relaxing in a beautiful countryside environment. Its small church, St-Pierre, is a 'gem of a church' well worth a visit. The nearby lake of Lac de Gurson with boating and restaurant facilities in the summer is a wonderful short walk away and takes you past the ruins of Chateau de Gurson. Belle Surprise is also beside the 300 km - 400 km Lawrence d' Arabia cycle route.
Facilities at Belle Surprise are first-class. Clean and spacious, mixing modern and old worldly charm. The perfectly situated pool looks down on the pretty and scenic surrounding valley.
The area offers short walks and delightful scenic drives to nearby towns such as Villefranche-de-Longchat, Montpon-Menesterol and Bergerac to name a few.
My wife and I look forward to a further stay at Greg and Marina's Belle Surprise.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
Pam And Steve we thank very much for your excellent and well written review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Belle Surprise.
You will be most welcome to stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sightsee4...
1 review
“A truly lovely suprise!”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A lovely peaceful setting in rural France. The cottage was clean and comfortable and Greg and Marina were perfect hosts. A secluded pool to enjoy the sunshine and for the kids to enjoy. Plenty of places to visit, Bergarac and St. Emillion a must. If you wish to leave the tranquility of the pool behind the local lake is a must, with free canoeing and amenities.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
Thankyou for a perfect review we hope to see you and your family again you will be most welcome..........
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing